Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-11, 02:37 PM   #421
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Co-Op is a blast with a buddy, it's like The Running Man & LFD on LSD.
On Nightmare difficulty of course
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-11, 03:17 PM   #422
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
That's also the reason why I'm running the 16k textures. Besides it nicely fills up my VRAM with about 2.6GB
I'm more and more impressed with the game's graphics. Sure, up close a lot of textures get muddy. But the sheer variety of textures more than makes up for it in my mind and coupled with fantastic art direction this is my vote for best looking game of the year. Not since the original Crysis have I been this impressed with the way a game looks.
__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-11, 04:55 PM   #423
dikinher
Grab em!
 
dikinher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fullerton, CA.
Posts: 744
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaWter View Post
That's also the reason why I'm running the 16k textures. Besides it nicely fills up my VRAM with about 2.6GB
Odd. When I have 16k textures tweaked in, my GTX 295 only has around 612 of memory for both gpus being used.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro 64 OS * i7 2600K @4.5Ghz * ASUS P8P67 PRO (B3) * 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X *
EVGA GTX 670 FTW Edition * Cooler Master HAF 932
dikinher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-11, 05:41 PM   #424
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady View Post
I'm more and more impressed with the game's graphics. Sure, up close a lot of textures get muddy. But the sheer variety of textures more than makes up for it in my mind and coupled with fantastic art direction this is my vote for best looking game of the year. Not since the original Crysis have I been this impressed with the way a game looks.
I agree with the art direction but Crysis 2 and Bulletstorm beat it in fidelity. RAGE isn't taxing on the GPU either.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-11, 05:49 PM   #425
Sean_W
Registered User
 
Sean_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,423
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dikinher View Post
Odd. When I have 16k textures tweaked in, my GTX 295 only has around 612 of memory for both gpus being used.
Probably geforce.com trying to sell more GPUs because RAGE doesn't use 3Gb of Vram with 16k textures.
Sean_W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-11, 09:53 PM   #426
Bah!
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 868
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by brady View Post
g_fov 90
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly2 16384
vt_pageimagesizeuniquediffuseonly 16384
vt_pageimagesizeunique 16384
vt_restart
vt_maxaniso 4
image_anisotropy 4
seta image_useCache "1"

1920x1080, 16xAA, vsync on, GPU transcode off.

There's a 4th command that a lot of people are setting to 8192 or 16384 (vt_pageimagesizevmtr), but apparently it won't go over 4096 so just leave it. There isn't a noticeable difference in texture quality between 16384 and 8192, but 16384 completely resolves the texture pop-in issue for me.

At 16xAA my FPS are between 20 and 30. Totally playable for me since I play on my HDTV with a 360 controller. I prefer lower FPS anyway as I think it makes games look more cinematic. Also, 16xAA completely removes all jaggies and shimmering.
Your fps should be a constant 60 fps with those settings on a 580, something isn't right.
Bah! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-11, 05:47 AM   #427
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-11, 06:51 AM   #428
BioHazZarD
USCM Marine
 
BioHazZarD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 2,369
Send a message via MSN to BioHazZarD
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

what are you doing sillyeagle
__________________
Chieftec Miditower /w 5 case fans | Corsair 620W HX PSU | Asus M4N98TD EVO SLI | AMD Athlon2 X2 260 3,2GHz | Corsair 3GB PC3-10666 | eVGA Geforce GTX 460 1GB (336shader) | Samsung Spinpoint x2 250GB HD +SATA 320GB | SB Audigy 4 @ 2.1 | Samsung Syncmaster BX2331 TFT 23" running 1920x1080@60hz | Windows XP PRO SP2 | |
BioHazZarD is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-13-11, 09:06 AM   #429
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by dikinher View Post
Odd. When I have 16k textures tweaked in, my GTX 295 only has around 612 of memory for both gpus being used.
What resolution are you using? Remember, slawter is running his game at 7680x1600. I'm at 5760x1080 and I see closer to 2GBs of VRAM being used. Also it could be that the engine is detecting higher amounts of VRAM and pre-loading more into memory even if the game doesn't need it at that time.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-11, 01:20 PM   #430
brady
I'm like everyone else.
 
brady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,376
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bah! View Post
Your fps should be a constant 60 fps with those settings on a 580, something isn't right.
You're right. I think something was getting messed up from changing lots of settings without restarting the game. When I turned my computer on the next day and loaded up those settings it ran significantly better.









































































__________________
C2Q @ 3.6GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 580 SC 1.5GB | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

C2D @ 3.0GHz | GA-P35-DS3L | 4GB DDR2 | HIS AMD 6990 4GB | OS X Lion 10.7 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-11, 01:26 PM   #431
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Great shots, Blade likes this game.
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-11, 02:19 PM   #432
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Official RAGE Feedback Thread

Before the patch from id, I tried those rageconfig.cfg files in the \base folder and really didn't notice anything different. The only thing that made a difference was the Transcoding option.

Anyway, I was in game last night and it seemed choppy all of a sudden, mainly when turning. I never experienced that before in Rage and I didn't change anything. I quit out and deleted the config file that I added just left there and checked my settings. Hmm, ok Vsync and Transcode on, Large textures, high AF.

After getting back to my save, the game looked better than it did before and was smooth as glass. Some weird stuff going on.


***** Spoilers *****

For those who completed it, I have aquired the Cuprino vehicle, did the Dead City, killed that huge bosss, got the Rocket Launcher, got samples of some ore, delivered them, got the defrib upgrade from that dude, destroyed the remote control bomb car factory and got the schematic, did the water works poison level, got the mind control rounds and rescued the guy from the Authority Prison, also aquiring the EMP grenade schematic. Now I have to go get a CHIP from my Ark location.

How close am I to the end?
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.