Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-10, 01:40 PM   #1
ieti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Black Screen in Diablo2 LoD + Crossover Games 8.0.0

I like to play Diablo II LoD 1.12a with Crossover Games 8.0.0 and Glide Wrapper. Before installing latest driver all worked good and smooth. Today i installed latest driver 195.36.08 on my Debian Lenny 5.0.4. When i started the game i heared sounds, but screen stayed black. Other games i play like Quake Live, Regnum Online have no problems. Seems something is changed and Glide Wrapper or Crossover Games produce black screen.

Debian Lenny 5.0.4 32 bit
Pentium 4 3Ghz
Magic Prism 7300 GT 256MB DDR3
1GB Ram
Nvidia Drivers 195.36.08

I installed previous driver 190.53 and diablo works again.
ieti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-11, 01:20 AM   #2
mephist0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: Black Screen in Diablo2 LoD + Crossover Games 8.0.0

sorry to bump this old thread. But I have a very similar problem with wine and Diablo II and glide-wrapper.

Quakelive (750FPS 1920x1080) and doom3 (175FPS 1920x1080, Ultra Quality) runs smooth on my gentoo-linux.


Linux Kernel 3.0.0-gentoo
Intel i7 2600
Intel DP67BG
Gigabyte nVidia Geforce 590

Tried the drivers 270.41.06, 275.09.07, 275.19 and 280.11

Take a look here:



/Edit:
I will attach the nvidia bug report log when I get home from work.
mephist0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-11, 03:16 PM   #3
mephist0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: Black Screen in Diablo2 LoD + Crossover Games 8.0.0

Here is the nvidia-bug-report.sh logfile.

Using the same wrapper as ieti. Svens Wrapper Version 1.4e.
With Direct3D (with D2VidTst.exe you can change it) it works. But I would really like to work with the wrapper, because it looks so much better. It works flawless on my Windows 7 64bit (275.33 drivers) dualboot.
Sound is there. If I succeed in finding a button on the menu (I dont see the pointer) with the pointer I hear the button click sound from Diablo II. So it seems the games runs fine.
So something prints garbage on the screen. But how and what I do not know

If you need any further info let me now.
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (64.7 KB, 71 views)
mephist0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-11, 03:40 AM   #4
mephist0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: Black Screen in Diablo2 LoD + Crossover Games 8.0.0

anyone?
mephist0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-11, 02:09 PM   #5
brebs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 38
Default Re: Black Screen in Diablo2 LoD + Crossover Games 8.0.0

As a bit of idle speculation, if the wrapper is outputting in 16-bit colour, the nvidia driver would handle it badly.
brebs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-11, 11:44 AM   #6
mephist0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: Black Screen in Diablo2 LoD + Crossover Games 8.0.0

IT WORKS!!!!


I just installed the nvidia-drivers 280.13
And I compiled wine with the useflag "xcomposite".

+ + xcomposite : Enable support for the Xorg composite extension

I dont know which one it was, but I guess the useflag.
mephist0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.