Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-21-10, 07:03 PM   #1
zarlaan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Default How limited am I by the E6600?

I'm thinking of possibly going from my 8800GTS 640MB to the GTX 460 1GB OC.

What I'm curious about is how limited I am by my CPU which is an E6600 overclocked to 3.2GHz
zarlaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-10, 07:52 PM   #2
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: How limited am I by the E6600?

My friend has an E6600 at 3.2GHz with a 5850 and has found it depends on the game. Metro 2033 has been the worst so far, but still playable with high settings, just not PhysX up high.

I'd say give it a go, you'll still see a big improvement and be able to turn up the eye candy. If it doesn't give you what you want then look for a well priced C2Q second hand.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-10, 09:07 PM   #3
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: How limited am I by the E6600?

More and more games are coming out that utilize a Quad Core CPU. As that trend continues, you will become increasingly limited by your CPU.

I also had an E6600 overclocked to 3.2Ghz coupled to an 8800 GTX (died, RMA'd, got a 9800 GTX+) and it was a fantastic system. However, my current setup with a PII Quad Core and a 5870 is far superior. It's ridiculously apparent in games like BC2 and Metro 2033 that use a Quad core CPU extensively. For games that just use a Dual Core or single core CPU, you will see a definite improvement.

I say go for it. The GTX 460 will be a significant upgrade from your current GPU, and you will see a difference in games that aren't heavily CPU limited.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-10, 10:54 PM   #4
Raiasokura
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 76
Default Re: How limited am I by the E6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
More and more games are coming out that utilize a Quad Core CPU. As that trend continues, you will become increasingly limited by your CPU.

I also had an E6600 overclocked to 3.2Ghz coupled to an 8800 GTX (died, RMA'd, got a 9800 GTX+) and it was a fantastic system. However, my current setup with a PII Quad Core and a 5870 is far superior. It's ridiculously apparent in games like BC2 and Metro 2033 that use a Quad core CPU extensively. For games that just use a Dual Core or single core CPU, you will see a definite improvement.

I say go for it. The GTX 460 will be a significant upgrade from your current GPU, and you will see a difference in games that aren't heavily CPU limited.
Contrary to what your saying apparently Metro wasn't that taxing on the 'CPU' although I beg to differ, goes to show dont believe everything you read.

as for the op I have an E6850, Its a decent chip but to be honest I haven't turned the system on in a while (with it in) other than that its not bad I have it running at 3.8Ghz usally. Its hard to get it to run stable when running above 4Ghz.
__________________
i7 965 @ 4.4ghz
EVGA 295 GTX
Rampage II Extreme
Corsair Dominators 8-8-8-24 1600Mhz
Creative X-fi
Corsair TX750w
Raiasokura is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.