Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-22-10, 01:35 PM   #1
LostinSpacetime
Registered User
 
LostinSpacetime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Question Performance drop after a while with GT240

Hello. I'm using the 260.19.12 driver with Ubuntu 10.10. After a while of usage(compiz), the performance drops dramatically. However, it is rather easy to fix with a restart of compiz, or a simple "nvidia-settings -l". It's still annoying having to do this every hour of usage. Does anyone else experience this?
LostinSpacetime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-10, 01:51 PM   #2
LostinSpacetime
Registered User
 
LostinSpacetime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Performance drop after a while with GT240

This is the bugreport while everything works. I will make another one when the problem occurs.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (63.3 KB, 64 views)
LostinSpacetime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-10, 04:46 PM   #3
LostinSpacetime
Registered User
 
LostinSpacetime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Performance drop after a while with GT240

Ok.. this is the bug report while performance was really bad. However, after running the script the performance was good again, probably because nvidia-settings has been run in script.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (50.4 KB, 59 views)
LostinSpacetime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-10, 05:59 PM   #4
dura91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Near Paris France
Posts: 40
Default Re: Performance drop after a while with GT240

Does VT-switching (CTrl+Alt+F1, CTrl+Alt+F7) change anything when performance is bad?
dura91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-10, 03:02 PM   #5
LostinSpacetime
Registered User
 
LostinSpacetime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: Performance drop after a while with GT240

Quote:
Originally Posted by dura91 View Post
Does VT-switching (CTrl+Alt+F1, CTrl+Alt+F7) change anything when performance is bad?
Actually after VT-switching the desktop is not usable with compiz. It freezes for seconds on every action. This however is probably another bug.
LostinSpacetime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.