Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-13-10, 07:29 PM   #1
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

Has anyone with a DIR-825 B1 had any issues with remaining in a Bad Company 2 game? I seem to be getting knocked back to the game menu after 2-5 mins. and 30 seconds later receiving "the connection to ea online was lost."

This started happening yesterday. I received and connected the router up Tuesday this week. Short of putting the computer in the DMZ, I've tried port forwarding, turning off upnp, and using port forwarding with upnp off. After trying each of these, I see nothing in the router log.

I've tried CoD:MW2 and have been fine. I'm going to try some more games and hope those are good.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-10, 07:56 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

Just to be sure its the router, try connecting your PC directly to your modem. It could have just been a small game update that screwed up your installation.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-10, 08:08 PM   #3
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

I'll try that too. I did add the PC to the DMZ, and that seems to work. Now, I'm thinking it's the router.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-10, 09:48 PM   #4
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

Bah. Gonna order a WNDR3700 and RMA this thing.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-10, 07:30 AM   #5
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

i have 825 b1, and no bfbc2 issues.

speaking of 825 b1 and WNDR3700 its the same hardware, just firmware is different.

so if its the router issue, there is a possibility you might have same issue.

unless the router you got is just defective.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-10, 09:56 AM   #6
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

Which firmware are you running on your 825? I flashed mine with the 2.03N.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-10, 01:33 PM   #7
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

Got the Netgear in and setup over lunch. It seems to work okay with BFBC2. Might have had a bum 825. Might just give the 825 to my brother or sister as they don't do any gaming.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-10, 02:08 PM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,365
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phyre View Post
Which firmware are you running on your 825? I flashed mine with the 2.03N.
i'm still on 2.02NA
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-04-10, 11:57 AM   #9
derekjoel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

I have a DIR-825 with the exact same issue. I am running 2.03NA. Port forwarding doesn't affect the game kicking me out but if I put my gaming rig into the DMZ it's fine. I personally think it's an issue with the D-LINK firmware.

I will try flashing it with OpenWrt and see if that does it. I'll reply to this post after (if I can still get on the internet) I flash it.

I'll be flashing it using the following:
http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/d-link/dir-825
derekjoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-10, 07:38 PM   #10
derekjoel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: D-Link DIR-825 and BFBC2

Alright so I ended up flashing dd-wrt v24 preSP2 [Beta] Build: 14896

http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/do...rt_NA.bin/3785

I no longer have to put my box into the DMZ to avoid disconnects from BFBC2. I played for ~1hr with no disconnects. If I start seeing them again I'll try and remember to come back and post but for now I believe it is an issue with the OEM firmware from DLINK.

-DJ
derekjoel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.