Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-05-11, 04:15 PM   #145
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,054
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=682

By BababooeyHTJ
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •

Last edited by mullet; 04-02-13 at 10:39 PM.
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:20 PM   #146
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peoples-Agent View Post
The game looks LOTS better with the 8k textures, very happy with it now. No complaints.

Here's the config i'm using.

vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 8192
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 8192
vt_pageimagesizeunique 8192
vt_pageimagesizevmtr 8192
vt_usecudatranscode 2
vt_restart
vt_maxaniso 4
image_anisotropy 4

Notice the AF is only at x4, apparently that is the most the engine uses.

The Cuda transcode line is meant to enable enhanced features of the GPU Transcode option.

This works a treat on a single 570 GTX. Have no complaints at all. Eliminated the texture pop in.
Thank you! I am loving the game play in this, but I just got into a certain city area, and all I could think is that the visuals are just criminal.

I'll report back after setting this.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:47 PM   #147
Mike89
Dude, where's my brain?
 
Mike89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: In California choking from all the liberal BS
Posts: 1,185
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
I'm confused you said in game mouse is fine but the above post says in game.
Guess I didn't explain it good enough. In the game, moving the mouse in normal up/down/side/ is fine when you are moving. It's when moving the mouse in a game menu like having to accept a mission or selecting something in inventory, etc is when it's not good.


BTW, you mentioned it used more video memory for those settings but you don't mention if the game performance itself changes.
__________________
I7 3770 @ 4.4 gig (Noctua NH-U14S Heatsink), ASRock Z77 Extreme6, 16 Gigs (2x8) Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600, EVGA GTX 680 Signature 2, Acer P236H 23" (1920x1080), X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Pro, 2 WD 640 gig SATA HDDs, WD 750 gig HDD (eSata), WD 1TB Black HDD, Sandisk 32 GB ReadyCache SSD, 2 SATA DVD Burners, Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speaker System, Corsair TX750w PSU, HSPC Top Deck Tech Station, Windows 7 Pro x64
Mike89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:52 PM   #148
WeReWoLf
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,015
Send a message via MSN to WeReWoLf
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
This I don't understand... Carmack more than likely put PoM in the engine, the devs probably didn't use it. Instead of singling Carmack out, just say iD.
WeReWoLf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:52 PM   #149
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Anyone want to post real screen shots? So much talk about how the game looks yet not one example. Wana know if I should get it or not.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:55 PM   #150
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Thank you! I am loving the game play in this, but I just got into a certain city area, and all I could think is that the visuals are just criminal.

I'll report back after setting this.
PA - how did you use this? I made a rageconfig.cfg and dropped it into the base folder. No difference at all. Did you find a config file somewhere?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 04:56 PM   #151
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

I am trying the 285.38 drivers and vsync is now broken (forced on in CP). Any ideas how to fix it? The tearing is ungodly.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 05:09 PM   #152
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread











__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-05-11, 06:08 PM   #153
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
Yeah . . . this doesn't do very much.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 06:27 PM   #154
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

I tried all that too, made the config, doesn't do jack.

I enabled the console, tried stuff there and it doesn't stick.

I went to the WHQL 280.26 drivers, I enabled GPU encode thingie. Vsync works now, seems very smooth, popping nearly gone.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 06:48 PM   #155
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
I tried all that too, made the config, doesn't do jack.

I enabled the console, tried stuff there and it doesn't stick.

I went to the WHQL 280.26 drivers, I enabled GPU encode thingie. Vsync works now, seems very smooth, popping nearly gone.
I've thought about dropping down to the latest stable drivers and trying it out. Might do that later.
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-11, 06:50 PM   #156
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by six_storm View Post
I've thought about dropping down to the latest stable drivers and trying it out. Might do that later.
I'm leaving everything as it is, lol.

I was using the 270.61's and the GPU encode thing wasn't showing in the options.

The 285.38's (BF3 set) break Vsync. Even when forced on in the Control Panel, the tearing was horrible. Even the Bethesda/id video intro teared like crazy.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.