Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: what should i buy
6970 15 55.56%
560 11 40.74%
edited by dd 1 3.70%
Voters: 27. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-11, 12:48 AM   #13
Viral
Registered User of Women
 
Viral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Honestly from what I've seen I think ATI area ahead on the multi monitor front. I would have to recommend the 6970 just because of that alone.
__________________
Q9550 w/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme | 4GB Team Xtreme Dark 800MHz CL4 | Gigabyte X48-DS5
ASUS Radeon 5870 | 240GB OCZ Vertex 2 | 1TB WD Green Power | BenQ V2400W 24" LCD
Corsair HX-1000w | LG GGW-H20L 6x DL Blu-Ray Burner/HD-DVD Reader | Coolermaster Cosmos S

Acer TravelMate 4002WNLCi: Pentium M 725 @ 1.6GHz | Mobility Radeon 9700/64MB | 2GB DDR400 | 15.4" WXGA
Viral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 11:15 AM   #14
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
Can you name an example please?

I think both companies are equal in that regard. nV Surround is even easier to set up.
nV Surround requires 2 cards. Eyefinity doesn't.

AMD/ATI claims the victory on the multi-monitor front.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 12:35 PM   #15
Rollo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
That's a superb feature for 2D multi-monitoring like those 3 or 6 screen setups for the financial sector.

For gaming, a single card doesn't really cut it in my opinion.
I agree with this.

However, I don't think you can do this with NVIDIA surround:

http://www.nvidia.com/object/3dv-sys...echnology.html

Will the 2007s have the same sync polarity as the 3007? For sure they don't all have a common resolution.

I doubt this works with NVIDIA products, but will forward to them. If it does on a 6970, that would be the choice.
__________________
Rig1:
intel 990X + 2 X EVGA 3GB GTX580 + 3 X Acer GD235Hz
3D Vision Surround

Rig 2:
intel 2500K + NVIDIA GTX590 + Dell 3007 WFPHC

[SIZE="1"]NVIDIA Focus Group Member
[B]NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.[/B][/SIZE]
Rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 02:03 PM   #16
mizzer
Is he safe?
 
mizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 102
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Neither.

2x 570's in SLI.

http://www.buy.com/prod/pny-vcggtx57...219054400.html
mizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 02:08 PM   #17
mcbacker
McBacker
 
mcbacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 302
Send a message via MSN to mcbacker
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mizzer View Post
Best cost-benefity ever and without CROSSFIRE issues!
__________________
Motherboard - ASUS P6T DLX V2
CPU - Core i7 920 D0 @ 4.200Mhz (1.28 @ BIOS) WaterCooled by Swiftech Apex Ultima XT
Video - NVidia EVGA GTX 570 SLI
Memory - 3 x 2GB OCZ PLATINUM (7-7-7-24 1T) (1.7v)
Sound - Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech X-530
Storage - SSD VERTEX 2 60GB + Seagate 1.5TB + 3 x Seagate 500GB (Raid 0)
Power Supply - Corsair HX1000W 80A
Display - TV LCD Samsung 32'' LN32A550 FULL HD
Case - Corsair Obsidian 700D
OS - Windows 7 x64 Ultimate

mcbacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 02:17 PM   #18
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

I have a deal pending on 6970's right now, we shall see what happens.

I did set a budget this time around, I feel i'm growing old; And really Nvidia priced itself out of the competition imo (for me this go around at least).
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 06:04 PM   #19
Rollo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

NVIDIA guys say they haven't tested this config, so no guarantees on it working.

I'm sticking to my 6970 recommendation for those who wish to span three 2007FPs in portrait with a 3008.
__________________
Rig1:
intel 990X + 2 X EVGA 3GB GTX580 + 3 X Acer GD235Hz
3D Vision Surround

Rig 2:
intel 2500K + NVIDIA GTX590 + Dell 3007 WFPHC

[SIZE="1"]NVIDIA Focus Group Member
[B]NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.[/B][/SIZE]
Rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 10:00 PM   #20
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rollo View Post
NVIDIA guys say they haven't tested this config, so no guarantees on it working.

I'm sticking to my 6970 recommendation for those who wish to span three 2007FPs in portrait with a 3008.














NO WAI!!!!!!


Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-11-11, 10:37 PM   #21
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post














NO WAI!!!!!!


Cold day in hell, right?
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-11, 10:49 PM   #22
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Madpistol View Post
Cold day in hell, right?
Precisely.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-11, 09:51 PM   #23
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Thanks guys, pending deal currently so hopefully I will get them early next week.

EDIT: 2/21 cards should be here thursday (two 6970s). Will post results comparing sli 285 and tri sli 285 vs xfire 6970's.

Last edited by Roliath; 02-21-11 at 09:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-11, 12:37 PM   #24
Roliath
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 6970 or 560....

Cards are in and installed, let me just say i'm frustrated and nvidia drivers so far are leaps and bounds ahead of the game.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.