Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-11, 04:01 PM   #1
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default TM2 Official time?

Guys in TM2, In single player im trying to figure out how to challenge for the official times on the tracks.

I cant seem to find a single option in game for a "challenge for official time" race! ... Does anybody know how?

Ive managed it twice but have no clue as to what i done lol.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-11, 04:56 PM   #2
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
Guys in TM2, In single player im trying to figure out how to challenge for the official times on the tracks.

I cant seem to find a single option in game for a "challenge for official time" race! ... Does anybody know how?

Ive managed it twice but have no clue as to what i done lol.
Good question because I'm having the same issue!

Afaik when you get a gold medal you get a chance to "improve" and then it comes up with post official or continue training. But from my short time with it, it seems you only get one chance to post an official time. Surely this is not how it's meant to be because that would suck for me.

Edit: after searching it seems you can only set an official time every 5 minutes, you can see a countdown with a trophy next to it. Pretty lame to have to wait so long and finish the race after that five minutes :/
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-11, 05:13 PM   #3
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

Yeah that is pretty lame! ... So after the countdown timer you can try for the official time regardless of what medal you get?

EDIT: Never mind ... You where bang on, Once the countdown time and reached zero you are free to got ahead and try for an official time regardless of what medal you get..
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-11, 05:25 PM   #4
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,210
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
Yeah that is pretty lame! ... So after the countdown timer you can try for the official time regardless of what medal you get?
Yeah seems that way, I just fooled around on a track until the time ran out, crossed the finish line, and was able to set an official time. I wish they kept the system of united where you spend coppers (planets in this case) to set a time, if you failed you lost them. 5 minute wait is dumb because for short tracks you'll be bored, for long tracks you have to actually reach the finish line to have the "improve" come up. This is not how I wanted to play it.
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-11, 05:58 PM   #5
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

You have to win the gold medal on a track ... After that you can try for an official time every 5 mins as many times as you like regardless of what time you get, As long as you have the gold medal for that track, One thing ive noticed is the time left carry's over to the next track ... e.g, I just left a track with the official timer at 2:30 .. When i went onto a new track i only had to wait 2:30 to be able to try and beat the official time in the new track i hadn't yet set a official time for.

I would prefer to be able to try for the official time wherever i liked like you could in the last one .. Its not that bad though, It forces you to have a couple of practice laps first.

It also adds a little more excitement while racing, Makes you actually care about messing up a race because you know you have another 5 mins to wait before you can try again, In the last you you where like "Oh i crashed, Ill just re-start".

The timer has its good and bad point i suppose.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-11, 06:03 PM   #6
jkmetal
Registered User
 
jkmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 775
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

Wow, I just figured out this whole offical time thing... After I got all gold and one green gold on the white tracks. Damn. Gotta do it again.....
__________________
Inter Q9950@stock. Scythe CPU cooler.4gigs Corsair ddr2 1066. Segate 1tb drive. Ati Theater Pro 650. Evga GTX460 768@845mhz. Win 7 64 Professional.
Dell 2007wfp S-IPS. Dell P1130. Razer Deathadder. Ducky 87 key mechanical keyboard. Xbox 360 controller for windows.
jkmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-11, 06:05 PM   #7
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkmetal View Post
After I got all gold and one green gold on the white tracks. Damn. Gotta do it again.....
Yeah, I got gold on all the white tracks ... Just on my way back through them all doing the official times.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-11, 06:16 PM   #8
jkmetal
Registered User
 
jkmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 775
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
Yeah, I got gold on all the white tracks ... Just on my way back through them all doing the official times.
That short downhill track with the small hills almost made me rage lol.
__________________
Inter Q9950@stock. Scythe CPU cooler.4gigs Corsair ddr2 1066. Segate 1tb drive. Ati Theater Pro 650. Evga GTX460 768@845mhz. Win 7 64 Professional.
Dell 2007wfp S-IPS. Dell P1130. Razer Deathadder. Ducky 87 key mechanical keyboard. Xbox 360 controller for windows.
jkmetal is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-15-11, 06:19 PM   #9
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: TM2 Official time?

Yeah ... Its a pain lol.

Took me a couple of tries too, Thats the one im dreading trying the OF on the most out of the whites.
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.