Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central > Crysis

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-28-11, 12:56 PM   #73
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

even the tech demos for CE3 though don't seem quite as good.

It should be interesting though to see if the modding community can come up with more fixes.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-11, 07:34 PM   #74
Burnt_Ram
Registered User
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kelowna, B.C.
Posts: 2,092
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
You need objects on Ultra for POM.
thanks
Burnt_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-11, 07:39 PM   #75
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

The way Crysis 2 uses video memory is weird though. I had all my settings on Ultra in DX11 with high-res textures and saw it was using ~1500MB VRAM at 5760x1080.

So I turned off the high-res textures, and it was still using ~1500MB VRAM. I then turned all the settings on lowest and still saw the same VRAM usage. I then switched to DX9 and still saw the same VRAM usage. So I finally dialed down the resolution to 1920x1080, and only then did my VRAM usage go down, to ~1150MB! This was still with the same lowest settings and no high-res textures at DX9. This can't be right or people with 1GB cards would have seen terrible performance before, which wasn't the case.

So I'm thinking Crysis 2 just hogs as much VRAM as possible, and doesn't actually use all of the VRAM its occupying for at any given moment in the game, instead using the additional VRAM as a cache for other textures that aren't being used to reduce future loading times and such. OF course, with my original settings, I'm even amazed I get the performance that I do, barring the rampant popup and flickering of objects. However, its something I noticed even on my 6970 in my other machine at 1920x1080, and it also doesn't happen in DX9, so I'm thinking its something with the renderer.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-11, 09:07 PM   #76
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

I've noticed crazy flickering distant textures in dx11 as well.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-11, 09:33 PM   #77
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonPC View Post
I've noticed crazy flickering distant textures in dx11 as well.
me too. some near the player as well like concrete/asphalt (Which is still blurry low res texture)

I agree that the high res texture is nice but it only draws attention to the still low res textures. Also not all the reflections are true to the surroundings. The puddles on the ground for instance some are the pre rendered generic reflections but stuff like the cars are legit.

I think this is all a nice step in the right direction but it just comes across as a band-aid solution to a bigger problem. It helped stop the bleeding but the wound is still there.

Oh well... I tried it... back to the witcher. maybe the community will fix the rest of the low res textures and I can actually enjoy the game.
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-11, 09:56 PM   #78
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Quote:
Originally Posted by newparad1gm View Post
The way Crysis 2 uses video memory is weird though.
+1

My single 570 runs smooth as silk @ 1920x1200 with shadows and water set to Extreme, Post Processing set to High and everything else on Ultra registering 1254MB of VRAM being used.

When running DX9 without the high res textures it still uses 1254MB of VRAM.

I'm not getting any of the flickering though. Maybe a driver issue? I'm using 275.33
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-11, 11:55 PM   #79
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Honestly this wasn't a good enough game for me to want to re-install and play through it, even with slightly improved graphics.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-11, 01:07 AM   #80
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Srs? I thought the game play, while not quite the scope of the originals, was still very good. I love planning my attack, getting down on the ground and wrecking havoc switching suit mods. The story is :: but the gameplay and presentation, I loved it.

I do miss the more military 'sim' feel of the first. I think they spoiled it when they started to introduce conspiracy theories and Gould. Man I hate that guy, from the moment he shot the dual finger guns and drummed on the desk.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-29-11, 04:10 AM   #81
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Srs? I thought the game play, while not quite the scope of the originals, was still very good. I love planning my attack, getting down on the ground and wrecking havoc switching suit mods. The story is :: but the gameplay and presentation, I loved it.

I do miss the more military 'sim' feel of the first. I think they spoiled it when they started to introduce conspiracy theories and Gould. Man I hate that guy, from the moment he shot the dual finger guns and drummed on the desk.
agreed with everything you said

playing the game again with the graphic packs i cannot really notice much difference
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-11, 11:06 AM   #82
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

I found out that my machine was using only one card--it must've happened when I did a graphics driver update. Anyway, I'm getting solid 50-60 FPS with everything maxed:






DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-11, 11:39 AM   #83
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Sandbox 3 Editor has just been released. Go get it

http://www.mycrysis.com/support
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-11, 02:36 PM   #84
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Crysis 2 DX11 Patch Live

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Prime View Post
Honestly this wasn't a good enough game for me to want to re-install and play through it, even with slightly improved graphics.
I never finished, lost interest. I love how they gave us this "GIFT"... wonder if I could get it in a monetary denomination instead.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.