Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-11, 11:59 PM   #1
Vanzagar
Bring me Amberlamps
 
Vanzagar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,167
Default Sudden Internet problems

I just moved, and got re-hooked up with Comcast, everything else in my system is the exact same as I just unpacked it from boxes 2 days ago, but now when I go browsing around the internet, after I open 3 or 4 tabs, it's seems like the internet stops transfering info and basically locks up - never did this before... I have no clue how to fix this, any ideas?

Running Windows 7, using IE explorer 8...

Thanks,

Vanz
Vanzagar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-11, 05:08 AM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Sudden Internet problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanzagar View Post
I just moved, and got re-hooked up with Comcast, everything else in my system is the exact same as I just unpacked it from boxes 2 days ago, but now when I go browsing around the internet, after I open 3 or 4 tabs, it's seems like the internet stops transfering info and basically locks up - never did this before... I have no clue how to fix this, any ideas?

Running Windows 7, using IE explorer 8...

Thanks,

Vanz
the first thing i do when one browser is being stupid is try another one. have you tried firefox?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-11, 01:32 PM   #3
frenchy2k1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 449
Default Re: Sudden Internet problems

does your cable modem have a self test?
Try that. Could be the cable quality is different. You need high quality copper to get the 20Mbps through.
__________________
As the universe is curved, there cannot be a straight answer...
frenchy2k1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-11, 02:57 PM   #4
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Sudden Internet problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchy2k1 View Post
does your cable modem have a self test?
Try that. Could be the cable quality is different. You need high quality copper to get the 20Mbps through.
lol, umm you do know that there have been tests of 10mbps ethernet using barbwire, 20 megs doesnt needs any fancy wiring, just a good set of cable ends...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-11, 03:02 PM   #5
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: Sudden Internet problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vanzagar View Post
I just moved, and got re-hooked up with Comcast, everything else in my system is the exact same as I just unpacked it from boxes 2 days ago, but now when I go browsing around the internet, after I open 3 or 4 tabs, it's seems like the internet stops transfering info and basically locks up - never did this before... I have no clue how to fix this, any ideas?

Running Windows 7, using IE explorer 8...

Thanks,

Vanz
are there any routers hooked up or just a cable modem?
first, when you hook the modem up, make sure there are no spliters, go directly into the wall cable. Then, check to reset your cable modem to factory defaults, sometimes with these toy modems, the firmware gets corrupted in transit. change out your ethernet cables. after all of that has been eleminated. now check your system.
do a ping to a well known website, like yahoo.com, if that doesnt work scan fpor viruses. if not call comcast to cycle the modem...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-11, 09:31 PM   #6
t3hl33td4rg0n
Dethklok Returns!
 
t3hl33td4rg0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Kent, OH
Posts: 2,142
Send a message via AIM to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via MSN to t3hl33td4rg0n Send a message via Yahoo to t3hl33td4rg0n
Default Re: Sudden Internet problems

Post your signal readouts: http://192.168.100.1

Need Rx / Tx / SNR
__________________


Intel QX9650 @ 3.83GHzXFX 780ieVGA GTX 560Ti8GB GSkill DDR800Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium PCI-ESeagate 1.5TB . 4x Samsung 2TB

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowTin View Post
....it's so clear how government makes things worse not better...
t3hl33td4rg0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-11, 09:03 PM   #7
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Sudden Internet problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman View Post
lol, umm you do know that there have been tests of 10mbps ethernet using barbwire, 20 megs doesnt needs any fancy wiring, just a good set of cable ends...
I could see redeemed testing that out...
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-11, 11:26 PM   #8
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,069
Default Re: Sudden Internet problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by t3hl33td4rg0n View Post
Post your signal readouts: http://192.168.100.1

Need Rx / Tx / SNR
+1
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.