Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-02, 02:03 AM   #1
imtim83
 
imtim83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 123
Default What resolution do you all run Unreal2003 retail version at with all details on max.?

What resolution do you all run Unreal 2003 full retail version at with all details on the highest settings? I mean everything on high.

Also what resolution do you play the map Inferno in ???

Thanks
imtim83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 07:09 AM   #2
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

Haven't played inferno yet, though I run the game at 1280x1024 high details no AA (Getting around 50 fps in most maps)
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 07:42 AM   #3
nin_fragile14
Fat Tuna
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 509
Default

I play at 1600x1200 with 16x anisotropic. Runs, in a high player server, about 45 fps on average, which looks great. I would love to get 60 fps constant, but it's such a CPU limited game, that that won't happen for a little while.
__________________
2.66 P4 @ 3.0 Ghz / Geforce 6800 GT @ 410/1080/ 768 mb Samsung DDR333 @ 374 mhz / Abit IS7 / XP Pro / NEC 1760NX LCD
nin_fragile14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 08:26 AM   #4
imtim83
 
imtim83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 123
Default

I run at 1600x1200 with all details on maximum even in the huge outdoor maps on my Leadtek GF4 ti 4400!! The new nvidia 40.71 beta drivers seem to help my performence a lot in unreal 2003 being a lot smoother and better feeling. But its very smooth even at 1600x1200 with a good 40 to 50 fps +
imtim83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 08:40 AM   #5
Gator
Unreal Tournament Gamer
 
Gator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 2,279
Default

OpenGL 1024x768, everything enabled and set to high...

Only exception is I have Physics=normal, but that's more CPU dependent than video card, and Techspot.com recommend for a 1.5ghz that I keep it at normal.

I get between 60 to 110fps depending on what map and the action going on in the game.

__________________
Athlon64 3200 Clawhammer / Asus K8N-E Deluxe / 1GB Crucial DDR400 / Geforce 6600GT 128MB AGP / Windows XP Pro
Gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 01:36 PM   #6
Needa916
Hugh Jorgen
 
Needa916's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 43
Default

Guys without the sigs, please post their specs!

Needa916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 02:13 PM   #7
SnakeEyes
Registered User
 
SnakeEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lake Zurich, IL
Posts: 502
Send a message via ICQ to SnakeEyes
Default

D3D, 1024x768x32, all details set to high, physics normal. I get 60 fps most places (or higher, but I've enabled vsync and triple buffering, so I don't see where the game normally would be higher. Mainly using these settings because of noticable tearing.)

AthlonXP 2100+ (relocked) running at 1826MHz (13x140), Gainward GF4Ti4600 (not overclocked), 40.71 Dets
__________________
Snake-Eyes
SnakeEyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-02, 10:46 PM   #8
skipparoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gator
OpenGL 1024x768, everything enabled and set to high...

Only exception is I have Physics=normal, but that's more CPU dependent than video card, and Techspot.com recommend for a 1.5ghz that I keep it at normal. ;)

I get between 60 to 110fps depending on what map and the action going on in the game.

:)
Well, I run the game at 1024x768, all details maxed out, with no image quality tricks applied. Personally I don't see it necessary to have filtering or anti-aliasing methods enabled for a game such as this (Unreal 2 will be different though, singleplayer :P). In multiplayer, this can hurt your gameplay considerably if frames start to drop in heated battles. Also because of the fast action, image enhancements generally go unnoticed. I do like to have all details within a game maxed though, if possible, and in this case, it is.

I have a Athlon XP clocked at 1.6GHz and a GeForce4 Ti 4600, and setting the physics detail to highest doesn't seem to have much of an impact on my performance. More importantly, I enjoy the physics immensly, so I like to have that setting on highest foremost. A good setting to disable though is detail textures, since you only witness those at close distances, and in levels like Inferno, this can make a difference. But I will say, more system memory does seem to be very beneficial in this game. It seems like a lot of the times I play, I have 0 ping, which is not normal for me having just a simple cable connection.

I recently installed another stick of DDR RAM (before I had the game however), making a total of 768MB, and there is no texture swapping at all like some people have reported with less RAM, and I think the low ping is contributed to this upgrade too. Definitely something some of you might want to put on the Christmas list :P

Also, the new 40.72 drivers do boost performance quite nicely. Smoother gameplay in UT2003, and no doubt, bug fixes overall.

-Skippy

Last edited by skipparoo; 10-03-02 at 10:49 PM.
skipparoo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-04-02, 10:15 AM   #9
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default

OpenGL, 1152x864x32, Quincux FSAA, all details maxed, physics set to normal. Getting around 45-60 fps depending on the map. I could play at 1600x1200 or 1280x1024 with no FSAA but I choose not to. System specs are in the link in my sig.

This was with the 40.71 dets, btw. I've not had a chance to try the game with the newly released 40.72's.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-02, 10:17 AM   #10
volt
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: /dev/null
Posts: 1,556
Default

omg, that game is soooo adictive....I played 5 hours yesterday!
__________________
[b]Optimization guidelines by Koji Ashida of NVIDIA:[/b][list][*]Use fx12 instructions whenever possible[*]Use lowest pixel shader version[/list][url=http://developer.nvidia.com/docs/IO/10878/ChinaJoy2004_OptimizationAndTools.pdf]source[/url]

[size=1]The politics are invading the technology. We don't really like to mess with politics because that kind of adversarial relationship has nothing to do with pure technical operations and the technical specifications of what we like to play with, the hardware![/size]
volt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
302.17 - openGL games can't run in resolution different than desktop's one MajkiFajki NVIDIA Linux 6 06-25-12 04:23 AM
Max Payne 3 at Max resolution News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 06:30 PM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 01:44 PM
Need help to get the X to work on my Acer TravelMate 630 knchee NVIDIA Linux 16 09-19-02 10:16 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.