Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-10-10, 10:19 PM   #85
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Ideas on upgrading my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
Birthday finally rolls around next week, but we went ahead and celebrated tonight. Look at what's on it's way to me for next Tuesday:



I've also ordered a Silverstone 2.5 to 3.5 adaptor, it holds two SSDs so I can get another one for Christmas!
Nice! What's the capacity?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-10, 10:23 PM   #86
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Ideas on upgrading my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Nice! What's the capacity?
64GB. Going with a 80GB or 128GB SSD would've been an extra $75-$100. Not worth it right now.

One question though. I've read that you have to have AHCI mode for the SSD to run with TRIM, which is no big deal to me. But what about my other hard drives that already have data on them? Will switching from SATA to AHCI ruin or mess with any of my data on my storage drives?
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-10, 10:27 PM   #87
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Ideas on upgrading my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
64GB. Going with a 80GB or 128GB SSD would've been an extra $75-$100. Not worth it right now.

One question though. I've read that you have to have AHCI mode for the SSD to run with TRIM, which is no big deal to me. But what about my other hard drives that already have data on them? Will switching from SATA to AHCI ruin or mess with any of my data on my storage drives?
That's a good question- though I'll hazzard a guess the answer is "no". Here's why:

When I put my SSD's into my computer I enabled AHCI. Installed Windows, connected my two HDDs and all of my data and such showed up, no problem.

So no, I do not think it'll effect data stored on other drives.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-10, 10:30 PM   #88
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Ideas on upgrading my desktop

BTW, Amazon has these WD 64GB SSDs for just $117 now. They were $135 or more just earlier this week.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00..._ya_os_product
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-10, 10:31 PM   #89
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Ideas on upgrading my desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
That's a good question- though I'll hazzard a guess the answer is "no". Here's why:

When I put my SSD's into my computer I enabled AHCI. Installed Windows, connected my two HDDs and all of my data and such showed up, no problem.

So no, I do not think it'll effect data stored on other drives.
I didn't think it would. I know with my HackBook Pro days, you had to switch your BIOS over to AHCI and it broke some stuff for me.

My SSD will be here Tuesday and I can't wait to get that drive going. This SSD along with my new 500GB Samsung F3s should really give a good lil' boost to my desktop.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-10, 04:53 PM   #90
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Ideas on upgrading my desktop

Got the SSD today and just got Windows 7 re-installed. So far everything is pretty darn quick. My mobo has this AHCI check that takes an extra 5-10 seconds at bootup, but once you see the "Starting Windows" splash screen, it takes 5 seconds to hit my login screen. Logging in is way faster.

Now I'm trying to make sure most of my apps are on my 500GB F3 drive instead of the SSD. Kinda sucks but we'll see after a month of use if it was worth it.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.