Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-02-03, 05:41 PM   #1
bargabr8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to bargabr8
Default How do I get Windows XP to deal with 2 NICs?

OK, here's my problem. I am on a wireless network for internet (192.168.3.x) and then I have another NIC for my home network (192.168.0.x). The way the home network is set up is that our movie server downstairs is connected to the router along with my computer and my roommates computer. My roommate is sharing his internet connection so that the dowstairs computer can access the internet, and I have my own wireless NIC in my computer.

When I enable both connections, Windows XP only uses my roommate's shared internet connection, never seeming to notice I have my own.

My question is, how do I get windows to use my wireless NIC for internet without using my roommate's shared internet connection while still being able to share folders across our home network (192.168.0.x) between the 3 computers and NOT share folders on the wireless network (192.168.3.x)?

Let me know if I need to try to clear up the configuration, I know its kind of strange...

Thanks in advance!
__________________
ROAR!

Last edited by bargabr8; 12-02-03 at 06:18 PM.
bargabr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-03, 07:20 AM   #2
Vash
Angel Arms
 
Vash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 624
Default

Are you using ICS? If so, I'm surprised you got it working. ICS is a headache in a box.

Theoretically, Windows shouldn't have a problem with multiple NICs. Are you getting DHCP through one NIC and static through another? If you could give more details on your setup, it would help a bit (static/DHCP settings, DNS, workgroup/domain, etc).
__________________
How happy is the blameless Vestal's lot!
The world forgetting, by the world forgot
Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind!
Each pray'r accepted, and each wish resign'd.
Vash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-03, 04:47 PM   #3
bargabr8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 12
Send a message via AIM to bargabr8
Default

hmm... thats really weird, cause I definately replied to this a day ago or so... Anyway, my problem was that I needed to leave default gateway and dns blank in the tcp/ip properties of the LAN. This way, windows will know not to look for an internet connection when accessing the LAN. The guys on the IRC channel told me about this stuff, so thanks to them

Thanks,
Bill
__________________
ROAR!
bargabr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
$15 Windows 8 upgrades available from Microsoft through January 2013 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.