Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-06-11, 05:30 PM   #25
JohnDio
Registered User
 
JohnDio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,026
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Official RAGE System Requirements Revealed
JohnDio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-11, 06:43 PM   #26
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDio View Post
Well my 6 year old rig passes that test!

25gb of space minimum for Rage. Nuts.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-11, 07:35 PM   #27
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Well Carmack said nothing extra for the PC and they optimised the crap out of the engine for the Xbox to get 60fps.

So yeah, the specs for playing the game are 2007.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-11, 08:13 PM   #28
Dizzle7677
Registered User
 
Dizzle7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Relativity
Posts: 194
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
On a side note, I really hope RAGE supports OpenGL 4.
Last time I heard it was based in OpenGL 2.1. Since the PS3 is OpenGL ES 2 it would make everything consistent across the board. Anyone heard anything different for the PC version?
__________________
Elephants can fly but they have no reason to.
------------------------------------------
Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.5Ghz | Asus M4A785-M | 2 Gig Crucial DDR2 @ 960 Mhz | GeForce GT 440 1024 MB | Linux 3.6.1 / Ubuntu 12.04 / W.I.N.E v1.5.14
Dizzle7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-11, 08:44 PM   #29
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Carmack said nothing extra for the PC, no tessellation, no high res textures, nothing, even though the PC hardware is "10x faster".

Sikkmod for Doom3 will look better than Rage.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-11, 05:41 AM   #30
K007
 
K007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia, Sydney
Posts: 9,406
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

lol @ specs....guess we won't be expecting much in the graphics department.
K007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-11, 08:00 AM   #31
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by K007 View Post
lol @ specs....guess we won't be expecting much in the graphics department.
Or maybe Carmack is the best coder in the business?
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-11, 08:07 AM   #32
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default

Rage videos look pretty good to me. I expect more story, gameplay and action than graphics.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-08-11, 11:50 PM   #33
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzle7677 View Post
Last time I heard it was based in OpenGL 2.1. Since the PS3 is OpenGL ES 2 it would make everything consistent across the board. Anyone heard anything different for the PC version?
It'll probably be OpenGL 3.x, possibly with a 4.x pipeline for newer cards (I hope).

BRINK is 3.1, albeit a modified id tech 4. id tech 5 should be 3.2 and higher (though it may have a fallback to 2.x for older cards and systems, and possibly 4.x for newer systems).

This is all pure speculation on my part.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-11, 12:57 AM   #34
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

I will be getting this for sure. But with BF3 and Skyrim, there just aren't enough hours in the day. May have to quite my job and take up professional gaming.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-11, 01:23 PM   #35
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,383
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

id Software just added Steam Cloud support to it's games on Steam. Bethesda did the same. A quick look in the Steam Client reveals a Cloud icon, and their Store pages list Steam Cloud as a feature now.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-11, 02:39 PM   #36
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default

Looking forward to getting this game. Just another 3-4 weeks right? Hope Steam will allow preloading.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.