Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-11, 05:37 PM   #25
artem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 713
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Adobe Flash Player 10.3.181.14 has been just released with all the known issues persisting.
artem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 07:56 AM   #26
gradinaruvasile
Registered User
 
gradinaruvasile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 199
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Quote:
Originally Posted by artem View Post
Here is the overlay problem in its glory.
That is not happening with the google version of flash.

Go here:

https://sites.google.com/a/chromium....ed/dev-channel

download a 64-bit version, and either unpack the libgcflashplayer.so from it in the known plugin folders (~/.mozilla/plugins/, /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins/) or install Chrome and either use it or link /opt/google/chrome/libcgflashplayer.so to the one of the plugin folders to be available to any browser.

Dont forget deleting any previous bersions of flash.
gradinaruvasile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 12:52 PM   #27
artem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 713
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

gradinaruvasile,

I've already mentioned that 64bit flash is outdated and doesn't support hardware acceleration.
artem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-11, 04:45 PM   #28
zbiggy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Quote:
Originally Posted by gradinaruvasile View Post
That is not happening with the google version of flash.

Go here:

https://sites.google.com/a/chromium....ed/dev-channel
download a 64-bit version, and either unpack the libgcflashplayer.so from it
I tried stable/unstable/beta 64 bit rpms and all of them do NOT contain libgcflashplayer.so so do not waste time downloading and checking. I did not try *.deb because I doubt they would be different than rpms.
zbiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-11, 10:35 AM   #29
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Latest 32-bit version is working fine here with acceleration (via nswrapper with no overlay issues).
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-11, 01:16 PM   #30
gradinaruvasile
Registered User
 
gradinaruvasile's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 199
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanjo View Post
Latest 32-bit version is working fine here with acceleration (via nswrapper with no overlay issues).
What card do you have?
And the acceleration shows in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSGBVzeBUbk

Select 1080p, right-click and select "show video info". You should have "Accelerated video rendering" if the hardware decoding really works.
gradinaruvasile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-11, 06:57 PM   #31
rgorn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Right click, Settings, and then Disable Hardware Acceleration.

Let's wait a year or so until Adobe or Nvidia fixes this.
rgorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-11, 02:50 PM   #32
edgan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

I was running Fedora 64-bit with Firefox 4.0.1, 10.3 final, and has problems with constant black boxes and redraw issues. I switched to 32bit Firefox and got rid of nspluginwrapper, and now it is fine.
edgan is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-11, 05:46 PM   #33
Deanjo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 301
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Quote:
Originally Posted by gradinaruvasile View Post
What card do you have?
And the acceleration shows in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSGBVzeBUbk

Select 1080p, right-click and select "show video info". You should have "Accelerated video rendering" if the hardware decoding really works.
Yup it shows Accelerated Video Rendering. Works fine on my GTX-580, GTX-275 and 8200 IGP.
Deanjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-11, 07:03 PM   #34
Lamieur
The god of fertility
 
Lamieur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

About the overlay problem (video leaking through anything that's black): go to text console (Alt+Ctrl+F2), get back to your Xorg (Alt-F1? Alt-F7?), problem disappears. Currently open Flash videos will turn grey and you'll need to close tabs with them, but then everything is ok. The same workaround also fixed other display problems I've had with nvidia driver on my GTX570.

About using hardware accelerated video: works flawlessly on YouTube, but FREEZES XORG on some own3d.tv videos. Solution is to kill Xorg (remotely or using SysRq combos), unfortunately that's not better than a reboot as I doubt you do stuff outside of the X session. I think I've had a freeze on justin.tv stream last week, but I'm not sure if I didn't try to watch something else at the same time. In any case, I've hashed out mms.cfg entries and the system is alive again.

Oh, and I also have an mp4 file that freezes Xorg when played with mplayer (using vo=gl, vo=xv doesn't have this problem) under 270.xx, but 260.xx are more stable and that's what I'm using.
Lamieur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-11, 12:29 PM   #35
artem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 713
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Not fixed in 275.09.
artem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-11, 04:36 PM   #36
Licaon
Registered User
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between the keyboard and the chair.
Posts: 490
Default Re: NVIDIA, please, fix Adobe Flash 10.2.x and 10.3.x

Quote:
Originally Posted by gradinaruvasile View Post
What card do you have?
And the acceleration shows in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XSGBVzeBUbk

Select 1080p, right-click and select "show video info". You should have "Accelerated video rendering" if the hardware decoding really works.
works for me too, strange
Licaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.