Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-10, 03:01 PM   #49
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverick123w View Post
Haven't played any battlefield games... now no civ games..... what have you played?
Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
pocket pool, mostly.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 03:56 PM   #50
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
i don't think it looks MUCH better. maybe a bit. applying aa w/ the nvidia control panel makes dx9 look fine. i'm actually running dx9 instead so my gpu doesn't have to work as hard.
Yah, I didn't notice much by way of differences. Better FPS with dx9 and I think some bump-mapping, shadows and water might look a touch better with dx10.

I think the game looks awesome whether zoomed in or out

But then I like the game itself. YMMV

-edit-

I take it back. There is a HUGE difference in some of the environmental effects.

The water difference is actually night and day. I have no idea what I was smoking when I said it looked similar
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 03:57 PM   #51
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

pwnt!

  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 05:42 PM   #52
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
i don't think it looks MUCH better. maybe a bit. applying aa w/ the nvidia control panel makes dx9 look fine. i'm actually running dx9 instead so my gpu doesn't have to work as hard.
Yep, just tried using the override option for AA and it worked as well. My mate still insists dx10 looks a fair bit better. DX9 looks good to me using Wine. I've never played Civ before but this good and supposedly better for new players like me.

Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 05:48 PM   #53
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Loved the demo... can't buy the game though. Just spent $1500 on Vegas Vaca with GF.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 09:05 PM   #54
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Loved the demo... can't buy the game though. Just spent $1500 on Vegas Vaca with GF.
Then whats another $50? lol.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-10, 11:43 PM   #55
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Here is a quick screenshot of my capital right before I launch my rocket

Note, one of the weird things with this game is the AI randomly declaring war for no reason.

I fought a civilization that kept calling me barbaric (sticks and stones?) and freed a capital, gave it back to another civilization. What does that guy do, 5 moves later with his ONE city? Declares war on me, when I control 1/3'rd of the map and had huge and advanced mechanized armies amassed nearby while he had nothing but archers.

I am expecting the AI to be fixed, because right now it's quite daft sometimes.

Btw, 3 moves after I launched my rocket, America declared war on me for some reason.

-edit-

Forum link appears borked.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CivilizationV_DX11 2010-09-24 23-09-07-26.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	312.5 KB
ID:	41165  
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-10, 01:09 AM   #56
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

I am lvoing this game so far, although it is taking some getting used to compaired to all other CIV's I have played. SO far I miss stacking units... and it would be nice to have the ability to play my own music in the game like I was able to do in Civ IV.

Another note; for me anyway, DX10 becomes wicked laggy once you start having multiple cities displayed. IS there any real difference between DX 9 and DX 10 in this game? They look the same to me when playing (although I have yet to try to force AA in DX9 through the nvidia control panel). Will forcing AA in DX9 work? Or do I need nHancer to do it? Never thought my PC would be taxed by a CIV game... lol. Maybe I need to update my drivers...
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-25-10, 03:48 AM   #57
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

DX9 reduces water quality and reduces bump-mapping on some items.

If you don't mind that, go ahead and play on Dx9.

I have noticed that regardless of what DX version I am playing on, the lag experienced when you build up a lot of cities and items is almost the same, so I think it's more a processor issue than a GPU issue.

Because it does indeed look better with DX10, I am sticking to it
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-10, 09:12 AM   #58
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

.. just lost by turn limit?
Had around 2/5 of world as I just had conquered one country and was beginning to build it anew.
Also I had couple of robots of death and walking to capital of next country under open borders policy.
Then I get screen saying I lost. ****

So.. where is the ability to get rid of that limit?
or do I just choose the game with longer time periods?
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-10, 09:37 AM   #59
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlippo View Post
.. just lost by turn limit?
Had around 2/5 of world as I just had conquered one country and was beginning to build it anew.
Also I had couple of robots of death and walking to capital of next country under open borders policy.
Then I get screen saying I lost. ****

So.. where is the ability to get rid of that limit?
or do I just choose the game with longer time periods?
you can change winning conditions in the "advanced setup" before beginning a game, IIRC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-10, 12:01 PM   #60
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: Official Civilization V Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
DX9 reduces water quality and reduces bump-mapping on some items.

If you don't mind that, go ahead and play on Dx9.

I have noticed that regardless of what DX version I am playing on, the lag experienced when you build up a lot of cities and items is almost the same, so I think it's more a processor issue than a GPU issue.

Because it does indeed look better with DX10, I am sticking to it
Hmmm.. I have 0 lag with DX 9.. smooth as butter. I will try updating my video drivers to the newest version (think i am still on a version from April... lol.). I would like to use DX 10 but it was a damn slide show for me, it has to be a driver issue.

What graphics settings are you using for DX10? I will use that as a starting point.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.