Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-10, 07:14 AM   #25
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: HALP!

i installed FC again a few months ago with some texture update or something like that but some textures are screwy.

so, 1.32 patch and the 64bit patch together is what we would want? i'm a bit confused ...
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-10, 07:20 AM   #26
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Hmm... now just to figure out how to get it working.

Did a quick google search and found an article about the 64 bit edition and 1.4 patch. Apparently you're not supposed to install both. But this doesn't seem right, I could have sworn I had both working before- and for the games' age it did look rather incredible.

thats true, the trick to it if i remember was that you installed one of the patches, i believe it was the 1.4 beta and then you copy over (not install) the texture and map files from the hdr patch.

something that like.

google information how to run HDR patch on 32bit processor and you will find the info.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-10, 06:40 PM   #27
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
For a second there, I thought Redeemed had his Steam account stolen again.

As for the problem, no idea what you need. Sorry.
Ya'll know what a mexican tatoo is? *clicks spurs on ground*

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Beg to differ, as that's the one I dl'd. From there as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viral View Post
FarCry is probably the only game that has a noticable visual impact from ATI using FP16 rendering in some older titles.

http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/Feature/...-nvidia.aspx/4

It's really a non-issue as far as I'm concerned except for in FarCry where little things like the water edges do appear noticable. Try turning off catAI for farcry and see if that solves any other issues as well. Performance will drop but you should be able to run it maxed out with full AA/AF anyway.
I have no idea wth you just said...but I'll try disable Cat A.I.

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Reinstall without the HDR patch, it's a trouble maker and quite frankly doesn't add to the experience much even if it does work.
http://www.tweakguides.com/Farcry_4.html



For 64 bit, don't install the 1.4 patch.



Great game imo, enjoy.
Does the 64-bit patch add HDR? I can't remember.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
thats true, the trick to it if i remember was that you installed one of the patches, i believe it was the 1.4 beta and then you copy over (not install) the texture and map files from the hdr patch.

something that like.

google information how to run HDR patch on 32bit processor and you will find the info.
This is the difficulty of it all... my computer is in my trailer where I don't have internet access... yet. Having to "research" this using my buddy's rig, dl whatever I need to to a flash drive and transfer it to mine.

Ah- the joys of livin' in the country.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-10, 06:52 PM   #28
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: HALP!

http://www.techenclave.com/gaming/fa...de-114139.html

That walk through seems very helpful- I think grey linked to it.

Gonna' give it a go and see if I can get it working.

Guess you just dl up to 1.33 or whatever, install the 64 bit patch and 64 bit extra content, then via notepad you can force HDR rendering. Seems rather straight forward.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-10, 06:56 PM   #29
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post

Beg to differ, as that's the one I dl'd. From there as well.
I've used it 3 times now.

-Install game
-update to 1.33 or what ever the last patch is before 1.4.
-install DocSEAL's patch
-install 64bit content

Worked for me no problems there cowboy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-10, 07:04 PM   #30
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
I've used it 3 times now.

-Install game
-update to 1.33 or what ever the last patch is before 1.4.
-install DocSEAL's patch
-install 64bit content

Worked for me no problems there cowboy.
Wow- ignorant me.

I dl'd the "official" 1.4 patch from filefront... or maybe it was file planet... one of 'em.

My bad bro.

I may have to give this a try as well. Thanks buddy!
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-10, 07:07 PM   #31
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Wow- ignorant me.

I dl'd the "official" 1.4 patch from filefront... or maybe it was file planet... one of 'em.

My bad bro.

I may have to give this a try as well. Thanks buddy!
I should have mentioned it's only if enemies can "see" you through walls. If you don't have that problem (which you shouldn't before official 1.4 patch) then you don't need DocSEAL's patch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-10, 11:03 PM   #32
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
I have no idea wth you just said...but I'll try disable Cat A.I.
Read the article I linked to or at least just the page I linked to. it shows that Catalyst AI breaks some minor things visually in FarCry. Good thing to at least be aware of IMO.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-05-10, 03:48 PM   #33
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: HALP!

Where can I find the executable for the 64-bit extra content pack? Fileshack and filefront are the only two sites that seem to have it... but when I download it it's not an executable... it's an unknown file.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-10, 04:31 PM   #34
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Where can I find the executable for the 64-bit extra content pack? Fileshack and filefront are the only two sites that seem to have it... but when I download it it's not an executable... it's an unknown file.
add .exe in the end of the file's name.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-10, 04:43 PM   #35
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by dikinher View Post
add .exe in the end of the file's name.
Sarcasm... or was the extension really left off?
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-10, 04:47 PM   #36
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: HALP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
Sarcasm... or was the extension really left off?
Not sure. But sometimes I download patches that are unknown files on my PC for some reason. When I add .exe to the name of the file, they become accessible. It's worth a shot.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.