Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-11, 11:28 PM   #1
boast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Triple head, twinview + seperate x = KDE only sees one screen

If I only have twinview enabled with two monitors, KDE can distinguish between the monitors (fullscreen only goes to one monitor).

But if I enable the third monitor to be on a separate X, KDE only sees one monitor and fullscreens into both of them.

How can I enable my third monitor but still have nvidia report the monitor info to my DE?


xorg.conf with third screen disabled:

Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 260.19.44  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-08.nvidia.com)  Sun Feb 27 22:59:44 PST 2011

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Acer E211H"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +1600+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
and with third screen enabled:

Code:
  GNU nano 2.2.6                        File: /etc/X11/xorg.conf                                                        

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 260.19.44  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-08.nvidia.com)  Sun Feb 27 22:59:44 PST 20$

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Acer E211H"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL 2005FPW"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 83.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GT"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 6600"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: nvidia-auto-select +1600+0, DFP-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Device1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
Code:
$ xdpyinfo -ext XINERAMA 
...
XINERAMA version 1.1 opcode: 151
  Xinerama is inactive.
Code:
$ xdpyinfo | grep -i xin
    XINERAMA
    XInputExtension
Code:
$ cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep -i xin
...
[    33.000] (II) Loading extension XINERAMA
[    33.121] (II) Initializing built-in extension XInputExtension
[    33.121] (II) Initializing built-in extension XINERAMA
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (37.0 KB, 53 views)

Last edited by boast; 03-28-11 at 02:08 AM.
boast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-11, 05:50 AM   #2
adamk75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 228
Default Re: Triple head, twinview + seperate x = KDE only sees one screen

KDE4 only supports one X screen and, unfortunately, I do believe that twinview + xinerama has the problem you described, where the X server doesn't quite understand how the monitors are positioned and can't relay that information to the window manager.

What happens if you don't use twinview at all, but set up each monitor as a separate screen and then use xinerama to combine them all?

Adam
adamk75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-11, 11:14 AM   #3
boast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Triple head, twinview + seperate x = KDE only sees one screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamk75 View Post

What happens if you don't use twinview at all, but set up each monitor as a separate screen and then use xinerama to combine them all?

Adam
that's how i had it set originally and it worked. But waiting 3 seconds before scrolling with the CPU spike just ruins my productivity.
boast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-11, 12:18 PM   #4
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Triple head, twinview + seperate x = KDE only sees one screen

That's an oldie, please check

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=85604

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-11, 02:10 PM   #5
adamk75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 228
Default Re: Triple head, twinview + seperate x = KDE only sees one screen

Ahh, very cool. I never knew such a hack existed.

Adam
adamk75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-11, 06:34 PM   #6
boast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Triple head, twinview + seperate x = KDE only sees one screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
That's an oldie, please check

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=85604

regards

Bernhard
I wasn't able to get that to work. And I also have xinerama screens disabled. If I enable xinerama, I get the faked info to work, but not with it disabled.


edit: looks like this issue has been ongoing since '06 (http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=72869) so I guess I have no luck of getting this fixed either.
boast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-11, 09:00 AM   #7
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Triple head, twinview + seperate x = KDE only sees one screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by boast View Post
If I enable xinerama, I get the faked info to work, but not with it disabled.
Right, this hack only works when xinerama is enabled.

In deed, the problem hasn't been fixed for half a decade and
it doesn't seem to get fixed, any time soon.

And because of various other problems concerning multi-GPU
with Linux, I solved it in a different way:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=126134

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.