Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-20-03, 11:02 PM   #1
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default PS2 hard drive???

I was fiddling around with my ps2 the other day and took the network adaptor off the back. It looks like there's a hard drive connector on there.

What happens when you hook up a drive to this??? Can you use it for saving your games instead of a memory card? and can you load other data onto it like video and audio and play it back somehow like on the xbox???

Any info on this would be much appreciated.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 12:21 AM   #2
St Lobus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: MI
Posts: 110
Send a message via ICQ to St Lobus
Default

I know there is a hard drive add on for the PS2 available now in Japan that will be released in the states with FFXI. I'm sure they'll also sell it separately. I'm not sure as to being able to save games to it or not, but I do know it will cache game information for games programmed to use it, causing games to load faster and what not. I don't know if it's typical IDE or a proprietary connection.
__________________
"Never accept small pieces of plastic instead of actual money." ~ Tycho...from PA of course
St Lobus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 12:25 AM   #3
marqmajere
GeVooForceDoo
 
marqmajere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,064
Default

You can put a Maxtor HD in there that's for sure.
__________________
Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature file to help me spread!

Desktop - Asus M3A78-CM | AMD Phenom II 965 | 4 gigs G. Skill 1066 | ATI 5850 1 gig | WD 1TB Black
| Windows7 64-bit


Laptop - m11x
marqmajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 08:18 AM   #4
The Baron
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Friend of mine (the genius guy who works for Novell in addition to game development, Pentagon, and LAPD stuff on the side) has the PS2 Linux kit. It has a hard drive that uses that connector. No idea if it's a normal HD or not. I'll ask him.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 06:59 PM   #5
NickSpolec
 
NickSpolec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Burning Inferno, Arizona
Posts: 371
Default

You can hook just about any harddrive on there (much like the X-Box), but you have to do some tricks to get it to work.

http://ps2.consolevision.com/ps2hdd.shtml

You, of course, need to have a modded PS2 that can boot dev software.
__________________
Snake's System:

[size=1][list][*]AthlonXP Mobile 2500+ (@2.5ghz, 1.850v)[*]Albatron KX18D PRO (NForce 2 Ultra @227FSB)[*]512MB's OCZ Platinum PC3200 EL (@DDR454, CAS 2.5, 6,3,3)[*]GeForce3 (@230c, 460m)[*]Fortissimo III, Gamesurround 7.1[*]POS Intel 56k Modem (soon to get high speed, though)[*]Maxtor DiamondPlus 9 120GB, ATA133 (8mb)[*]Samsung DVD/CD-RW Combo (52x32x52x16x)[*]Lite-On LTR 16102B (16x8x40x)

[/size][/list]
NickSpolec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 07:09 PM   #6
Starscream
Decepticook
 
Starscream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cybertron
Posts: 1,005
Default

Interesting stuff!

If you have any more links that talk about doing stuff with a ps2 hard drive please post them.
__________________
Maybe tomorrow I'll wanna settle down, until tomorrow I'll just keep moving on...
Starscream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-03, 07:23 PM   #7
NickSpolec
 
NickSpolec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Burning Inferno, Arizona
Posts: 371
Default

Ok...

Anyone that wants to be able to boot dev software (HDDinstall, emulators, ect), you don't need a mod chip.

Using this inventive replacement shell for your PS2 (http://www.ps2cover.com/), you can boot dev software with the use of a boot disc (sold seperately). You need to swap the boot disc with the CD-r DVD-r software you want to play, but I'm not sure if the boot disc stops spinning automatically or continues to spin.. If it continues to spin, excessive use of it will eventually harm your PS2 (due to the fact that you are forcing the motor to stop).

But, I think I heard it stops spinning after a minute or so.

I don't own one of these, buy I am probably going to buy one.
__________________
Snake's System:

[size=1][list][*]AthlonXP Mobile 2500+ (@2.5ghz, 1.850v)[*]Albatron KX18D PRO (NForce 2 Ultra @227FSB)[*]512MB's OCZ Platinum PC3200 EL (@DDR454, CAS 2.5, 6,3,3)[*]GeForce3 (@230c, 460m)[*]Fortissimo III, Gamesurround 7.1[*]POS Intel 56k Modem (soon to get high speed, though)[*]Maxtor DiamondPlus 9 120GB, ATA133 (8mb)[*]Samsung DVD/CD-RW Combo (52x32x52x16x)[*]Lite-On LTR 16102B (16x8x40x)

[/size][/list]
NickSpolec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My hard drive is loud... demonized General Hardware 7 10-11-02 09:41 AM
Hard Drive Cooling Iron1384 General Hardware 3 09-25-02 01:42 AM
could someone help me out with this new hard drive garry General Hardware 4 08-22-02 07:15 AM
hard drive light on case "dead"? Goofas General Hardware 7 08-13-02 09:14 PM
Good hard drive deal for those interested saturnotaku General Hardware 2 08-06-02 09:06 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.