Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-17-10, 03:43 PM   #13
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

If it cant do 700, RMA
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-10, 03:44 PM   #14
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
If it cant do 700 its broken,
Thats whats weird here, it doesn't behave like its broken when testing it just slows down.
You would expect artifacts, ans crashing?
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-10, 04:21 PM   #15
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

what happens when you keep the memory stock and just raise the core/shaders
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-10, 04:23 PM   #16
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

I have got it.
My power supply is too weak.

It is just an Artic 550watt

I removed one stick of ram
unplugged case lights
unplugged dvd writer

and hay presto got it running 700mhz core clock.

So my power supply is holding it back.

Will need to wait a while to get a better one.

Comments welcome.
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-10, 05:30 PM   #17
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
I have got it.
My power supply is too weak.

It is just an Artic 550watt

I removed one stick of ram
unplugged case lights
unplugged dvd writer

and hay presto got it running 700mhz core clock.

So my power supply is holding it back.

Will need to wait a while to get a better one.

Comments welcome.
Just curious what your ram is running at bro - I'm glad you found a solution, but what you pulled would barely draw any amperage at all.

Just for troubleshooting purposes I would plug the ram back in, see if the oc stays stable, then the DVD and so on.

The reason I bring this up is the experience I had with mine and mullet pointed out that fans plugged into the mobo could cause problems. he was right.

Just curious is all, and it may save you the cost of a new PSU.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-10, 03:32 PM   #18
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

how much juice is supplied via the pci-e slot itself?

and how much can a mobo supply to parts in total?


Have Drolfrawd's motherboard voltage regulators been put under undue strain?

**** like that I'd like to know , Who knows? I don't know.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-10, 07:31 PM   #19
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Sorry i missed the this brothers. It does seem a bit odd, I have a water cooler plugged for my cpu. Just going to shut down and check where it is plugged in.
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-10, 03:51 AM   #20
batterbrain101
"TAZ LIKE!"
 
batterbrain101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA
Posts: 191
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

You should try for the clock on the EVGA GTX 260 SC, here's a screen of mine:



GPU2 is running a F@H client right now, hence the higher temp.

That's your's in the background. I wonder if the have the same memory chips, etc.

If it's slowing down it's probably because of the extra heat being generated. The cards will throttle back to prevent damage, artifacts and craching. Of cousre your using Afterburner so you would see if they are hich. Probably need more voltage too to sustain the higher clocks. Mines at 1.1800v using GPU-Z to read it.

__________________
] My village called, their Idiot is missing!

My rig:
Asus Maximus VI Hero
Intel i7 4770K@ 4.2 GHz
16GB G-Skill Trident X DDR3 2400 Ram
Corsair 750HX "Silver Certified" PSU
Corsair H70 Hydro CPU Cooler
2x PNY GTX 770 OC2 4GB in SLI
180 GB Intel 520 SSD
2 TB Barracuda HD, 2 TB WD Caviar Green
Logitech G-510 Keyboard
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
3 Samsung 24" LED SyncMaster Monitors

batterbrain101 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 11-21-10, 04:13 AM   #21
batterbrain101
"TAZ LIKE!"
 
batterbrain101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spokane, Washington, USA
Posts: 191
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
I have got it.
My power supply is too weak.

It is just an Artic 550watt

I removed one stick of ram
unplugged case lights
unplugged dvd writer

and hay presto got it running 700mhz core clock.

So my power supply is holding it back.

Will need to wait a while to get a better one.

Comments welcome.
Just noticed this part, lol.

I'm using a Corsair HX750W with 2 EVGA GTX260's in SLI and it barely breaks a sweat even with my overclock on the CPU. There not cheap, It's $149 at newegg:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139010

the HX620W also has great reviews on the net, $119 at newegg:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139012

Both have a 7 year warranty (manufactured by Seasonic) and are modular. I have used these in more than a few builds for friends also and no problems have ever surfaced. Like I said though, they're not a cheap solution, just a good one.

Corsair also has the new VX series, non modular, 5 yr warranty(manufactured by CTW), 80+ efficiiency rating and out of stock, lol. Looks like they only go to 550W anyway, I just did a build for a friend using one of these and they are pretty solid, it was $89 at the time.

Hope that helps.

__________________
] My village called, their Idiot is missing!

My rig:
Asus Maximus VI Hero
Intel i7 4770K@ 4.2 GHz
16GB G-Skill Trident X DDR3 2400 Ram
Corsair 750HX "Silver Certified" PSU
Corsair H70 Hydro CPU Cooler
2x PNY GTX 770 OC2 4GB in SLI
180 GB Intel 520 SSD
2 TB Barracuda HD, 2 TB WD Caviar Green
Logitech G-510 Keyboard
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit
3 Samsung 24" LED SyncMaster Monitors

batterbrain101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-10, 04:42 AM   #22
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

The conclusion was I thought ,the fans and lights plugged into the mobo drain up the available power for the pci-e slot so no matter what psu you have If you have a load of junk in your mobo fan headers the graphics card wont get enough juice.

Mine locks up (no artefacts/errors) over 720 core linked so I might give it a go.

Would be a lot easier if all my headers were controllable



No wait.. that was the other thread..
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-10, 02:18 PM   #23
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Ok so i plugged all my memory and drives back in , the other thing was that grey mentioned to check my fans. I have a watercooled cpu cooler with a fan mounted on the radiator. The radiator power was coming from a system fan header.
I have moved ther cpu pump and the fan to the headers 3 and 4 pin at the cpu.
Not sure if this has made much of a difference, but below i have posted my Afterburner settings which are stable.

[IMG][/IMG][url=http://img139.imageshack.us/i/currentsettings.jpg/]
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-10, 02:36 PM   #24
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: GTX260 Overclock

Quote:
Originally Posted by batterbrain101 View Post
You should try for the clock on the EVGA GTX 260 SC, here's a screen of mine:



GPU2 is running a F@H client right now, hence the higher temp.

That's your's in the background. I wonder if the have the same memory chips, etc.

If it's slowing down it's probably because of the extra heat being generated. The cards will throttle back to prevent damage, artifacts and craching. Of cousre your using Afterburner so you would see if they are hich. Probably need more voltage too to sustain the higher clocks. Mines at 1.1800v using GPU-Z to read it.

You are spot on with the temps being the problem for the slow down of the frame rate, saved the settings to a profile increased the fan to 100% and now i have a much bigger overclock.

[IMG][url=http://img19.imageshack.us/i/fastestsofar.jpg/]
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.