Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-18-10, 09:03 PM   #13
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gitaroo View Post
what about at max load condition? And if I get a super clocked 460, it would draw more power too right? My current 8800 GT is also a super clocked. CPU isnt over clocked however.
Your 430W PSU 12V max load is 384W. After read all GTX 460 reviews, yes a superclocked GTX 460 will draw around 25W by overclocked 100MHz from default 675MHz and if it can reach 875MHz with 200Mhz overclocked then it will need 50W. I read some GTX 460 1GB reviews with test setups with overclocked Core i7 920 4GHz and i 7 975 3.75GHz power consumption at full load consumed around 300W in gaming and 350W when stressed GPU to 100% in Furmark. So with your E6600 CPU at full load in gaming probably will use around 225W power.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-10, 11:50 PM   #14
Gitaroo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

thanks man, very much appreciate the info.
Gitaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-10, 01:51 PM   #15
artem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 705
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

Try running FurMark for an hour - if you've got no freezes, reboots, slowdowns, etc. then stay with your current power supply, there's no need to listen to anyone's advice.
artem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-10, 02:01 PM   #16
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

Does'nt a mother board draw any power.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-10, 05:30 PM   #17
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055 View Post
Does'nt a mother board draw any power.
Yes a motherboard is included as system's idle and full load power consumption. My PC idle is 100W and then I removed the idle power consumption of 40W memory, 10W CPU, 15W GPU, 10W hard drive, 10W DVDRW drive and 10W X-Fi sound card. That worked out 5W for the motherboard power.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-10, 05:36 PM   #18
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

Quote:
Originally Posted by artem View Post
Try running FurMark for an hour - if you've got no freezes, reboots, slowdowns, etc. then stay with your current power supply, there's no need to listen to anyone's advice.
I would be really very uncomfortable to run Furmark, it not good idea to run it for 1 hour because it can cause damage to videocard's VRM after 1 hour. I searched internet about this and people are told not to dare run furmark for 1 hour.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-10, 10:18 AM   #19
artem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 705
Exclamation Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AthlonXP1800 View Post
I would be really very uncomfortable to run Furmark, it not good idea to run it for 1 hour because it can cause damage to videocard's VRM after 1 hour. I searched internet about this and people are told not to dare run furmark for 1 hour.
Sorry, but this is the most stupid thing I've ever heard.

Under no circumstances an application which uses publicly available programming interfaces should damage your hardware and if it does, then your hardware is 100% faulty (except some very corner cases which are not relevant for this discussion, i.e. you can easily kill your HDD by making it start-stop every second for prolonged periods of time).

Any graphics card should sustain running Furmark during entire its lifetime in 7x24 mode, i.e. if you have a three years warranty for your GTX480, that means it's safe to assume that this GPU must tolerate running Furmark for three years in a non-stop mode.
artem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-10, 03:26 PM   #20
AthlonXP1800
Registered User
 
AthlonXP1800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 4,352
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

Quote:
Originally Posted by artem View Post
Sorry, but this is the most stupid thing I've ever heard.

Under no circumstances an application which uses publicly available programming interfaces should damage your hardware and if it does, then your hardware is 100% faulty (except some very corner cases which are not relevant for this discussion, i.e. you can easily kill your HDD by making it start-stop every second for prolonged periods of time).

Any graphics card should sustain running Furmark during entire its lifetime in 7x24 mode, i.e. if you have a three years warranty for your GTX480, that means it's safe to assume that this GPU must tolerate running Furmark for three years in a non-stop mode.
Sorry I have to disagree with you. Try tell that to EVGA and they will disagree with you too, they cant let their EVGA OC Scanner burn for 24/7, it only can allow to burn up to a maximum of 2 hours for safety reason.
__________________
Intel Core i7 3770K, Corsair H80 liquid cooler with Noctua S12-1200 fan, ASUS P8Z77V with UEFI 2104, 16GB Samsung Green 30nm DDR3-RAM, Pioneer BDR-S09XLT 16x Blu-ray writer, Corsair AX850 PSU, Western Digital 2TB SATA3 hard drive, CanonScan LiDE 210 scanner, Microsoft Internet Keyboard, Microsoft Touch Explorer mouse, 32inch Sharp LC32LE600 LED TV, EVGA Geforce GTX 670 SC 4GB with Geforce 370.50 driver, 50Mb broadband Virgin Media VMDG480 Super Hub, Aspire Xplorer Midi Tower, Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit.
AthlonXP1800 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-21-10, 02:29 AM   #21
artem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 705
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

I don't care about EVGA opinion, really. They are wrong.
artem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-10, 09:16 AM   #22
envirotech
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

When I had issues with a GT 220 from Zotac They actually told me to run it over night. So I did and it stayed at stable at 65C and did not lock up the system. So running it longer than an hour should not be a problem unless there is a hardware issue which is what you are looking for when you run this test. Run it for an Hour or 2 and if it is stable then you should be fine, if it is not and locks up then replace the Power supply.
envirotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-10, 01:40 AM   #23
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

If you have a 430watt and it has 32amps on the 12 rail you should be fine,with GTX 460.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-10, 03:26 PM   #24
Gitaroo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Default Re: can I use a 430 watts PSU for GTX 460?

thanks guys, Im still waiting for my local store to get the card..............
Gitaroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.