Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-25-11, 12:35 PM   #1
XP_GUN
Registered User
 
XP_GUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orange CA.
Posts: 1,086
Default SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

The question is, upgrade to SLI with 2 new EVGA 560 Ti or just one EVGA 470? Main reason better performance with Crysis 2 DX11.

I already have one EVGA 470
__________________
Yeah I use a Mac Mini now....
XP_GUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-11, 12:36 PM   #2
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti

Quote:
Originally Posted by XP_GUN View Post
The question is, upgrade to SLI with 2 new EVGA 560 Ti or just one EVGA 470? Main reason better performance with Crysis 2 DX11.
If you have the money, I would go 2 570's....but if you are asking which two from your above post, I would go for 2 560's.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-11, 01:33 PM   #3
XP_GUN
Registered User
 
XP_GUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orange CA.
Posts: 1,086
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

I think I need to reword the question lol, I already have one 470 , should I get another 470 for SLI that way or just go for 2 newer 560 ti?

Yeah the 570 are out of the price range. :/
__________________
Yeah I use a Mac Mini now....
XP_GUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-11, 01:55 PM   #4
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by XP_GUN View Post
I think I need to reword the question lol, I already have one 470 , should I get another 470 for SLI that way or just go for 2 newer 560 ti?

Yeah the 570 are out of the price range. :/
I would go with the 2x560's then.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-11, 11:50 PM   #5
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

If you already have a GTX 470 then I would just save the money and get another GTX 470 since you can find them as low as $195 ,since you would spend almost $500 for two 560TI's and there is'nt that big of a difference.For around $575 you could get a Sandy i5-2500K for $220 and a motherboard for around $100 and 8GB's (2 x 4GB) of DDR3 1600 for around $60 .Then you will have a nice upgrade and fast ,They have a open box MSI P67A-GD55 (B3) LGA 1155 For just $99,this will go fast.Ever open box I have bought from newegg looks brand new and always had all the accessories.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-11, 12:08 PM   #6
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

I wouldn't bother mate the 560ti provides pretty much the same performance as a GTX470, for the sake of a few fps it's not worth the price you would be paying, the main diffrence from the cards is noise and power consumtion, the 560Tis are lower in both departments. You are also CPU bottlenecked anyway even if you are running at 1080p rez.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/311?vs=330
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-11, 01:10 PM   #7
Intel17
Is not an Intel fanboi
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

There's no question -- go with the 2nd GTX 470. Same performance as the 560 Ti, but you don't have to lose value on your initial 470 investment and can get a 2nd GTX 470 cheap (go to EVGA B-Stock -- they're $160, free shipping)
__________________
Intel Core i7 980X Extreme Edition @ 4.00GHz, 2.94GHz uncore| Corsair H60 | ASUS P6X58D-E | Zotac GTX 580 @ 872/1744/2145|Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB (Games/Steam)| Seagate 1.5TB (media/misc.) |Seagate 1 TB (OS/Main) | 24 GB G.Skill RipJaws X 1.5V DDR3-1333 | Creative X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser HD 202 Headset | Dual Gigabit Realtek LAN | Antec True Power Quattro 1200W | Acer G235Hbmbd 23" LCD Display | Logitech K320 Wireless Keyboard | Logitech Performance MX Mouse
Intel17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-11, 03:45 PM   #8
FastRedPonyCar
Resident Tire Destroyer
 
FastRedPonyCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,012
Send a message via AIM to FastRedPonyCar
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

I've got a pair of 470's clocked to 480 speeds and they can run crysis maxed out @ 1900x1200
__________________
- Desktop -
4770k @ 4.45 ghz - ASUS Gryphon Mobo - 16 gigs Corsair Vengeance Pro 1866 RAM - XSPC Rasa 750 RS240 H2o Cooling - EVGA GTX 680 @1325mhz - 128 gig Crucial RealSSD C300 - 150 gig Velociraptor +2.75 Terrabytes of WD Sata 3.0 storage - 910 watt PC P&C PSU - Corsair Obsidian 650D case

- Server -
Core I7 D0 revision 920 @ 3.75 ghz - ASUS P6T Deluxe - 12 Gigs Mushkin DDR3 1600 - Corsair HX 620 PSU - Noctua NH-U9B cooler - Coolermaster WaveMaster Case

- Laptop -
MSI 16F2-012
- i7 2630QM - GTX570m @ 750Mhz - 8 gigs HyperX 1866 - 120 gig OCZ Vertex 3 SSD- 750 gig Scorpio Black - BluRay - 95% Gamut Screen - IC Diamond goop
FastRedPonyCar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-09-11, 10:28 AM   #9
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

I'm running 470 sli now... similar situation as you. The 560 Ti is almost identical in performance to our current 470s.....

You should definitely just get another 470. I haven't looked back at all after doing it and it's more than enough to power all my games at 2560x1600. It was very cheap too, $170 used... I definitely think this is one of the better values I've ever gotten while looking for video card upgrades
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-11, 08:58 PM   #10
Melfranks
 
Melfranks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

I just upgraded my system and bought another 470 to SLI with the one I already had.
Found one for $160, pretty cheap video upgrade considering the boost in performance.
So ya, I vote for the 470.
Melfranks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-11, 10:42 PM   #11
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

Like I said if you have over $500 to spend on mew 560TI's then spend $50 to $75 more and get yourself a Sandy i5-2500K for $219 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115072 a motherboard for $129 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130583 8gigs of DDR1600 for $48 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820104266 GTX 470 for $160 at evga B Stock http://www.evga.com/products/prodlist.asp?switch=20 You could get all that for around $556 ,then you want have to worry about bottle necking plus have two GTX 470'running in SLI. Then you will have one kick ass system.Most all of the sandy 2500k will do 4.4gig and some people are doing over 5gigs.but with that motherboard you can do a combo buy with a 2500K sandy and save another $20 and with that you could buy a CPU heatsink cooler.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-11, 02:16 PM   #12
fasedww
Pc Gamer
 
fasedww's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,578
Default Re: SLI 470 or 560Ti in SLI

Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRedPonyCar View Post
I've got a pair of 470's clocked to 480 speeds and they can run crysis maxed out @ 1900x1200
Yeap he's right.
__________________
Asus X79 rampage extreme 4, i7 3930K, 47X100, 4.70 GHZ, ,16 gigs, corsair, 1600mhz, 3 MSI GTX 780's Tri SLI, gtx, Prolimatech Genesis, 2 140mm fan heastsink, Lian Li PC 80 ArmorSuit case, PCPC 1200 watt, window side panel with 120mm blowhole, SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium HD , Asus Blueray sata dvdrw,SSD 256GB Plextor Pro,SSD Patriot Pyro 240gig,SSD Agility 4 256 , 1 300 gig raptor, 1 600 gig raptor, segate 1 gig ,Total Airhead amp, Denon AH-D2000 headphones, Dell Ultra3011, Acer HN274H 120 Hz Lcd, ,26,500 3dmark 11, Win 7 HomePrem.

Rig #2 i7 3930k 4.7GHZ. 16 gig corsair Platinum 2400MHZ, Asus P9X79 DELUXE, 2 7970's Watercooled, Koolance blocks, on 1080 nova rad. 9 fan. 655 swiftech. Cpu heatkiller block, coolgate 240mm rad, 2 fan sycthe 108cfm 655 pump,OCZ 256Gb Vertex 4 ssd, C300 256Gb ssd, Patriot pyro 240Gb ssd, 2 wd 640gig Hd, Lian Li 343 modular case. Asus BD drive, Corsair AX1200 watt, X-FI Titanium HD on Fiio , Shure SRH840 Head phones, Dell Ultra3011, Razer Black Widow Ult. BF3 Edition keyboard, Corsair Vengence M60 Mouse, 3dmark 11 16,500, win 7 homePrem.
fasedww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.