Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-27-10, 01:31 AM   #1
lolocat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

Hello,

I am planing to buy Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP, so it is AGP graphic port on motherboards.

Motivation for buying that video card is because I wont to watch 1080 movies on my coumputer.
I currently can not watch 1080 movies on my coumputer, because CPU is at 100% (even on 720 movies), my CPU is P4 2.0 GHz.
So my idea is to buy that video card in hope that it will do movie procesing.

I was googling, but did not found any concrete answers.
I found only this document http://www.nvidia.com/docs/CP/11036/...Comparison.pdf, and it look like it is possible.

But will this work in practice, does somebody have some experience with this stuff ?
Last thing that I wont is to buy card and then to be disappointed.

I my distro is CrunchBang Linux.

Thanks
lolocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 03:04 AM   #2
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

AFAIK all from the 7100 up have PureHD to decode HD movies, just not the 7050. 7600 should be fine. Dunno if it's any different for Linux, though.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 03:25 AM   #3
lolocat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

Thanks Revs,

That what I also found out goolging, now I am sure that i understood that correctly.
But I am concern are current Linux drives capable of using PureHD, and also how good they are.

I hope that here (on this forum) will be somebody who did it in practice and have experience with it, and can say is it possible or not.
lolocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 03:58 AM   #4
Gusar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 277
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

Linux doesn't have PureHD, it has VDPAU. And it's only supported on Geforce 8 and up. So, lolocat, you're out of luck.

Edit: Oh, I see you're buying a card. Well then, you're not out of luck. Just buy a Geforce 8 and you're set.
Gusar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 04:04 AM   #5
gradinaruvasile
Registered User
 
gradinaruvasile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 199
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

With that CPU of yours it will be a bumpy ride (read:slideshow if any)...
VDPAU is supported only from the 8 series up. And not on every card.
See if you can get a 8400 with the G98 chip if possible (the ones that have older chips dont support VDPAU or support only set A). If there is any on Agp.
gradinaruvasile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 04:07 AM   #6
cehoyos
FFmpeg developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 467
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolocat View Post
I am planing to buy Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP, so it is AGP graphic port on motherboards.

Motivation for buying that video card is because I wont to watch 1080 movies on my coumputer.
This cannot work on Linux for H.264, because VDPAU does not work for Geforce 7.

You need a Geforce 8400 PCI (if you have no PCIe slots), except if you only plan to decode MPEG-2 video (which works fine with XVMC).

Carl Eugen
cehoyos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 06:37 AM   #7
lolocat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

OK thanks, so to wrap this up.

Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP -> can not do it end of story

I have AGP port, so if I find Geforce 8400 PCI ( yes I do not have PCI-e slots) it is posible.
Or do I need "the G98 chip" on Geforce 8400 ?

This is some list that I found:
http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...ppendix-a.html

Also, what is state with ATi drivers on Linux ?
AFAIK situation is even worse for my need, or I am wrong (is there some ATI AGP card that can do it)?
lolocat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-10, 07:11 AM   #8
gradinaruvasile
Registered User
 
gradinaruvasile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 199
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

I didnt know that there are PCI (not PCIE) 8400s. And if so, i am curious how they perform. And watch out for the PCI labeling on vendor sites, thy may label cards PCI when they are in fact PCIE.

The 8400s with the G98 chip support VDPAU. These are newer revisions though meaning it is probably they are not available in Agp.

Maybe the time has come for a computer upgrade...

Ati - for the time being forget it.
Their drivers move at a snails pace + they are full of bugs - at this rate it will take quite some time to be really a choice for Linux users.

There is a hyped GPU decoding with Vlc+the latest Ati drivers (that is uspposed to work with nvidia too), but i tried Vlc 1.1.1 on nvidia card (210) and the GPU decoding configuration item doesnt seem to really have an impact (Debian Squeeze).
gradinaruvasile is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-27-10, 08:36 AM   #9
cehoyos
FFmpeg developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 467
Default Re: Can Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP run 1080 movies ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolocat View Post
Gigabyte GeForce 7600 GS 512MB AGP -> can not do it end of story
To make sure there is no misunderstanding:
GeForce 7600 does not support VDPAU and does not support hardware accelerated decoding of H264 (and VC1) on Linux, but it does support XVMC (hardware accelerated MPEG-2 Video decoding) afaik.
Quote:
I have AGP port, so if I find Geforce 8400 PCI ( yes I do not have PCI-e slots) it is posible.
Or do I need "the G98 chip" on Geforce 8400 ?
Note that all Geforce 8400 support VDPAU (even the ones without G98 and its VP3 bug), but since only G98 supports PCI, it does not matter for you.
Quote:
Also, what is state with ATi drivers on Linux ?
http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19983
(to make sure it's not us Nvidia-Fans who claim that nothing at all works.)

Carl Eugen
cehoyos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.