Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 400/500 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-23-11, 09:32 PM   #1
Kaniibal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default Little advice for battlefield 3?

I am just a typical gamer and i say that my machine is fairly good because i never had any problems with it however i have been pumped for bf3 for a while and i decided that it's time for an upgrade.

The only problem is i have o idea what card to go for and i am planning for a card to last me few good years on high(est) specs.

My cash limit is around 350 ($550) though i don't mind paying less if there is a card that meets such standards.

Now don't know if i should go for such card as an Zotac GeForce GTX 580 (AMP) or something else (perhaps cheaper).
I also am upgrading my monitor but nothing to big 24inch max because i feel that 22-24 is a perfect gaming size monitor for me.

I just want an opinion from someone with this kind of knowledge that will provide me with an answer to my problem.
Thanks to anyone that will answer my question!

These are my current specs
Processor Intel i7-2600 Processor
- Quad-core
- 3.4Ghz
- 8MB cache memory
Operating System Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
RAM 8GB (4GB + 4GB), DDR3, 1333Mhz, Maximum expandable memory 8GB (4GB + 4GB)
Graphics card AMD HD6770
Hard drive 2TB, <7200rpm
Kaniibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-11, 09:36 PM   #2
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

Welcome to the forums.

Any mid to high level graphics card requires a decent power supply. Usually the requirement pages of graphics cards have the kind of power supply that is recommended. It is a god idea to go over the wattage that is specified. So, if a 500watt power supply is recommended for a certain card, better to go 600-700, just to be sure.

Others can recommend specific cards as I am not 100% knowledgeable on the current generation.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-11, 10:10 PM   #3
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

... the PSU's amperage is more important than the watts.

/bob_saget
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 06:51 AM   #4
Kaniibal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

i am sorry but how do i know what is mine psu/watt?
do i have to look in my tower or check the power cord?
Kaniibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 07:21 AM   #5
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaniibal View Post
i am sorry but how do i know what is mine psu/watt?
do i have to look in my tower or check the power cord?
Take a good hard look at the label on the exterior of your PSU...or post a pic of it
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 07:45 AM   #6
Kaniibal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

will do
Kaniibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 09:09 AM   #7
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

My advice.... lots of VRAM

I know this is probably an isolated issue but my GTX 470 SLI setup was having some serious issues during the beta with VRAM usage. It made the game very choppy and uplayable... but then again this was at 2560x1600. Regardless of that fact though it's the most VRAM usage I've seen in a game to date
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 10:59 AM   #8
Kaniibal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

all right this is it
and i already posted my current specs snowman i have 8gb

i also wanted to add that i am planning to buy this tower just a little upgrade from my old blend one
http://http://www.nzxt.com/new/produ...series/phantom
dunno if it makes any difference but i just wanted to add.

I also wanted to thank everyone who took an interest in answering i am new to the forum and already i really like it :]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	320801_172804836141820_100002369150343_360086_1683235586_n.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	43343  
Kaniibal is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-24-11, 11:36 AM   #9
mojoman0
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 3,566
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

you want your 12V rails to add up to at least 42A for a gtx 580 according to evga. Your 12v rails can only supply 34A on that psu so you will need something in the higher wattage range like 600 or so but make sure your 12V rail(s) add up to at least 42A if you get a gtx 580
mojoman0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 12:07 PM   #10
Talon
Registered User
 
Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 75
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

VRAM not System RAM. Snowman is referring to the RAM on your video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaniibal View Post
all right this is it
and i already posted my current specs snowman i have 8gb
Talon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 12:53 PM   #11
Kaniibal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

thx
i am still kinda new to the hardware "society"
Kaniibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-11, 12:55 PM   #12
Kaniibal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Little advice for battlefield 3?

you mean something like this?
http://www.dabs.com/products/ocz-tec...l?q=OCZ%20600W

and once i buy and attache that will i be all set?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mojoman0 View Post
you want your 12V rails to add up to at least 42A for a gtx 580 according to evga. Your 12v rails can only supply 34A on that psu so you will need something in the higher wattage range like 600 or so but make sure your 12V rail(s) add up to at least 42A if you get a gtx 580
Kaniibal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.