Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-10, 05:01 PM   #1
nvserge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Default geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

Hey guys... my rig specs are in my sig...

things running pretty smoothly until I got a third monitor to get the surround temptation out of the way...

Now I can see things are starting to look a bit taxed at 5760/1080 with 3 monitors. I mean... borderline great with a bit of choppiness...

Would it be overkill to get 2 480's considering my specs? Not sure if I can budget an i7 at this time...

Looking for guidance to either trigger a guilt ridden purchase or to stop my hand from twitching around my wallet!

Thanks!
__________________

Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.6 Ghz
Prolimatech Megahalems rev.B
Asus Sabertooth X58
6 GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
2 * NVIDIA Geforce GTX 480 SLI
Sound Blaster Xfi Fatal1ty
OCZ Agility 2 120 GB SSD
1200 W PSU
nvserge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-10, 11:58 PM   #2
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,188
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

well, at 1200 watts, the psu is there for 480 sli. And it depends on what you consider guilt ridden. I mean if the budget money is there and you aren't spending against monthly bills, why are you feeling guilty?
__________________
gigabyte ga-z87x-ud3h, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel xeon e3-1245v3 3.4 ghz quad core cpu, zotac gtx 770 amp 2gb 2 way sli,2x ocz agility 3 90gb ssd in raid 0,rosewill 750 watt 80 plus platinum psu,antec gx 700 case, lg 14x bluray writer,windows 8.1 64 bit pro, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,asus vg278he 27' 144hz 3d vision 2 lcd monitor, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard, zalman eclipse 8200dpi mouse,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,adata 16gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sb recon 3d pci-e sc

Brother's system: Asus p8z77-v lk mb, 8gb of ddr3 1600mhz ram,intel core i7 3770k 3.5 ghz cpu, intel hd 4000 igpu, ,antec earthwatts 650 watt 80 plus platinum psu,cooler master 3500 dpi spawn mouse, ican keyboard, logitech ls120 2.0 speakers, cooler master elite 343 matx case, corsair force 3 90gb ssd, pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, acer g215hv 21.5' 1080p monitor,kingston usb 2.0 8gb flash drive,win 8.0 pro 64 bit,onboard realtek audio

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-10, 10:19 AM   #3
nvserge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

nice specs you got there.... drool worthy hehe... Never spent against the bills money, have plenty of unused credit and some spare cash... my guilt would just be based off the lack of benefit from moving up this year... I was hoping that someone that moved up to the 480's from 280's or 275's or 285's for that matter would say "wow rock solid performance increase!"... I see you got 24 gb of ram there, what is the benefit for that level of ram? i have yet to run out of memory on 64 bit win 7 with 4 gb of ram, even though at times I have 6-7 visual studio 2010 windows running + possibly 10-20 SQL Server query windows opened?
__________________

Intel Core i7 950 @ 3.6 Ghz
Prolimatech Megahalems rev.B
Asus Sabertooth X58
6 GB Corsair Dominator DDR3
2 * NVIDIA Geforce GTX 480 SLI
Sound Blaster Xfi Fatal1ty
OCZ Agility 2 120 GB SSD
1200 W PSU
nvserge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-10, 06:18 PM   #4
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

Go for it. SLI 480's scale extremely well and 3 monitor gaming is pretty taxing on a system.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-10, 06:53 PM   #5
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

I have an eVGA GTX 480 I'm selling if you're on the fence about price.

Link
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-10, 08:42 AM   #6
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nvserge View Post
Hey guys... my rig specs are in my sig...

things running pretty smoothly until I got a third monitor to get the surround temptation out of the way...

Now I can see things are starting to look a bit taxed at 5760/1080 with 3 monitors. I mean... borderline great with a bit of choppiness...

Would it be overkill to get 2 480's considering my specs? Not sure if I can budget an i7 at this time...

Looking for guidance to either trigger a guilt ridden purchase or to stop my hand from twitching around my wallet!

Thanks!
i would go for a cpu upgrade first. my cpu (like yours) bottlenecks my cards a LOT! i put them in my other machine that has an i5 750 @ 3.6 and they where very happy MUCH better performance. especially in Bad Company 2!
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-10, 10:05 AM   #7
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,857
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

I would agree that a CPU and motherboard and memory would be the first thing to do .The
i7-920 0r i7-930 scales better then the core2 Quad in SLI .I would upgrade to a i7-920 or
i7-930 and a new motherboard and DDR3 memory first and then get new video cards .
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-10, 10:32 AM   #8
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

Quote:
Originally Posted by john19055 View Post
I would agree that a CPU and motherboard and memory would be the first thing to do .The
i7-920 0r i7-930 scales better then the core2 Quad in SLI .I would upgrade to a i7-920 or
i7-930 and a new motherboard and DDR3 memory first and then get new video cards .
no disrespect John, but even an i5 750 would suffice, and be alot less to upgrade. i went through the whole i5 vs i7 debate, and couldnt justify the bigger expense. but yea clock for clock i5-i7 easily beats a core 2 quad. hell even at stock clocks my i5 beats my C2Q at 3.6 by a bit ...
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-07-10, 11:16 AM   #9
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

If he were running a single monitor, I'd agree that 480's in SLI are too much for his current rig. But 3 monitors with a resolution that high are a different story, you'll get more performance out of the cards than than a CPU upgrade.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-10, 12:48 PM   #10
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
If he were running a single monitor, I'd agree that 480's in SLI are too much for his current rig. But 3 monitors with a resolution that high are a different story, you'll get more performance out of the cards than than a CPU upgrade.
even with my overclocked i5 and max settings i havent bugun to use my second 260. with the right cpu a 260/275/280 is plently @ 1080p. now if your gaming at 2560 or whatever i can see a second 400 series being usefull, but other that that one 480 is plenty IMO. unless your playing Crysis, and even 3x480 barely cuts it ...
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-10, 01:40 PM   #11
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnt_Ram View Post
even with my overclocked i5 and max settings i havent bugun to use my second 260. with the right cpu a 260/275/280 is plently @ 1080p. now if your gaming at 2560 or whatever i can see a second 400 series being usefull, but other that that one 480 is plenty IMO. unless your playing Crysis, and even 3x480 barely cuts it ...
Ok.

Now read the OP again.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-10, 02:45 PM   #12
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: geforce 280 gtx sli debating about 480 sli...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
Ok.

Now read the OP again.
i completely skipped the fact he's using multiple moitors maybe dual 400 series might be needed afterall. gotta quit skimming
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.