Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-11, 01:20 PM   #1189
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Official Dragon Age: Origins Feedback Thread

Anyone playing this again before DA2 comes out?

Just went through again. It crashed a lot during the Dragon fight. I had to set it to 2 cores and it was fine.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 05:26 PM   #1190
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default

If you are on 64bit enable large address aware in the exe. Fixed all my crashes.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 06:06 PM   #1191
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Official Dragon Age: Origins Feedback Thread

I am on Windows 7 x64, thanks Crainger.

EDITED: Is this the 3rd party program that mods the exe or is this within windows 7 because I can't find it...

http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=112556
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 08:18 PM   #1192
AdamK47
 
AdamK47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cinci, OH
Posts: 984
Default Re: Official Dragon Age: Origins Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
Anyone playing this again before DA2 comes out?

Just went through again. It crashed a lot during the Dragon fight. I had to set it to 2 cores and it was fine.
I'm still working on my first playthrough that I starting on Nov 09.
AdamK47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-11, 10:57 PM   #1193
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default

That's it. I haven't used that app though. I used the older method with FE Explorer I think. Sorry not much help. I'm at work. But the link you posted is what I meant. Hope it can fix any stability issues. Just save heaps in the big city. I still got crashes there. Man my memory is bad. The city starts with a D no?

Edit. Denerim remembered after I posted.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-11, 09:21 AM   #1194
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Official Dragon Age: Origins Feedback Thread

*** Spoilers ***

Yeah, the final fight is there, but the problem for me was the final fight with the Dragon. There are several stages of the fight and you can't really save because you're in combat almost the entire time.

You fight the dragon, then it flies a bit, lands again, then it goes off to an area you can't get to it while it summons tons of the blight dudes. Plus, you have the NPC army you summon and it's a lot on the screen, spells, etc. It would just crash and I'd have to start the whole fight over. A real PITA.

I googled it and found that it's a common issue and everyone said to minimize the game, go in and put the game on 1 or 2 cores. That did the trick for me and I was able to complete the game.

I didn't have this issue with the original 1.0 or 1.01.

I'm done for now, I will import my "progress" into the new game to help shape what happens. Too bad I can't bring my character over.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-11, 10:37 AM   #1195
de><ta
prodigy
 
de><ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: Official Dragon Age: Origins Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
Anyone playing this again before DA2 comes out?

Just went through again. It crashed a lot during the Dragon fight. I had to set it to 2 cores and it was fine.
Same here. Intend to finish Awakening too. Currently in Origins and completed, circle tower and redcliff. Working on the Brescalian Forest before I go on to the Sacred Urn and slay the high dragon...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
*** Spoilers ***

You fight the dragon, then it flies a bit, lands again, then it goes off to an area you can't get to it while it summons tons of the blight dudes. Plus, you have the NPC army you summon and it's a lot on the screen, spells, etc. It would just crash and I'd have to start the whole fight over. A real PITA.
Have you tried casting storm of the century when the arch demon is in the center section? Supposedly kills the bugger real fast.
__________________
IBM T60p | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2GB PC2-5300 | ATi M X1700 256MB | 100GB 7200rpm SATA

///m-powered | Intel i7 920 | EVGA x58 | 6GB DD3 1600 | EVGA GTX 285 SSC | 150GB VelociRaptor

Drag racing is for fast cars. Autocrossing is for fast drivers.
de><ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.