Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-10, 02:43 PM   #13
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

I told you to use the regular 3x3 or 4x4 SSAA mode based on Ordered grid super sampling and not the Sparsegrid type. 1. You get a slightly blurry image by using SGSSAA and also its the most demanding of the techniques.

Tip. Get the 1.9.4.1 version of NVIDIA Inspector instead of the latest, it has better menus and overall easier to manage and select different AA and SSAA modes.

Dunno why SLI wont work properly in Hl2 for you. For me it did, when i had my dual 8800 cards...
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-10, 04:48 PM   #14
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

I suppose you need a real beefy card to use these AA modes? 4x is playable for me in Crysis but how do these AA 3x3 modes fair?
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-10, 04:49 AM   #15
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

if u can run 4xAA you should be able to do 2x2 SSAA pretty ok. 3x3 SSAA and you will need an SLI or CF setup. I have the GTX 295, similar to a GTX 480 and i can do 2x2 with about 25 - 35 fps which is fine for me. Also depends on what res you run on.

But with your 9800gtx i dont know, it's a weak card lol. You prolly have to lower game settings if u wanna do 2x2 SSAA.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-10, 07:46 AM   #16
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

I wouldn't expect this card to run Crysis with high AA modes, since it's more mid range of it's series. Just Cause 2 runs pretty well with 8xAA on though.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-10, 01:41 AM   #17
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Just cause 2 graphics isn't comparable to the one in Crysis...
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-10, 09:05 AM   #18
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

True but it's one of the more intensive games out there. I cannot run it smooth with high shadows, very high object details and CUDA water all the NVIDIA extra graphics settings on.

I think the high resolution shadows and CUDA water are on par with Crysis but that's about it but still a very good looking game.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-10, 11:44 AM   #19
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Thats because youe card sucks. I have no problem running just cause 2 on max, except for AA, must lower to 4, or i get framedrop. But sure, comparable to crysis it¨'s fairly the same when it comes to performance. Still, crysis loooks much better so i guess JC2 is the game that is bad optimized, not crysis like everyone said.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-10, 12:24 PM   #20
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Clearly it's pointless talking to you in a respectable manor, if you're going to call other peoples hardware. My card plays all my games just fine and you should respect that but we know you're very narrow minded because according to you, anything below your own cards sucks, you don't take into account budgets.

You have 2 GTX295 cards, of course JC2 isn't an issue on full settings.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-20-10, 02:02 PM   #21
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

I dont have 2 gtx295s i have ONE. And yes, i run just cause 2 fine.

Why do u get pissed when i tell your card sucks? It does, it's an old card by todays standards.

um.. All cards under mine doesn't suck. But GTX 250 does, or shall we call it. GTX 9800 which it actually is. It's not a fast card anymore if u push the graphics in new games.

Am not narrow minded, am very adaptive.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-10, 02:26 PM   #22
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

You don't recognised the fact the GTS250 is good for any game at 1440x900 at it's price. It maybe a re-branded 9800GTX but it's no weak card for today's games.

There is no other NVIDIA card that beats a GTS250 at it's price point and you cannot get a GTX260 for £80. I don't see how you can justify saying the card is crap when it beat it's competition at it's price point and closely kept up with a Radeon HD 4870.

Sorry, but your definition of "crap" is flawed.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 08:26 AM   #23
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Ok, youre right in the matter that gts250 is sufficient for most games today at that res. But if u wanna push the graphics and antialiasing in games like crysis and metro, then we will have a problem.

I had a gtx8800 before, and i upgraded to GTx295 because i thought the card wasn't sufficient for me. And now, at the end of 2010, this card is not sufficient anymore, so am gonna upgrade after new year.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-10, 08:35 AM   #24
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Custom config + 1900X1200 + 8xQ AA + 16 AF = 60FPS 4 me

Yep, true about AA in Crysis, this card really struggles with 4xAA. I'm setting my sights on a GTX460 next, since the price Vs performance is good and I'm on a budget.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.