Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-10, 12:08 PM   #1
Kain
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 1,264
Default Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

Used the computer for about 10 days after a fresh format of Windows Vista 64-bit (and after installing all the drivers/programs).

Is this normal or too high for idle RAM usage after 10 days of use?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Idle RAM usage.jpg
Views:	707
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	41762  
Kain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-10, 12:42 PM   #2
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

That's about right. Vista is a memory hog.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-10, 03:48 PM   #3
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

Yea mine is at 1.75 with a ton of p0r- i mean, homework-related programs open.....
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-10, 04:49 PM   #4
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

Vista has a young brother call Windows ME , both are weird and sucky
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-10, 04:51 PM   #5
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

PRonwork, Bob?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-10, 12:12 PM   #6
Lyme
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,682
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

That is right, and it is appropriate. People in general have the wrong impression about what should happen when a computer is idle, they expect that during that time it will swap out everything possible to disk to leave the most ram available as possible. The question is: why? What that does is forces things to be loaded back into ram when you start using the pc again, and as the pc was idle (not being used) why not fill up the ram for optimal usage.

My preference is to have as much loaded into fast ram than swapped out on slow disk.
Lyme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-11, 01:21 AM   #7
og-phantom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 31
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kain View Post
Used the computer for about 10 days after a fresh format of Windows Vista 64-bit (and after installing all the drivers/programs).

Is this normal or too high for idle RAM usage after 10 days of use?
Same vista (64bit Ult), mine is at 1.32GB out of 8GB being used...So your about right. I have steam running also, nothing else...
__________________
XFX 780i P04 bios / C2Q Q6600 @ 2.4GHz [ 266x9] / 8GB OCZ 800MHz DDR2 / EVGA 8800 GTX / SB Audigy 2 ZS / 2x320GB WD SATA IIs [Vista boot drive] / 2x1TB Seagate SATAIIs [Data drive] / 2x500GB WD SATAIIs [Game Drive] / External 400GB WD on USB / External WD 250GB on USB / Memorex 530L on PATA / Liteon DH-20A4H PATA / External LG Burner [16x] w/Lightscribe / Antec 650Watt Trio / Generic Black Floppy Drive / CoolerMaster CMSTACKER case / Samsung SyncMaster 206BW DVI LCD / Windows Vista Ultimate x64
og-phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-11, 02:49 AM   #8
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

Have you disabled Superfetch? If not, you should
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-17-11, 06:50 AM   #9
HiCZoK4
 
HiCZoK4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Poland
Posts: 3,467
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

:O
This seems way too much... I am not using vista for 2 years now, but I remember it was around 700 at max for me.
Windows 7 is 500-600 on my pc.

so 1500 is way too much imo, even If You are running some backgrounbd stuff
HiCZoK4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-11, 08:10 AM   #10
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

If you have loads of free RAM, the OS will keeps some of the things you loaded then closed in the memory for faster loading next time, until that memory space is required elsewhere, in which case it is freed up for use. After a couple of days of being on, my rig can show over 2Gb in use and that's with W7.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-11, 08:28 AM   #11
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme View Post
That is right, and it is appropriate. People in general have the wrong impression about what should happen when a computer is idle, they expect that during that time it will swap out everything possible to disk to leave the most ram available as possible. The question is: why? What that does is forces things to be loaded back into ram when you start using the pc again, and as the pc was idle (not being used) why not fill up the ram for optimal usage.

My preference is to have as much loaded into fast ram than swapped out on slow disk.
+1
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-11, 03:48 PM   #12
tweaked
Crazed Crack Head
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 275
Default Re: Is this "normal" RAM usage at idle in Windows Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyme View Post
That is right, and it is appropriate. People in general have the wrong impression about what should happen when a computer is idle, they expect that during that time it will swap out everything possible to disk to leave the most ram available as possible. The question is: why? What that does is forces things to be loaded back into ram when you start using the pc again, and as the pc was idle (not being used) why not fill up the ram for optimal usage.

My preference is to have as much loaded into fast ram than swapped out on slow disk.
+1
tweaked is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.