Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-11, 10:09 PM   #37
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
Well I assume it's just like what Asus did with the Ares or whatever it was.
Maybe, maybe not. Only time will tell. For now i'm hoping it is an Nvidia reference board.


I know this is Fudzilla (so it well might not be true) but if it is.

http://www.fudzilla.com/graphics/ite...-first-gtx-595
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 01:22 PM   #38
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,190
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
You mean AMD cards?

Did that with the last two generations, each time with the top end dual-GPU card.
Lessons learned
amen to that. had the 4870x2 and 5970 just like you.
__________________
gigabyte ga-z87x-ud3h, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel xeon e3-1245v3 3.4 ghz quad core cpu, zotac gtx 770 amp 2gb 2 way sli,2x ocz agility 3 90gb ssd in raid 0,rosewill 750 watt 80 plus platinum psu,antec gx 700 case, lg 14x bluray writer,windows 8.1 64 bit pro, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,asus vg278he 27' 144hz 3d vision 2 lcd monitor, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard, zalman eclipse 8200dpi mouse,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,adata 16gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sb recon 3d pci-e sc

Brother's system: Asus p8z77-v lk mb, 8gb of ddr3 1600mhz ram,intel core i7 3770k 3.5 ghz cpu, intel hd 4000 igpu, ,antec earthwatts 650 watt 80 plus platinum psu,cooler master 3500 dpi spawn mouse, ican keyboard, logitech ls120 2.0 speakers, cooler master elite 343 matx case, corsair force 3 90gb ssd, pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, acer g215hv 21.5' 1080p monitor,kingston usb 2.0 8gb flash drive,win 8.0 pro 64 bit,onboard realtek audio

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 01:26 PM   #39
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,190
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

from what I have been reading, it's two gf-110's on the card. So, either dual 570's or 580's. I wonder what the memory bandwidth is on this thing? 320x2, 384x2? And if people remember the wiki entry from awhile back, gtx 595 is supposed be released this quarter which is a dual chip card by nvidia reference. Of course EVGA had to be 1st, their nvidia's flagship partner.
__________________
gigabyte ga-z87x-ud3h, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel xeon e3-1245v3 3.4 ghz quad core cpu, zotac gtx 770 amp 2gb 2 way sli,2x ocz agility 3 90gb ssd in raid 0,rosewill 750 watt 80 plus platinum psu,antec gx 700 case, lg 14x bluray writer,windows 8.1 64 bit pro, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,asus vg278he 27' 144hz 3d vision 2 lcd monitor, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard, zalman eclipse 8200dpi mouse,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,adata 16gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sb recon 3d pci-e sc

Brother's system: Asus p8z77-v lk mb, 8gb of ddr3 1600mhz ram,intel core i7 3770k 3.5 ghz cpu, intel hd 4000 igpu, ,antec earthwatts 650 watt 80 plus platinum psu,cooler master 3500 dpi spawn mouse, ican keyboard, logitech ls120 2.0 speakers, cooler master elite 343 matx case, corsair force 3 90gb ssd, pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, acer g215hv 21.5' 1080p monitor,kingston usb 2.0 8gb flash drive,win 8.0 pro 64 bit,onboard realtek audio

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 03:46 PM   #40
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by wheeljack12 View Post
from what I have been reading, it's two gf-110's on the card. So, either dual 570's or 580's. I wonder what the memory bandwidth is on this thing? 320x2, 384x2? And if people remember the wiki entry from awhile back, gtx 595 is supposed be released this quarter which is a dual chip card by nvidia reference. Of course EVGA had to be 1st, their nvidia's flagship partner.
I would truly hope you are right, but I have a feeling it isn't going to be a dual 570 or 580 chips. From what i have heard it would need 3 PCI-e connectors for that.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 04:07 PM   #41
Moshing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 161
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
I would truly hope you are right, but I have a feeling it isn't going to be a dual 570 or 580 chips. From what i have heard it would need 3 PCI-e connectors for that.
Nope, only if they tried to hit the same clocks. But they could be full on 580's reduced in clock speed enough to offset the TDP ceiling.
__________________
Ci7 2600K @5Ghz/8Gb Patriot Viper II/Asus Sabertooth P67/EVGA GTX580 Black Ops/2x Patriot Torqx 128G(OS)/1Tb WD Black
Ci7 920/6Gb Corsair DDR3 1600/GA-EX58-UD3R/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2(OS)/2x 2Tb WD Green
Ci7 860/4Gb Patriot Viper II/EVGA P55 SLI/Radeon HD5870/750Gb Seagate ES.2 (wife's rig)
Moshing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 07:20 PM   #42
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

im playing metro fully maxed out on 2560x1600 with my 5870s lol
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 07:38 PM   #43
mizzer
Is he safe?
 
mizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 102
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
Person 1: Hey, I have the latest super-secret eVGA card: a duel fermi-chip beast!

Person 2: Quick, set it on the dirty kitchen floor so I can take a picture of it!


mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 07:43 PM   #44
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

yeah i wouldn't even try something like that. people are sloppy to me lol
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-09-11, 08:00 PM   #45
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by onmikesline View Post
im playing metro fully maxed out on 2560x1600 with my 5870s lol
5870 is a great card. How many do you have.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 08:07 PM   #46
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
5870 is a great card. How many do you have.
2 in CF, heres an old pic, i just added a new soundcard :0, it towers over my 30''

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_CxxgZsM5qaA/TR...2018.02.00.jpg
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 08:24 PM   #47
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

Quote:
Originally Posted by onmikesline View Post
2 in CF, heres an old pic, i just added a new soundcard :0, it towers over my 30''

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_CxxgZsM5qaA/TR...2018.02.00.jpg
I really love the look of the 800D. Nice setup you have there
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-11, 08:39 PM   #48
onmikesline
Registered User
 
onmikesline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south florida
Posts: 887
Default Re: And they said it couldn't be done

yeah, they seem like it will hold up for a long time
onmikesline is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.