Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-11, 05:26 AM   #1
yossigil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Default Change display from command line.

I frequently use three or four different display configurations: at home, at office, travel and presentation. To tell NVIDIA what I currently use, I need to do:

System/Administrator/NVIDIA X Server Settings
X Server Display Configuration
Detect Displays.

And then, I need to configure the resolution of each display and set the main display, hit Appy, and wait.

Is there a way of doing this in one step from the command line?
yossigil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-11, 07:00 AM   #2
NvFuchs
Registered Fox
 
NvFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 530
Default Re: Change display from command line.

There are multiple possibilities to do so, the most convenient one is to use disper.

It has two switches you might need: -e and -c, it will do everything else for you.

Consult your distribution help / package management in order to find out how to install disper, then bind it to a keyboard shortcut.

Fuchs
NvFuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.