Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-14-03, 10:34 AM   #1
sybourg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 5
Default quake 3 problem

Hi,

Just installed linux on my machine and I am having a big problem with quake 3, there are two specific issues;

1. On starting quake 3, the first time it loads OK and gets to the menu fine, if I quit quake 3 and load it again I get a black screen (black not blank), quake is running but there is no display, I can use the console to quit (although I cant see it) and attempt a vid_restart although that doesnt help. The only way to get it to run a second time is to exit x-windows and start x again (obviously this clears everything down).

2. Once I have quake 3 running, if I start a map by any method (menu or devmap), all the textures are corrupt, if I call up the console, its display is also corrupt.

I am running Fedora 1.0 with latest patches applied, I have tried both the lastest stable NVIDIA drivers (4496) and also the current beta driver set (4620), 4620 is faster but it doesnt solve the problem. I have applied the latest Q3 1.32b linux patch as well.

I have blown away by q3config.cfg and tried running it at its lowest settings but nothing seems to solve either of the 2 above problems.

My systems is an Athlon 1800XP, 768Mb mem, ELSA Gladiac 920 (GF3 card), SB Audigy sound card - running default Fedora drivers for sound.

I'm not particularly a n00b at linux but this one has got me baffled.

I have attached a screenshot and my XF86Config file is shown below;


# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "single head configuration"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
# Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "CTX PR500 series"
DisplaySize 280 210
HorizSync 30.0 - 70.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 160.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce 3 (generic)"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1152x864" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

#Section "DRI"
# Group 0
# Mode 0666
#EndSection
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	shot0000.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	77.3 KB
ID:	4000  
sybourg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-03, 04:18 PM   #2
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default

That is a 'good' problem. Hope you can resolve it, to be without games can be painful.

Have you tried the NvAGP option for the device driver?
Option "NvAGP" "1"

Are you running the latest motherboard bios version?
Check into the AGP status, speed, and info in /proc/driver/nvidia while X is running, but before the game has corrupted everything.
__________________
"..the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." (Edmond Burke)
nVIDIA video driver RPMs for Fedora :: see yum repo at livna.org.
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-03, 12:19 PM   #3
sybourg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Yorkshire, England
Posts: 5
Default Fixed It :)

Thanks for the tip LordMorgul, didn't help but eventually after much head scratching I figured it out

Case of RTFM i'm afraid...

I omitted to remove XFree86-Mesa-LibGL before compiling the NVIDIA driver.

Ran through the process again and presto-hey Q3 works

I was starting to get withdrawal symptoms...

Cheers
Sy.
sybourg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 03:14 PM
Screen flash briefly problem tamahome NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 8 09-19-02 12:07 PM
Problem when compiling with SDL on Nvidia/Nforce... superconti NVIDIA Linux 3 09-13-02 12:25 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.