Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-11, 10:06 AM   #13
Crow_Nest
Ace Spammer
 
Crow_Nest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Singapore, Asia
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Crow_Nest
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

IMO it doesnt matter much whether or not you play it on an ATI or NVIDIA. As long as you have a decent card thats been released in the past year i reckon it should be OK.
__________________
Desktop
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel i7 2700K @ 3.5 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB |
| G.Skill RipJawsX PC3 12800 4GB x 2 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer | Intel SSD 520 120GB SSD |
| Hitachi 1TB SATA3 HDD | Asus P8Z68-V/GEN3 | Cooler Master Silent Pro M 700W |
| Cooler Master Centurion 5 II Casing | Samsung SyncMaster XL2370 |


Laptop : Lenovo IdeaPad Y450
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 | Intel Core 2 Duo T6600 2.2 GHz | NVIDIA GeForce G110M 256MB |
| 4GB DDR3 SDRAM | Western Digital 320GB | 14.1' LED Backlit Screen |


http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=73666&dateline=135279  2183
Crow_Nest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 10:13 AM   #14
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

If all you care about is Crysis 2, then NVIDIA. Your needs, and the quirks you're willing to deal with, should dictate which brand to buy.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-11, 10:47 AM   #15
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Wait to see the benchmarks and decide.

On an Nvidia fan forum, it's obvious what the recommendation would be.

Both companies products perform very well in Crysis, I personally never had any issues running either Crysis or Warhead on my AMD cards. I haven't had issues on my Nvidia cards either.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-11, 07:14 AM   #16
Soetdjuret
Teh lazy swede
 
Soetdjuret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Svea
Posts: 1,982
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toss3 View Post
nvidia.
This is not really true. In crysis 1, radeon's cards perform better than nvidia. Dunno about Crysis 2 through.
__________________
R.I.P Stage6 | per haud Justiciá illic exsisto haud pacís...
Soetdjuret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-11, 07:31 AM   #17
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Nvidia paid $2 mill for this one(http://www.techeye.net/software/nvid...00-on-crysis-2)... so Nvidia for sure.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-11, 11:39 PM   #18
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Well, I will say this.

I know for a FACT, 101% truth in this, that the supplier of PCs to Crytek (in the UK I assume) for the past couple of years have been ATI based.

Here's a few tidbits.

Quote:
Hi Guys,

We've been very hush hush about this for quite some time now, but I feel we should mention this as it is rather huge and something you all should know about us.

Many (if not all) of you won't know but for over 3 years now, we (Gladiator Computers) have been building very high end systems for Crytek UK for the development of the latest & awesome Crysis 2, the previous Crysis games, and the devlopments of the CryEngine over the years.

We may not be as big as our rivals when it comes to systems (although we're very well on our way), but we offer a great service with fantastic systems & prices.

I hope you all find this information somewhat reassuring as when it comes to high end systems, we provide some of the best in the business.
Quote:
I can't remember the total amount of systems excatly, but we've probably built close to 100 high spec PCs for them over the past 3 years, and of all those systems not one has ever featured an Nvidia graphics card.

Quite confusing really as its not like they favour AMD/ATI or anything as all those systems have been all Intel based and also Nvida recently signing an exclusive deal for this Crysis 2 benchmark and rights to use their assets to promote their latest GTX 550Ti coming out this month.
So now you know why ATI / Crossfire generally does a better job with Crysis and will probably do the same for Crysis 2. No level of marketing can get around the facts.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-11, 11:43 PM   #19
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

ATi is a better company. Suck it.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-11, 11:48 PM   #20
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
ATi is a better company. Suck it.
My real long term allegiance is to 3DFX, oh the memories. Anyone on here who disagrees with that is either 12 or should stick to consoles. Bleh
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-10-11, 11:50 PM   #21
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Nvidia for sure but i certainly wouldn't let one game decide which GPU manufacturer i would go for.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-11, 12:53 AM   #22
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

id say the chances of ati outperforming nvidia in this game are somewhere between 0 and 1%
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-11, 01:09 AM   #23
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m3dude View Post
id say the chances of ati outperforming nvidia in this game are somewhere between 0 and 1%
I dunno... you might be surprised. ATI is pretty quick in crysis.

Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-11, 07:37 PM   #24
m3dude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,138
Default Re: Ati or nVidia for Crysis2?

go check the various benches of the beta/demo. besides if dx11 brings tessellation its all over for ati.
m3dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.