Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-05-11, 08:08 AM   #1
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,420
Default Questions on running 2 GTX 570's in SLI?

Hi All,
My system specs in sig. I'm running 3 - 24" monitors. I am thinking of getting 2 EVGA GTX 570's and run in SLI, but will they be able to handle my res 5760 X 1200? And games on high settings. Like Crysis 1, Warhead and Crysis 2 and a whole bunch of other games. My GTX 285's don't like high settings in Crysis and some other games.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-11, 08:39 AM   #2
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Questions on running 2 GTX 570's in SLI?

Honestly, unless you are planning on using 3D Vision Surround, I'd recommend getting two 6950s or 6970s instead for 5760x1200. Even my GTX 580s seem to be cutting it close at 5760x1080 with 1.5GB of VRAM with certain games, so I think that the 1.2GB of VRAM on the 570 would just barely not be enough. The 2GB on the 6950/6970 would give you a lot more breathing room, and their performance is no slouch either, especially scaling in Crossfire.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-11, 08:55 AM   #3
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,420
Default Re: Questions on running 2 GTX 570's in SLI?

Thank you, but if you read my specs. You'll see that my motherboard is a EVGA 780i FTW and that does not support Crossfire! So my only option is the GTX 570's, I am not going to buy another motherboard or two GTX 580's just to much money me this year.



Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
Honestly, unless you are planning on using 3D Vision Surround, I'd recommend getting two 6950s or 6970s instead for 5760x1200. Even my GTX 580s seem to be cutting it close at 5760x1080 with 1.5GB of VRAM with certain games, so I think that the 1.2GB of VRAM on the 570 would just barely not be enough. The 2GB on the 6950/6970 would give you a lot more breathing room, and their performance is no slouch either, especially scaling in Crossfire.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-11, 09:20 AM   #4
Madpistol
It's a wittle baby!
 
Madpistol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 4,554
Send a message via AIM to Madpistol
Default Re: Questions on running 2 GTX 570's in SLI?

I too believe there will be a vram bottleneck for that sort of setup. You can try it, but don't be surprised if on newer titles, in a year or so, that lack of vram may catch up to you.
__________________
http://bfbc2.statsverse.com/sig/deta...d%20Pistol.png


MadPistol's Rig

AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE (RB-C3) @ 4Ghz, 1.425 Vcore, 1.25V NB VID
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (w/ Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fan)
Gigabyte UD3H AM3 790GX motherboard
XFX Radeon HD 5870
PNY XLR8 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB CL8 DDR3 1600
Soundblaster X-Fi Fatality Titanium
OCZ Vertex II 120GB SSD (OS drive)
Western Digital 500GB Caviar (black)
Western Digital 640GB Blue
Samsung DVD burner
Logitech MX performance mouse
Logitech G15 keyboard
Corsair HX 750-watt Modular PSU
Antec Nine Hundred case
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
ASUS MK241 24" LCD
ACER X241W 24" LCD - RIP
Madpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-11, 10:05 AM   #5
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Questions on running 2 GTX 570's in SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airbrushkid View Post
Thank you, but if you read my specs. You'll see that my motherboard is a EVGA 780i FTW and that does not support Crossfire! So my only option is the GTX 570's, I am not going to buy another motherboard or two GTX 580's just to much money me this year.
Sorry, didn't take a good look at your specs before responding. In that case, getting the AMD 6990 dual GPU card would be greatly beneficial. You don't need a Crossfire motherboard for it, and you would have 2GB of VRAM per GPU (4GB total). Its price is also similar to two 570s (2x~$350 vs ~$700), and its performance is comparable, and I would say its the superior solution for the resolutions you are gaming at. The only problem you would have to deal with is the noise.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-11, 10:19 AM   #6
Airbrushkid
 
Airbrushkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,420
Default Re: Questions on running 2 GTX 570's in SLI?

I may just get 2 of these Palit GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...560%20ti%202gb

It has enough vram for 3 monitors. Just hope I can play my game s at high settings not super just high and some 2 or 4XX.
__________________
Intel Q9550 l eVGA NForce 780i SLI FTW l 2 Palit GTX 560 Ti 2 GB SLI l Corsair Dominator 8 gig PC2-8500 l 2 - Intel X-25M 80 gb SSD Raid 0 l WD 1 -2TB & 2 -1TB l On board sound l Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1200 1200W l Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit l 3 X Dell E248WFP 24" Monitors
Airbrushkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-11, 05:54 PM   #7
Rollo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,719
Default Re: Questions on running 2 GTX 570's in SLI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airbrushkid View Post
I may just get 2 of these Palit GeForce GTX 560 Ti 2GB

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...560%20ti%202gb

It has enough vram for 3 monitors. Just hope I can play my game s at high settings not super just high and some 2 or 4XX.
I have the 2GB GTX560s and they work great for 57X10, see my benches here:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=159861

I really like the 2GB Palit 560s and would use them any day over a 6990. They don't howl like a vacuum cleaner, use little power and give off little heat comparatively, you get all of the NVIDIA feature set, and it's a more flexible solution being separate cards.

A GTX590 would solve the VRAM issue at 57X10 as well.
__________________
Rig1:
intel 990X + 2 X EVGA 3GB GTX580 + 3 X Acer GD235Hz
3D Vision Surround

Rig 2:
intel 2500K + NVIDIA GTX590 + Dell 3007 WFPHC

[SIZE="1"]NVIDIA Focus Group Member
[B]NVIDIA Focus Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the Members.[/B][/SIZE]
Rollo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.