Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-24-11, 07:53 PM   #37
Dizzle7677
Registered User
 
Dizzle7677's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Relativity
Posts: 194
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_W View Post
Carmack said nothing extra for the PC, no tessellation, no high res textures, nothing, even though the PC hardware is "10x faster".

Sikkmod for Doom3 will look better than Rage.
There's a part at the end of the QuakeCon 2011 Q&A with John Carmack where he mentions Rage will ship with support for nVidia CUDA in a small module. How he used and applied CUDA in the id tech 5 engine he didn't mention.
__________________
Elephants can fly but they have no reason to.
------------------------------------------
Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.5Ghz | Asus M4A785-M | 2 Gig Crucial DDR2 @ 960 Mhz | GeForce GT 440 1024 MB | Linux 3.6.1 / Ubuntu 12.04 / W.I.N.E v1.5.14
Dizzle7677 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-11, 08:16 PM   #38
nutcrackr
Super Registered User
 
nutcrackr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 3,204
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
Looking forward to getting this game. Just another 3-4 weeks right? Hope Steam will allow preloading.
25GB you'd hope so
__________________
.
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-11, 12:20 AM   #39
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Dagnabbit... wanna' pre-order this but I don't know that I can justify $60. Already pre-ordered BF3 through work and that was $60. I really want RAGE and there's another $60. Then Skyrim yet another $60...

Might have to pickup another full time job just to support all these games I'm wanting to buy.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-11, 11:51 AM   #40
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Only one-ish more week away! Probably going to pre-order today along with some other cheap games (Alpha Protocol and Company of Heroes for $4). Now Steam just needs to start the preloading!!
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-11, 12:15 PM   #41
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default

Just preordered from Steam. Preloading needs to start ASAP since its a 25GB game. Servers are going to get crushed!
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-11, 12:26 PM   #42
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Hmm... I get paid again the Friday of the week this comes out. Really trying to rationalize and justify my pre-ordering this right now.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-11, 01:20 PM   #43
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
There is no need to play that game on day 1
Heck yeah there is a need!

My work day on Oct 4th is going to be a long day . . .
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-11, 10:01 PM   #44
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sean_W View Post
Carmack said nothing extra for the PC, no tessellation, no high res textures, nothing, even though the PC hardware is "10x faster".
He said PS3 is limited to 4kx4k textures and PC uses 8kx8k, so he says "Even if you're running the pc version at 720p resolution you'll get crisper graphics on there, and if you crank it all the way up to run at 1080p or higher then you can put up twice, actually closer to three times the number of unique pixels of the consoles".

He also says one of his biggest mistakes with Rage was to develop live on all the platforms. He says: "I'm making a large change in my direction, just saying we should be focusing on building things efficiently on the PC and deploying on the consoles, and we didn't make that as clear of a distinction as we should have."

But he does say: "You can spend 100 million building a game now, and if you did that focused on the PC you'd be out of business."
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 09-27-11, 11:36 PM   #45
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Well games are developed quicker than ever now days. Game houses have better tools, better software, better porting software, easier graphics API, less GPUs, lower costs to develop on the PC.

idsoftware spent loads of time getting their engine done for the consoles and getting 60fps for the Xbox360. This is all in the hope that they will sell millions. They wouldn't need to sell that much on the PC and such companies have been around doing that for the last 20 years.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-11, 08:35 AM   #46
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

I was surprised to see the recommended HW was still XP (along with Vista/7), 4 GB and a 9800 GTX. I guess since it's OpenGL, it doesn't matter.

I have it preordered on Steam. I can't wait...

EDIT: Still no preloading as of this morning.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-11, 09:06 AM   #47
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
I was surprised to see the recommended HW was still XP (along with Vista/7), 4 GB and a 9800 GTX. I guess since it's OpenGL, it doesn't matter.
(
Yes because OpenGL is not tied to the Windows OS like DirectX is. Looking forward to the game though.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-11, 10:53 AM   #48
Logical
Registered User
 
Logical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 2,523
Default Re: id Software's RAGE to use Steamworks and Steam Cloud

Woohooo guys this is awesome Id has actually selected Steam to distribute RAGE and it will use cloud sync etc woooooooooooooooow this is sooooo awesome.....

No seriously you guys are twats, for the most part all you steam fanbois are cheering of this news yet when BF3 is annouced its being distibuted by EA's own Origin then all hell breaks lose and everyone is unhappy. Did you not think Rage would use Steam ?, is this thread really thread worthy?

Makes me wonder what the reaction of this news would have been in Steam's first year, hypocrites....

Personally i wont be getting this game till maybe after new year, there's around 5-6 games i want before Rage....defo not a priority game for me.
Logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.