Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-10, 01:01 AM   #13
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Steam Error

Users can be a pain. Windows is fine. It's the things that attempt to use it.

In a few years you'll have enough confidence to screw up Mac OS or any Linux distro as well.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 08:56 AM   #14
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Steam Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Users can be a pain. Windows is fine. It's the things that attempt to use it.

In a few years you'll have enough confidence to screw up Mac OS or any Linux distro as well.
Already broken a few Linux installs to say the least but I've never broken an OSX install out of the 5 years I've been working with them. Windows just seems to be the one OS that complains the most lol. But again, those complaints keep money in my bank account.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 09:41 AM   #15
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Steam Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
Already broken a few Linux installs to say the least but I've never broken an OSX install out of the 5 years I've been working with them. Windows just seems to be the one OS that complains the most lol. But again, those complaints keep money in my bank account.
That's what you get for using a near zero customisable OS.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 01:01 PM   #16
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Steam Error

While on topic, I've been using Windows 7 backup for my backups for almost half a year now. I decided to reformat the other night and try to restore my Steam library from the Win7 backups, but guess what? I couldn't play any of the games. It always gave me the "Servers are too busy" blah and "Game is unavailable". After doing some research, I found a few things but still couldn't figure out WTH was up with my restore.

I verified game cache and tried to download any other updates available. No luck. So now I'm redownloading a few games.

I was also having some really bad performance issues with Source Engine games. But ever since the reformat, things have been running perfectly.

I guess I need to reformat more often eh?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 01:44 PM   #17
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Steam Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Users can be a pain. Windows is fine. It's the things that attempt to use it.
In a few years you'll have enough confidence to screw up Mac OS or any Linux distro as well.
true that, my windows install is about 4 years old, never had to reinstall.

if you know what you are doing
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 02:02 PM   #18
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Steam Error

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
true that, my windows install is about 4 years old, never had to reinstall.

if you know what you are doing
Still using XP or Vista nekro?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 02:07 PM   #19
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Steam Error

original vista upgraded to sp1, then upgraded to sp2, and then upgraded to win7

no reinstall in middle, and PC runs just as fast if not faster then brand new fresh build/installed windows machine that I put together every week.

on windows 7 machine my oldest installed app is Splinter Cell Double Agent, installed 5/5/2007
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 03:27 PM   #20
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
original vista upgraded to sp1, then upgraded to sp2, and then upgraded to win7

no reinstall in middle, and PC runs just as fast if not faster then brand new fresh build/installed windows machine that I put together every week.

on windows 7 machine my oldest installed app is Splinter Cell Double Agent, installed 5/5/2007
Interesting. I've just always noticed that over time, the registry gets clogged up, no matter how many reg cleaners you throw at it; things just get slower and slower over time. A reinstall usually does the trick and makes a night/day difference.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-25-10, 04:05 PM   #21
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Steam Error

I usually build a new rig at least once a week. And newly build rig with fresh install of windows does not run any faster then my rig. So I don't see a point in reinstalling windows every couple months and waisting hours/days of my life reinstalling everything.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-10, 04:18 PM   #22
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
I usually build a new rig at least once a week. And newly build rig with fresh install of windows does not run any faster then my rig. So I don't see a point in reinstalling windows every couple months and waisting hours/days of my life reinstalling everything.
Wish my Windows installs could stay the same speed after a few months. Glad Windows is treating you so well.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-10, 02:18 AM   #23
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Steam Error

Keep practising with Windows and you'll get better six. Don't throw in the towel otherwise you'll miss the best games and apps on the best platform.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-10, 05:28 AM   #24
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Steam Error

steam has become so so bloated
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.