Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-11, 10:37 AM   #1
wheeljack12
Registered User
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada
Posts: 1,200
Send a message via Skype™ to wheeljack12
Default palit 3gb gtx 580 card

http://www.tcmagazine.com/tcm/news/h...onboard-memory
__________________
gigabyte g1.sniper 5 mb, 8gb ddr3-1866 mhz ram in dual channel,intel core i7 4790k 4.0 ghz quad core cpu, asus gtx 780 3gb vc,OCZ vector 150 240 gb ssd x 2 in raid 0 (intel raid),antec hcg-850 850 watt 80 plus bronze psu,corsair carbide 500r white case,pioneer bdr-208 15x bluray writer, steelseries 6gv2 keyboard ,seiki 39 inch 4k tv, logitech g502 mouse ,xbox 360 wired controller for windows,kingston 8gb usb 2.0 flash drive,windows 8.1 64 bit,creative labs sound blaster zxr pci-e sc,logitech s120 2.0 speakers

I'd rather walk with God in the Dark than shine in the light alone.
wheeljack12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-11, 12:04 PM   #2
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

I wonder how much better the fan cooling is compared to the default
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-11, 01:00 PM   #3
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Uh this is nice:

Tri-SLI with 3x30" user feedback:

http://www.evga.com/forums/tm.aspx?h...mpage=1#833917
Interesting and beasty cards.

Though it kind of seems that 3gb is overkill for the card. I think they need a much faster card for 3gb vram. On metro when he could get it to use 2gb+ it was unplayable. Then when he dropped it to playable settings the vram usage was below 2gb.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-11, 01:19 PM   #4
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
3GB is the easiest method to increase the memory for a 580 card. That's why they went with 3GB.

Of course more GPU power is necessary as well. That's the beauty of a 3x30" setup - it eats GPUs for breakfast and you're always in the need for the next best thing
Yeah, thats what I didn't like about the 580 in the first place. 1.5GB wasn't much of an increase over my 1gb 5870s so I was forced to go with 2gb 6970's pretty much. Now they have the 3gb that you can't even use. From one extreme to the other pretty much. Oh well, they are still great cards.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-11, 01:41 PM   #5
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
3GB is the easiest method to increase the memory for a 580 card. That's why they went with 3GB.

Of course more GPU power is necessary as well. That's the beauty of a 3x30" setup - it eats GPUs for breakfast and you're always in the need for the next best thing
I found this too.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=266367
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-11, 11:09 PM   #6
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Nice find!

Looks like the perfect solution for such a display setup, for now.
Can't wait to get mine. They should be available next week but I somehow doubt that...
Except for the fact that he used the 263.09 drivers. I found these to be a bit buggy. The 266.58 are faster and better drivers. If he was going to use the latest ATI drivers, he should have done the same with Nvida's as well. Other than thta it is a very good article. Just love the portrait mode.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-11, 11:26 AM   #7
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
Except for the fact that he used the 263.09 drivers. I found these to be a bit buggy. The 266.58 are faster and better drivers. If he was going to use the latest ATI drivers, he should have done the same with Nvida's as well. Other than thta it is a very good article. Just love the portrait mode.
10.12a doesn't even officially support the 6970's. Only driver that does is 11.1a so far. It was fair for nVidia if you ask me, not ATI.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-11, 10:44 PM   #8
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
10.12a doesn't even officially support the 6970's. Only driver that does is 11.1a so far. It was fair for nVidia if you ask me, not ATI.
Yeah, but the 263.09 where the first 580 drivers and not very good at that either. At least the ATI drivers where up to date.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-08-11, 11:42 AM   #9
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Cards are now listed So I've ordered three Palit 3GBs, a Rampage III Extreme to run them and a ASUS Xonar D2X because I now need a PCIe based soundcard.

If I'm lucky, I'll get the stuff early next week.
can you buy me some waterblocks for my 6970's?
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 12:01 PM   #10
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Why would I do that?
You, apparently, don't have a shortage of cash.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 12:41 PM   #11
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Why would I do that?
cuz you <3 me
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-11, 11:12 PM   #12
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: palit 3gb gtx 580 card

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Cards are now listed So I've ordered three Palit 3GBs, a Rampage III Extreme to run them and a ASUS Xonar D2X because I now need a PCIe based soundcard.

If I'm lucky, I'll get the stuff early next week.
That's awesome. I can't wait to see your results.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.