Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-10, 05:45 PM   #1
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Steam install - Dual boot?

Windows 7 would be C:. Is it possible to install Steam in D:\Program Files\Steam where D: would be Windows Vista and then when booted to Vista install Steam in the same folder ( which would make it C:\Program Files\Steam) ?

I'm trying to make one big game repository that works out of the same folder on both OS'es in dual boot
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 05:47 PM   #2
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Why do you still boot Vista?

I don't know if it's possible. I think there are registry settings that Steam requires, and you'd have to install it in one OS, leaving the other without the keys.

You may be able to install Steam in both, then install the games you want in both, then delete the data in one and link it to the other directory using a symlink. But Vista and Win7 have permissions issues and you will have to reclaim ownership of the directory each time you use it (I believe).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 05:48 PM   #3
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

I don't know for sure but would imagine the answer is no.

Reason being is anytime you install something the registry gets modified. Thus when you re-install it to the same location but under windows vista it'll re-write those registry files and so when you go to access it in 7 it'll probably be a broken installation.

If that makes any sense.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 05:52 PM   #4
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Well my Windows 7 hard drive is only a 150 GB Intel SSD. It's fast (and expensive ) but not a lot of capacity. My Vista partition already has a ton of games installed and it's on a 300 GB Velociraptor (sloooww lol).
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 05:54 PM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GitDat View Post
Well my Windows 7 hard drive is only a 150 GB Intel SSD. It's fast (and expensive ) but not a lot of capacity. My Vista partition already has a ton of games installed and it's on a 300 GB Velociraptor (sloooww lol).
Ahh so you just want to avoid having to re-install it all.

To be honest, I would just format the 300GB drive and install Steam on that. Then let your games install again overnight(s).
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 06:00 PM   #6
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Not a bad idea actually, lol. I don't really use Vista it's just that I have two 300 GB Velociraptors. One with XP and the other with Vista. So I have all 3 versions of Windows for compatibility sake

Between XP and Win 7 though I should be good. Vista is going DOOWWNN! lmao
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX Titan SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Extreme - 8941 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 06:05 PM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GitDat View Post
Not a bad idea actually, lol. I don't really use Vista it's just that I have two 300 GB Velociraptors. One with XP and the other with Vista. So I have all 3 versions of Windows for compatibility sake

Between XP and Win 7 though I should be good. Vista is going DOOWWNN! lmao
LOL yea that'd probably be the best option. There's practically nothing that works on just Vista and not Windows 7.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 07:17 PM   #8
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Ahh so you just want to avoid having to re-install it all.

To be honest, I would just format the 300GB drive and install Steam on that. Then let your games install again overnight(s).
If you can somehow keep your steamapps folder on an external drive, you can just copy it back into Steam and you won't need to redownload anything.
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-14-10, 09:41 PM   #9
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

You can try using symbolic links for the games in the Steam\steamapps\common folder so you can put games on a different hard drive from the Steam folder. Then you can have the Steam installation from both OS's have symbolic links that point to the same game folder so both Steam installs will be technically accessing the same game data.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 10:08 PM   #10
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
You can try using symbolic links for the games in the Steam\steamapps\common folder so you can put games on a different hard drive from the Steam folder. Then you can have the Steam installation from both OS's have symbolic links that point to the same game folder so both Steam installs will be technically accessing the same game data.
I think that Steam would probably work without much issue on both OSes, but we'd just be helping him perpetuate a bigger issue - better he drop Vista and jut move on
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 10:09 PM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Why do you still boot Vista?

I don't know if it's possible. I think there are registry settings that Steam requires, and you'd have to install it in one OS, leaving the other without the keys.

You may be able to install Steam in both, then install the games you want in both, then delete the data in one and link it to the other directory using a symlink. But Vista and Win7 have permissions issues and you will have to reclaim ownership of the directory each time you use it (I believe).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS_symbolic_link
Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
You can try using symbolic links for the games in the Steam\steamapps\common folder so you can put games on a different hard drive from the Steam folder. Then you can have the Steam installation from both OS's have symbolic links that point to the same game folder so both Steam installs will be technically accessing the same game data.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-10, 10:42 PM   #12
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Steam install - Dual boot?

Ha, that's what happens when you don't read the thread and just respond to the first post. I didn't know about the permissions issue though, but symbolic links are what I use right now to link my Steam install which is on my SSD to games on my RAID array.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.