Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Poll: Which receiver shoud I get ???
Poll Options
Which receiver shoud I get ???

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-19-10, 12:03 PM   #1
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default New receiver

Help me decide on my new HT receiver, I have picked out three that are in my price range.

1/ Yamaha RX-A1000

2/ Marantz SR 6005

3/ Pioneer Elite SC-35


__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-10, 05:49 PM   #2
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: New receiver

any setup information?

ie:

how many zones do you plan on setting up?

what kind of source components do you have? (all hdmi, all component, htpc, etc)

do you need bluetooth adapter, rf devices, only ir?

without knowing detailed information it's a tough choice because foundationally there isn't too much that separates these.

also, you'll need to look into some of the details of some of the receivers since I believe the pioneer doesn't have volume osd (which is pathetic at this price point).

if you have some time you should check out some of the owner threads at avs forums to get users feedback. ideally you should try to find a local shop that will let you demo the units at home for a few days and see which one is the best for you.
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-10, 09:01 PM   #3
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: New receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imbroglio View Post
any setup information?

ie:

how many zones do you plan on setting up?

what kind of source components do you have? (all hdmi, all component, htpc, etc)

do you need bluetooth adapter, rf devices, only ir?

without knowing detailed information it's a tough choice because foundationally there isn't too much that separates these.

also, you'll need to look into some of the details of some of the receivers since I believe the pioneer doesn't have volume osd (which is pathetic at this price point).

if you have some time you should check out some of the owner threads at avs forums to get users feedback. ideally you should try to find a local shop that will let you demo the units at home for a few days and see which one is the best for you.
I will probably have a PS3 and or a Blu Ray player (not 3D), SVS sub, my speakers are all in-wall Jamo...had the rears installed last night, and I think I just might have found a NIB Pioneer Kuro . I will be using HDMI 1.3 or 1.4 cables(probably audioquest Pearl)

This is a whole new set up, I've looked at ALL of the 2010 model TV's and I'm not impressed with any of them to be honest.

I'm probably 1/2 % of the population that wont settle for anything less than a Kuro picture in a TV I'm very picky when it comes to video and not so much with audio.

I really like how the Marantz looks BTW.

__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-10, 03:33 PM   #4
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: New receiver

You cant go wrong with any of them. I own a RXA-1000, on a hdmi 1.4 3D setup (on a Pana VT25).
I agree that the Marantz has the looks and the sound quality is probably very good too.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-10, 04:37 PM   #5
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: New receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by lduguay View Post
You cant go wrong with any of them. I own a RXA-1000, on a hdmi 1.4 3D setup (on a Pana VT25).
I agree that the Marantz has the looks and the sound quality is probably very good too.
How do you like the VT25 ? I was looking at the VT series but I have found a Pioneer Kuro locally that I'm very interested in. Yes the Marantz looks awesome, check out the BluRay player.

__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-10, 06:57 PM   #6
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: New receiver

After much research I've decided on the Yamaha RX-A2000
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-10, 07:07 PM   #7
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New receiver

Those receivers are much higher end than what I have but I have to say I love my Yamaha RX-V467 receiver a lot.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-10, 10:55 PM   #8
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: New receiver

Lee is on his wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-23-10, 11:26 PM   #9
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: New receiver

I need to figure out how the PS3 slim streams Netflix....I guess its some kind of disk thing ??? anyone know ?
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-10, 01:00 AM   #10
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: New receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
I need to figure out how the PS3 slim streams Netflix....I guess its some kind of disk thing ??? anyone know ?
I don't think so (unless it's different from the PS3 fat).

A couple updates ago added a native Netflix app just like 360's. Works great and finally has a search feature.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-10, 01:46 AM   #11
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: New receiver

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
I don't think so (unless it's different from the PS3 fat).

A couple updates ago added a native Netflix app just like 360's. Works great and finally has a search feature.
This is what I'm talking about, I guess they must have updated it though.

http://www.joystiq.com/2009/10/26/ne...l-2010-update/

Edit: it was updated http://blog.netflix.com/2010/10/wii-...disc-free.html
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-10, 07:06 AM   #12
Imbroglio
xeroyphyte
 
Imbroglio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,271
Default Re: New receiver

yeah, when/if you updated your firmware to latest, there is a netflix program icon under the movies/video category. click on that and it will install and allow you to enter your user name.

also, voted for the marantz
__________________

HT: 360 -- Sony60A3000 -- Onkyo SR605 --> Polk cs2, monitor 60s and monitor 40s w/ Bic F12 sub -- PS3
XBL:Mr X3r0 -- PSN:Mr_X3r0

Rig- Asus P6X58D Premium - intel i7 920 @3.6 - EVGA GTX570 - Corsair HX1000 - Prolimatech Mega Shadow - WD640 - COOLER MASTER ATCS 840 - OCZ Gold 6GB DDR3 1600*

Imbroglio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.