Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-11, 09:14 AM   #1
dhammans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default nvidia TwinView configuration problem

My system consists of;

2 x GTX480
3 x Dell U2410 1920x1200 monitors

I am currently configured with Screen0 twinview enabled (monitor 0 & 2), and Screen1 (monitor 1) as a separate X display. The issue I am having is that for some reason the nvidia driver's internal xinerama emulation/extensions are not functioning properly.

GDM displays the welcome screen split/stretched between the two monitors, which is the first clue that something isn't right. Once I am logged in dialog boxes appear in the center split between the two monitors. Maximizing a window results in it spanning the entire Screen0 space (3840x1200) across both monitors in the Twinview configuration.

Now for the really frustrating part - If I disable Screen1 (the third monitor) everything works properly between the two displays, maximize works, and GDM displays the greeter on a single monitor. I have tried a couple commands in the xorg.conf to rectify the situation, using the option:

Code:
Option	   "TwinViewXineramaInfoOverride" "1920x1200+1920+0, 1920x1200+0+0"
To try and force the Xinerama emulation to recognize both screens, as well as specifying my display sizes manually in the metamodes option. In addition I tried the following for Screen1 in case the TwinViewXineramaInfo was overwriting Screen0's in some fashion.

Code:
Option         "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "1"
I'm really stumped as to what is causing this. As soon as I disable the third monitor (Screen1 in xorg.conf) it works as it should. That sort of leads me to believe that this is a bug, although some people will probably argue that it is a feature. Please help! Here is the xorg.conf I am currently using:

Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 285.05.09  (buildmeister@swio-display-x86-rhel47-02.nvidia.com)  Fri Sep 23 17:55:42 PDT 2011


Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 1920 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" LeftOf "Screen0"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from data in "/etc/conf.d/gpm"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL U2410"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

    # HorizSync source: edid, VertRefresh source: edid
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "DELL U2410"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 480"
    BusID          "PCI:4:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce GTX 480"
    BusID          "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200_60 +0+0, DFP-2: 1920x1200_60 +1920+0"
   Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "DFP-2" ## Sets my middle monitor as default
    Option	   "TwinViewXineramaInfoOverride" "1920x1200+1920+0, 1920x1200+0+0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP-0: 1920x1200_60 +1920+0, DFP-2: 1920x1200_60 +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
	Identifier     "Screen1"
	Device         "Device1"
	Monitor        "Monitor1"
	DefaultDepth    24
	Option         "TwinView" "0"
	Option         "metamodes" "1920x1200_60 +0+0"
	Option         "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" "1" ## This had no effect
	SubSection     "Display"
		Depth       24
	EndSubSection
EndSection


Section "Extensions"
    Option         "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection
dhammans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-11, 02:27 PM   #2
JasonWard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: nvidia TwinView configuration problem

Disabling Twinview when you have all 3 monitors produces the effect I think you want. i.e. tell it you want 3 separate X screens.

That way you can drag and drop windows across all three monitors, but maximise will only go to one monitor and dialogue boxes will be centred to a monitor.

I agree that after setting up Twinview with 2 monitors, the 3 monitor setup seems counter intuitive, but it works, and I am no position to judge if this is a bug, a feature or something else still.
JasonWard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-11, 08:51 PM   #3
dhammans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: nvidia TwinView configuration problem

The state of X and multiple monitors is completely ridiculous. In all honesty Windows, as well as MacOSX are lightyears ahead of X in this regard. I'm surprised the development community doesn't find it embarassing and fix it, but things have been in this state for the last several years. I don't see it changing anytime soon.

If I were to disable twinview, I would then have three separate X screens and wouldn't be able to drag applications between them. It would also be a pain to specify which display received which application as they were opened, and I don't really want to have a menu bar on all three monitors. That is not what I want to do. My setup works as intended (maximize to a single monitor) just fine when only two displays are active. As soon as I enable the third display I lose this functionality.

My ideal setup would be no twinview, xinerama enabled, and have 3 screens I could drag applications between. However, given that I want to use the Compiz window manager (I like my cutesy animations tyvm) I am unable to use Xinerama.

So, I have a setup that is essentially 2+1, and that works out semi-ok because Wine runs games faster in a single screen so it isn't entirely a bad thing. I use one monitor for games, miscellaneous, and do the rest on the dual Twinview'd displays.
dhammans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-11, 04:45 AM   #4
JasonWard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 17
Default Re: nvidia TwinView configuration problem

I would check up on the no Compiz/Xinerama, Googling appears to show that the problems with Compiz and Xinerama may have passed.
JasonWard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-11, 01:00 AM   #5
dhammans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Default Re: nvidia TwinView configuration problem

I tried, no dice. It starts up (sort of) but is broken horribly and doesn't really work.
dhammans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.