Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-11, 03:25 PM   #133
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

8000 peak on steam, i dont think anybody bought this game
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 03:28 PM   #134
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman0 View Post
8000 peak on steam, i dont think anybody bought this game
Ouch. I know a lot of people on Steam forums cancelled their preorder and got from D2D due to the preload ragers.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 03:33 PM   #135
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Got the game even after reading all the trash last night. I had to see for myself. Last night when I saw that posted video of the severe texture pop in, it scared the crap out of me. I was thinking no way was I getting this game (no way I could play like that). Well I got the game anyway and have played the first quest. I have had no texture pop in at all so far and no screen tearing that I noticed. I guess the old "when you want to know for sure, check it out yourself" thing comes to play. Oh and I don't have those cache files mentioned earlier at all. I did a search for both of them and I don't got em. Dunno what's up with that but I ain't touchin nothin. Gonna go play some more to see if anything pops up.

I do notice moving the mouse in the menu to select something is not real smooth. Hard to get the mouse right on something. In game mouse is fine.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 03:42 PM   #136
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Mouse acceleration is enabled in the menu, that's why.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 03:42 PM   #137
astonish
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Hmm we have some 6GB quadro cards at work. If I can manage to "borrow" one for a day I'll try out the 16K textures and put up some screens
astonish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:00 PM   #138
Peoples-Agent
Vape Therapist
 
Peoples-Agent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,308
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

The game looks LOTS better with the 8k textures, very happy with it now. No complaints.

Here's the config i'm using.

vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 8192
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 8192
vt_pageimagesizeunique 8192
vt_pageimagesizevmtr 8192
vt_usecudatranscode 2
vt_restart
vt_maxaniso 4
image_anisotropy 4

Notice the AF is only at x4, apparently that is the most the engine uses.

The Cuda transcode line is meant to enable enhanced features of the GPU Transcode option.

This works a treat on a single 570 GTX. Have no complaints at all. Eliminated the texture pop in.
__________________
For The Fallen
With proud thanksgiving, a mother for her children,
England mourns for her dead across the sea.
Flesh of her flesh they were, spirit of her spirit,
Fallen in the cause of the free.
Peoples-Agent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:01 PM   #139
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Mouse acceleration is enabled in the menu, that's why.
I was talking about like in the game when a message comes up to click accept, etc where you can move the mouse to select something. Doesn't feel like any mouse acceleration to me.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:08 PM   #140
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent View Post
The game looks LOTS better with the 8k textures, very happy with it now. No complaints.

Here's the config i'm using.

vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 8192
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 8192
vt_pageimagesizeunique 8192
vt_pageimagesizevmtr 8192
vt_usecudatranscode 2
vt_restart
vt_maxaniso 4
image_anisotropy 4

Notice the AF is only at x4, apparently that is the most the engine uses.

The Cuda transcode line is meant to enable enhanced features of the GPU Transcode option.

This works a treat on a single 570 GTX. Have no complaints at all. Eliminated the texture pop in.
Was performance still as good with all that?
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-05-11, 04:09 PM   #141
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

I'm confused you said in game mouse is fine but the above post says in game.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:10 PM   #142
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike89 View Post
Was performance still as good with all that?
Using that with 580's and vid mem usage is over 1300 now where before it was a round 600 when I started the game.
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:11 PM   #143
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
So are you having luck with those tweaks? Or are you talking about the screens on that site? If so, I agree.
Screens on the site yeah. I'm holding off on the game until I see some improvements like the site said.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:12 PM   #144
munkus
Cold nose, warm heart
 
munkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,559
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

I had my eye on this game, but given the problems people are reporting vs the $59.99 price tag, I'll wait until the patch comes out and the price comes down. I'll probably pick it up in Jan/Feb next year. Meanwhile I have Crysis 2, Witcher 2, and Dragon Age 2 to keep me busy.
munkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.