Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > CPUs, Motherboards And Memory

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-11, 03:07 PM   #1
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default I'd like a Sandy Bridge mobo that wont break the bank

I just worked out the numbers and a SB upgrade would be cheaper than a different C2Q mobo IF I get a decent price for my stuff on eBay and buy the cheapest motherboard....So

Cheap good SB mobo advice please

I'd probably be getting it here
http://www.ebuyer.com/search?sort=pr...imit=10&page=1

Looks like crossfire is out of the question though ,All x16 x4...

Could always upgrade though I guess.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)

Last edited by XDanger; 02-07-11 at 02:15 PM.
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 03:19 PM   #2
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

just get sandy bridge.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 03:27 PM   #3
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

nah I just need a new mobo an SSD and another 6950 and I'm set for the next 12 months.

A few console ports isn't going to push what I have much I don't think, Maybe when the next lot of consoles come out I'll need a PC upgrade...
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 03:28 PM   #4
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

why waste money when you can get a 2500k an board for $300?
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 03:30 PM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
just get sandy bridge.
would the price of a sandy bridge mobo/cpu/ram be worth it, keeping in mind he has a Q9550 now, which is very close to first gen core i7 performance...
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 03:41 PM   #6
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
why waste money when you can get a 2500k an board for $300?
I'd have to do some proper sums to work out if its really worthwhile, How much I'll get for my ram ect...

But then I would be selling my P5Q-pro if I just got a diffrent 775 mobo so not that much fresh money would be lost...I dunno.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 03:44 PM   #7
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
would the price of a sandy bridge mobo/cpu/ram be worth it, keeping in mind he has a Q9550 now, which is very close to first gen core i7 performance...
If you want something that is a good amount faster, and uses less power, yes.

Your cpu will be similar to the Q6600, or maybe the x4 645.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/t...2100-tested/20

http://www.anandtech.com/show/4083/t...2100-tested/18
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 04:25 PM   #8
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

If I still had my GTX260 I could near enough try to reproduce the gaming benchmarks but in Warhead for instance with my 6950 I get 93fps at those settings so unless I see something more specific I'm not 100% sold.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-28-11, 04:50 PM   #9
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
If I still had my GTX260 I could near enough try to reproduce the gaming benchmarks but in Warhead for instance with my 6950 I get 93fps at those settings so unless I see something more specific I'm not 100% sold.
Tom's Hardware - Benchmark Memory Bandwitdh: SiSoftware Sandra 2010 Pro (Mem)
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 05:04 PM   #10
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

I guess If I did have a crossfire setup it would be useful but until a game comes along that I like and doesn't play well on what I have I'll be keeping the C2Q like what happened with GTAIV and my e6400,

encoding and the like I don't use that much.

I for one am disappointed Physx hasn't taken off more ,That way I wouldn't need a new CPU for a lot longer...
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 05:07 PM   #11
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

then why do you need two 16x pcie slots if youre only going to have one card. rofl.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 05:17 PM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,723
Default Re: I'd like a new mobo for my C2Q that wont break the bank

I do plan to do crossfire down the line when things in gaming world start to get a bit too jerky for my liking then upgrade the PC a while after that.

I would also like to get as much OCíng out of this Q9550 as I can because I enjoy it not for the end result as much but the process.
__________________
2500K 4.4ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 12gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.