Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-10, 08:10 PM   #13
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: First BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albo View Post
Ok, so memtest86+. It's telling me

But that's only after 1 pass, so I'm going to let it go a bit more, or do you think that's enough? Time - 27 minutes, pass - 1, errors - 0, Test 6(it's been going test 4 and 6 back and forth)
Why don't you try that tool I posted for you? It takes about 30 seconds to run it.
 
Old 06-27-10, 08:29 PM   #14
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: First BSOD

Alright, after using it, I get this.

Quote:
On Sun 6/27/2010 7:04:56 PM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: sptd.sys
Bugcheck code: 0xA (0x90000C2D, 0xA, 0x1, 0x82C86E08)
Error: IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
Dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\062710-19968-01.dmp
file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\sptd.sys
I don't think that's right because it didn't crash at 7, it crashed at 3 PM.

Also, I looked up sptd, and its a file for Daemon tools, which is what I installed at that time, so that I could run the memtest86, but that didn't work, so I burned the memtest86 and ran from CD.

And then it posted info on the crash yesterday.

Quote:
On Sat 6/26/2010 5:41:07 PM your computer crashed
This was likely caused by the following module: fltmgr.sys
Bugcheck code: 0x1000008E (0xC0000005, 0x88EB8E2A, 0xB4721A64, 0x0)
Error: KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION_NOT_HANDLED_M
Dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\062610-27424-01.dmp
file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\fltmgr.sys
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: Microsoft Filesystem Filter Manager
The crash took place in a standard Microsoft module. Your system configuration may be incorrect, possibly the culprit is in another driver on your system which cannot be identified at this time.
Albo is offline  
Old 06-27-10, 10:34 PM   #15
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: First BSOD

sptd.sys

uninstall Deamon Tools and SPTD component
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline  
Old 06-27-10, 10:39 PM   #16
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: First BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
sptd.sys

uninstall Deamon Tools and SPTD component
Why?
The program was wrong, because I didn't have Deamon Tools installed at the time of any of the crashes. I installed it 4 hours after, and there was no crash. The program was reporting a false crash, I was at my PC the whole time, I know there was no BSOD after 3 PM. I installed Deamon Tools at 7PM.
Albo is offline  
Old 06-28-10, 02:23 AM   #17
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: First BSOD

I'd listen to nekro.

Besides, maybe that error isn't the one that corresponds to the BSOD, in which case SPTD will cause errors in the future. Ever consider that?
ViN86 is offline  
Old 06-28-10, 03:19 AM   #18
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: First BSOD

I used to get tons of BSODs on my old AMD 4400x2 machine, and it had all to do with the memory. 4 gigs of ram would make the machine go haywire, ESPECIALLY with CS:S or TF2.
bob saget is offline  
Old 06-28-10, 11:12 AM   #19
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: First BSOD

Alright, now what?
Albo is offline  
Old 06-28-10, 11:15 AM   #20
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: First BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
I used to get tons of BSODs on my old AMD 4400x2 machine, and it had all to do with the memory. 4 gigs of ram would make the machine go haywire, ESPECIALLY with CS:S or TF2.
Sounds like you had bad memory or bad memory slot(s) on the board. Same thing used to happen to me and it turns out that one of my memory slots on my A8N-SLI Deluxe board was messed up.
ViN86 is offline  

Old 06-28-10, 11:16 AM   #21
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: First BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albo View Post
Alright, now what?
Now we wait til it happens again so we can try and diagnose it.
ViN86 is offline  
Old 06-28-10, 04:15 PM   #22
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: First BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
I used to get tons of BSODs on my old AMD 4400x2 machine, and it had all to do with the memory. 4 gigs of ram would make the machine go haywire, ESPECIALLY with CS:S or TF2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Sounds like you had bad memory or bad memory slot(s) on the board. Same thing used to happen to me and it turns out that one of my memory slots on my A8N-SLI Deluxe board was messed up.
I think the first gen Althons just can't handle 4GB of ram... My 3800+ X2 will not even post with 4 x 1GB in a DFI lanparty board, and it will post on a gigabyte board, but it throws all kinds of errors. The same ram used on an A8N-SLI with an opty processor will run just fine. Could be the boards too I suppose, but you'd think the DFI expert should be able to handle it.
Bman212121 is offline  
Old 06-28-10, 04:18 PM   #23
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: First BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albo View Post
Alright, after using it, I get this.



I don't think that's right because it didn't crash at 7, it crashed at 3 PM.

Also, I looked up sptd, and its a file for Daemon tools, which is what I installed at that time, so that I could run the memtest86, but that didn't work, so I burned the memtest86 and ran from CD.

And then it posted info on the crash yesterday.
what's your time offset? It might be possible that it is displaying GMT time for some reason.
Bman212121 is offline  
Old 06-28-10, 04:37 PM   #24
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: First BSOD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Albo View Post
Alright, now what?
Wait
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.