Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-10, 08:52 AM   #25
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crow_Nest View Post
wtf that really blows. How could they have overlooked that? And ironically, F1 in real life is has extremely precise timings.

Anyway i went for the Singapore race last night. Sat at the marina bay grandstand. When one of the cars crashed everyone got out their seats and went ape**** even the ushers couldnt control us.
I don't think its so much of a bug as it is a terrible design decision to try to cover up the flaws in the engine. The Ego engine was designed for rally racing where the starts are staggered and you could be the only car on the track for a while, and I'm guessing they just couldn't get a true AI with actual laps and times to perform correctly when there are a bunch of cars on a small track like in F1.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-10, 07:24 PM   #26
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Punctures?
Only had one so far due to car contact. That was pretty cool but other than that I thought the game was way too forgiving in regards to lock-ups under heavy braking.

I've never locked the inside front which is very strange because I'm pushing much harder on the brakes than in iRacing.


--

Man the racing is really ****ed in this game due to the "AI". I've lost maybe 5s in the pits because I enabled the limiter too early but that resulted in a 12s gap in the end. Never saw the leaders again even though I pitted while in 3rd.
Codemasters really messed up their own game with this
Its actually fun when youre out on the track,the visuals and sound makes it pretty immersive,its the rest they ****ed up.Had huge stuttering issues after 4-6 laps but solved it by making the replay.pbf read only.This way the replays doesnt work but atleast it's playable.Another really annoying thing is the race engineer,he tells me to come in to the pit and change tires "Remember to pit this lap" so i do,i get the new tires and rejoin the track again but within a minute i get the same "Remember to pit this lap" He repeats this a few times along the race.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-10, 11:52 AM   #27
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
I agree it's fun and immersive on track earlier in the race. But once those design failures kick in in the later part of the race, the race feeling is over.

btw where is the replay file located? I don't get the stuttering but that definitely would hurt my SSD performance (if it's located on the system disk) over time because I can't use TRIM.
Users\All Users\Codemasters etc.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-10, 12:05 PM   #28
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Well he had all the aids on and was even using the racing line.
It's definitely not as arcadey with the settings I use...
Oh, I didn't have the audio on so I don't know he had all that turned on

Any major patches upcoming to address some of the times and stuff?
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-10, 10:50 AM   #29
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Realistic Sun Mod (removes the piss filter) => http://depositfiles.com/en/files/6zf8lrwpd

Comparison shots here => http://www.virtualr.net/f1-2010-real...-1-0-released/
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-10, 03:46 PM   #30
mcolbourn
Time waits for no man!
 
mcolbourn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 736
Talking Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio View Post
Realistic Sun Mod (removes the piss filter) => http://depositfiles.com/en/files/6zf8lrwpd

Comparison shots here => http://www.virtualr.net/f1-2010-real...-1-0-released/
I am liking the Realistic Sun Mod deff better than the standard lighting. I am also loving this game slowing getting better at MP and slowly turning off the driving aids also. I can now tell who has them on and off as well by how they drive.
__________________
CPU : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz - MOBO : Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R - RAM : Corsair Vengeance 12GB DDR3 PC3-12800 - GPU : Power Color 6970
HD : Crucial m4 128gb (SSD),1TB Samsung F3 & 1TB Samsung F1 - Sound Card : ASUS Xonar DG - Speakers : Logitech Z523 - PSU : CORSAIR Gold AX750 Case : CM 690 II Advanced - Display : Hazro HZ27WC
mcolbourn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-10, 07:12 PM   #31
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio View Post
Realistic Sun Mod (removes the piss filter) => http://depositfiles.com/en/files/6zf8lrwpd

Comparison shots here => http://www.virtualr.net/f1-2010-real...-1-0-released/
Thanks Looks much better this way imo,devs should have done this instead of that damn filter.



Short vid aswell with the mod+the no headbob and fovmod,also at spa.Fraps records at 30 fps so it might not look as smooth as in game:

__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-10, 12:33 PM   #32
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
The mod looks very interesting. I have to try it out next time I fire up F1 2010. Not sure when though as its sh*t handling is messing up my feel for iRacing a bit

Sammy, what input device do you use? The steering wheel movement in your vid looks awful
It's a 360 pc pad,no deadzone adjustment ingame and it also pulls slightly to the left constantly so i have to compensate for that,if i let go of the stick on the straights the car will eventually veer to the left/into the barrier .My old wheel doesn't work with win 7 and since i don't have time to really get into sims im not buying a new one,atleast not right now.This game alone doesn't really warrant a wheelpurchase either.The pad is a pos though,it's unusable with proper sims that demands more dynamic input options but works pretty ok for this game(apart from a sketchy deadzone that is).
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-01-10, 06:24 PM   #33
Cream
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 330
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio View Post
Realistic Sun Mod (removes the piss filter) => http://depositfiles.com/en/files/6zf8lrwpd

Comparison shots here => http://www.virtualr.net/f1-2010-real...-1-0-released/


This mod didn't work for me. Just made the game hang when loading track.

I renames the original file and inserted this file as instructed.

Spec is as per sig.
__________________
Coolermaster RC-1000 Cosmos/1000W Corsair HX Series
ASUS P6T Deluxe - Intel i7 920 @ 3600Mhz.
Sapphire HD 6990 4gb
6GB (3x2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR3, PC3-12800 (1600) CAS 8-8-8-24
500 GB Samsung Spinpoint F1/30GB solid state OCZ Core Series V2 SSD
LG GGC-H20L
Razer copperhead
HP LP2475W
Windows 7 home Premium 64

Xbox 360 : panny 42" 1080p plasma : Denon 5.1 DHT-1356XP
Cream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-10, 06:46 PM   #34
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cream View Post
This mod didn't work for me. Just made the game hang when loading track.

I renames the original file and inserted this file as instructed.

Spec is as per sig.
I copied the tracks folder from the mod and pasted it into the f1 2010 folder,replaced the standard tracks folder and every file i was asked about,worked like a charm for me.

@Slawter:

Don't think so buddy,afaik there's no adjustability at all with pads.
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 05:56 AM   #35
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

is there DX10 support on this game?
also i think Codies will patch this game and fix the pit stop bug and other annoying things as all devs do after a while at least those who care about their game and the consumers.

so back to the thing if i get a good time on a track and i race the ghost over and over i canīt beast it no matter how good i drive or bad
i still canīt beat it is that a bug too?
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 06:52 AM   #36
Cream
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 330
Default Re: Official F1 2010 Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy sung View Post
I copied the tracks folder from the mod and pasted it into the f1 2010 folder,replaced the standard tracks folder and every file i was asked about,worked like a charm for me.

@Slawter:

Don't think so buddy,afaik there's no adjustability at all with pads.


Doh, I see what I did wrong, I just replaced the whole folder. I guess that just goes to show you shouldn't do these things when tired :-).
__________________
Coolermaster RC-1000 Cosmos/1000W Corsair HX Series
ASUS P6T Deluxe - Intel i7 920 @ 3600Mhz.
Sapphire HD 6990 4gb
6GB (3x2GB) Corsair Dominator DDR3, PC3-12800 (1600) CAS 8-8-8-24
500 GB Samsung Spinpoint F1/30GB solid state OCZ Core Series V2 SSD
LG GGC-H20L
Razer copperhead
HP LP2475W
Windows 7 home Premium 64

Xbox 360 : panny 42" 1080p plasma : Denon 5.1 DHT-1356XP
Cream is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ1998 - 2014, nV News.