Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-10, 05:27 AM   #1
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Guys I have a weird issue

Well it seems my new SSD or the WD HD I recently got are not the issue. But it seems weird so maybe one of you all will have a solution. After about 20-30 minutes of use usually surfing the web (with mozilla and adblock enabled) the system will start to hang, as if something is going on like a program is loading. But nothing is loading or opening, it's like something on the motherboard is being shut off, but yet with the new SSD I shut off all the power options that would turn something off.

So it's weird, it's not an HD issue which I thought it was, so help me to eliminate this issue! Could it be ram, or mobo-proc, or PSU? I don't know...video card!?
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 05:50 AM   #2
Vardant
 
Vardant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: EU
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: Guys I have a weird issue

Is it a random pause of 3-4 seconds? If so, then it's Windows 7. I think there's a fix for it now.
Vardant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 07:46 AM   #3
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Guys I have a weird issue

Kind of hard to tell from your sig which hdd is your boot disc, but if it's the SSD you have indexing and search disabled? Verified TRIM is on?

If so, use process hacker to make sure nothing is running hidden that you don't want.

EDIT: Also check out this thread.
http://social.answers.microsoft.com/...9-d4225bb9526d

Disabling HID access in services also seems to clear up some problems on occasion.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 02:13 PM   #4
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Guys I have a weird issue

Grey, I have those disabled, but the same issue ocurred on my WD hd, so its not a hd issue at all. The issue requires I hard reboot the system. Its like it never comes out of a process its trying to do. I wonder if it could be spyware doc. Ill do some more testing tonight.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 06:20 PM   #5
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Guys I have a weird issue

Oooh... I had something similar happen.

For the life of me I couldn't figure out what it was... untill I checked my RAM usage and noticed all 4GB near full, and my pagefile getting heavy use.

Used the processes tab in task manager to see what was eating up all my RAM and virtual memory- the WMP networking service, it's used to share your media between computers, was the guilty party.

This service is enabled by default, whether your on a network w/homegroup or not. Check to see if that is what's going on. Might be something entirely different, but I had the exact same thing happening- system just came to a crawl doing basic stuff. Disabling this service fixed it for me.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 09:33 PM   #6
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Guys I have a weird issue

Well I *think* I figured it out, but I'm gonna test out the fix. Spyware doctor's behavior guard is really glitchy with a lot of programs, so I disabled it. It seems to be working because I've been doing lots of things for a long while and nothing so far.

Is there a way to verify indexing, search, and all the other stuff is not running? I can't find ready boost, so what I did was disable superfetch.
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-10, 10:26 PM   #7
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: Guys I have a weird issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by v3rninater View Post
Well I *think* I figured it out, but I'm gonna test out the fix. Spyware doctor's behavior guard is really glitchy with a lot of programs, so I disabled it. It seems to be working because I've been doing lots of things for a long while and nothing so far.

Is there a way to verify indexing, search, and all the other stuff is not running? I can't find ready boost, so what I did was disable superfetch.
Had a feeling it was some piece of software that was just hogging up resources. Superfetch = readyboost in Win7.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-10, 12:27 AM   #8
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Guys I have a weird issue

I don't suggest disabling indexing/searching on SSDs but rather just limiting it to a few select locations (Outlook, Start Menu, Users). The search bar in the start menu uses it and it's a requirement to have indexing enabled I believe for searching in Outlook (if you use that for email). Readyboost and Superfetch should already be configured appropriately when Win7 detects it's running on a SSD.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.