Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-10, 06:44 AM   #13
KickAssCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 432
Default Re: GTX 460 vs 465 vs 470?

So I just checked some prices and with me selling off the 5850 and trying to nab a GTX 470 I am looking to pay about 120 smokes for the upgrade.

I find this quite unreasonable and would like to know more about the AA fixed by ATi for SC2. Does anyone have links I can see the fix at (rage3d is down).

To be honest physX can wait for now unless someone says that without physX Mafia II looks like utter crap or something.
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3.2 GHz (400X8 FSB) | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Rev 2.0 | Sapphire ATi 5850 @ 825/1175 | 250 GB WD SATA2 16 MB | 80 GB Seagate SATA 8 MB | 4 GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @ 1000 5-5-5-15 | Liteon 16X DVD RW | Samsung 22" 1680*1050 | Logitech G5 | FSP 600W PSU
KickAssCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-10, 11:12 AM   #14
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: GTX 460 vs 465 vs 470?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KickAssCop View Post
So I just checked some prices and with me selling off the 5850 and trying to nab a GTX 470 I am looking to pay about 120 smokes for the upgrade.

I find this quite unreasonable and would like to know more about the AA fixed by ATi for SC2. Does anyone have links I can see the fix at (rage3d is down).

To be honest physX can wait for now unless someone says that without physX Mafia II looks like utter crap or something.
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...etaDriver.aspx
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-10, 11:28 AM   #15
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: GTX 460 vs 465 vs 470?

Whether you keep the card or swap to a nV card, realistically you'll be better with a dedicated card for PhysX. A second hand 8800GT or similar would be fine but either way a PSU upgrade may be in order to run the two cards. Though a dedicated card for PhysX wouldn't chew power like it would used as a graphics card. In game PhysX only tickles my 260.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-10, 02:02 PM   #16
KickAssCop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 432
Default Re: GTX 460 vs 465 vs 470?

Before a PSU upgrade, wouldn't I need an SLi capable motherboard to run a dedicated physX card?
__________________
Intel Q6600 @ 3.2 GHz (400X8 FSB) | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L Rev 2.0 | Sapphire ATi 5850 @ 825/1175 | 250 GB WD SATA2 16 MB | 80 GB Seagate SATA 8 MB | 4 GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @ 1000 5-5-5-15 | Liteon 16X DVD RW | Samsung 22" 1680*1050 | Logitech G5 | FSP 600W PSU
KickAssCop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-10, 02:29 PM   #17
AGibbon
Heh
 
AGibbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, Nv.
Posts: 188
Default Re: GTX 460 vs 465 vs 470?

Yep, yep
AGibbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-10, 02:36 PM   #18
AGibbon
Heh
 
AGibbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Las Vegas, Nv.
Posts: 188
Default Re: GTX 460 vs 465 vs 470?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
Because a 5850 is already faster and using Physx on a 460 would make it significantly slower? Not to mention the fact that he wants AA in Starcraft, which is nearly unplayable with a 460. He also mentioned noise and heat are issues, so the 470 would be a bad choice as well. Also, Ati has already fixed the AA issue in Starcraft.

I dunno, I just don't see the point in sidegrades, especially when the extra features you are looking to add end up making your new card slower than the other. If a 460 was as fast as a 5850 while using those extra features I could see it, but to go slower just for Physx doesn't seem smart.
Yea Bah....sorry, didn't know they fixed it. Been out of the loop for a few weeks. Good news indeed. Blizzard should supported it in the first place. They shouldn't have left it for the graphics vendors to get it working.

Spot on everything else. As I said the 460 should be teamed with a 240 or something for his Physx wants. Alone would be a pretty big hit. Depends on what framerate is playable for KAC.
AGibbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.