Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > MMORPGs

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-10, 03:30 PM   #49
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny C View Post
Took me 4 hrs to download...be patient...
Once I used uTorrent it only took a little over an hour flying at over 1.5 MB/s.

With their download client I was lucky to get 10 Kb/s. It would have never downloaded. It seems like how could they screw up a simple torrent client? I had all the ports open just fine as shown by how the uTorrent client worked.

Any gamepad works with the game but you have to map them yourself with the config program outside of the game.

I'm thinking this game is not for me though.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-10, 09:31 PM   #50
Johnny C
Passing you @ 192mph
 
Johnny C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada, EH!
Posts: 779
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonPC View Post
Once I used uTorrent it only took a little over an hour flying at over 1.5 MB/s.

With their download client I was lucky to get 10 Kb/s. It would have never downloaded. It seems like how could they screw up a simple torrent client? I had all the ports open just fine as shown by how the uTorrent client worked.

Any gamepad works with the game but you have to map them yourself with the config program outside of the game.

I'm thinking this game is not for me though.
It's just FFXI with better graphics and a more clumsy interface....disappointment for me as well...
__________________
Phenom II 965BE @ 3.9ghz 200X19.5 1.4625 vcore 2.8ghz NB 2.4ghz HT - Asus M4A79XTD-EVO bios 0604 - 12GB Corsair DDR3 1600 @ 1600mhz CAS 9 w/1T - XFX 6970 2GB 950/1450 - Xigmatek S1283 HSF - Antec 900 - Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Johnny C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-10, 12:34 PM   #51
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

UI is one of the worst I have ever seen. Played for about 30 minutes and will never play again
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-10, 11:22 PM   #52
CaptnStubing
Registered User
 
CaptnStubing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,714
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghosthunter View Post
UI is one of the worst I have ever seen. Played for about 30 minutes and will never play again
exactly!
CaptnStubing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-10, 01:59 AM   #53
StoNer
Ubėr Baked
 
StoNer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Jersey
Posts: 376
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

They said on their release notes that they're redoing most of the UI and improving performance.

The release client is looking to be something like 12+ gb bigger than the beta client, so I guess there's a lot more stuff to do come release. I'm looking forward to it!
__________________
[CPU Phenom II X4 960T @3.81 1.44v 200x19][HSF CM Hyper TX3 EVO Dual 92mm Push/Pull][Mobo Asus M4A78T-E 790GX][RAM AMD PE @1600Mhz 8-9-8-24 1T]
[GPU (2)XFX Radeon HD5770 CrossfireX @910/1260][HDD WD Caviar Black/Green 500gb][SSD Kingston VSeries(boot) 30gb, Crucial M4 64gb]
[PSU Corsair TX650 v2][Case Modified Xclio GS2 /w 2x180mm/1x120mm Intake, 1x120mm/2x80mm Exhaust][OS Win7 x64]
[Display Dell S2309W 23", Samsung 933HD+ 18.5" on NeoFlex LCD Arms]

[Now Playing Star Wars The Old Republic, Tribes Ascend, League of Legends, Starcraft II, Diablo III, Super Street Fighter IV AE, DayZ]
StoNer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-10, 03:26 AM   #54
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny C View Post
I have a PS3 style pad...will that work?
It should http://www.ffxivcore.com/wiki/Controller the game plays really nice on the controller.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-10, 08:56 AM   #55
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

I heard you can't tell which NPC has quests, you can only hold 5 quests and have to remove quests from your log manually to make room. Basic keystrokes are multiplied by 2-5 keys for basic things. I'm just hearing horrible things.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-10, 02:17 PM   #56
Ghosthunter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 885
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme View Post
It should http://www.ffxivcore.com/wiki/Controller the game plays really nice on the controller.

I cannot play an mmorpg on a controller...in fact I hate playing any PC game with a controller, I am a mouse+keybaord fan only
__________________
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H
Intel i5-3570k @ 4.3
Thermalright True Spirit 120
G.Skill 16 GB Ram DDR3-1600
EVGA GTX 680 SC
Crucial M4 128 GB SSD
2x Samsung 1 TB Spinpoint 7200 RPM SATA HD103SJ
WD SE16 7200 RPM SATA 640 GB
SAMSUNG 22X SATA DVD Burner
CORSAIR 750TX PSU
LIAN LI Lancool PC-K7B
Asus 25 inch VE258Q
Win7x64
Ghosthunter is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-28-10, 12:11 PM   #57
CaptnStubing
Registered User
 
CaptnStubing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,714
Default Re: Final Fantasy XIV beta sign ups' now up!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
I heard you can't tell which NPC has quests, you can only hold 5 quests and have to remove quests from your log manually to make room. Basic keystrokes are multiplied by 2-5 keys for basic things. I'm just hearing horrible things.
Yes, it very much is a EQ like game. And like EQ this game is a complete piece of ****. I thought Vanguard was bad but this game makes EQ and Vanguard look like WoW.
CaptnStubing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.