Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-27-11, 09:21 PM   #13
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

I'm liking this driver. For me it gave better image quality (no little white pixels around the edge of people in Skyrim) and a big gain in fps.
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-11, 10:04 PM   #14
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by i SPY View Post
And? He looks more like a newbie then anything else.



The driver is fine, it doesnt **** up your OS, if it does then you're doing it wrong xD lolz
Actually, this driver did **** up my OS. I didn't have to do a re-install but 2 days after installing this driver I did have to start up in safe mode and remove the driver to get Windows to run properly again. Once removed everything works fine again.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-11, 01:41 AM   #15
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
Actually, this driver did **** up my OS. I didn't have to do a re-install but 2 days after installing this driver I did have to start up in safe mode and remove the driver to get Windows to run properly again. Once removed everything works fine again.
Didn't rollback work?
It's basically first thing you should try when something goes wrong.
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-11, 05:41 PM   #16
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlippo View Post
Didn't rollback work?
It's basically first thing you should try when something goes wrong.
The issue didn't show up for 2 days and I didn't want to chance losing installs and game progress. Starting in safe mode and uninstalling a driver isn't exactly rocket science and it's faster.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 12:36 AM   #17
jcrox
Mahna Mahna
 
jcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madison, Wi
Posts: 6,134
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

Just tried a fresh install of this driver. The negative effect didn't take 2 days this time, it was immediate.

Uninstalled driver via safe mode, installed 285.62 everything works perfect.

Uninstalled 285.62 and installed this driver instant windows hard lock again. This time uninstall in safe mode didn't work and I had to do a rollback.

Just for sh!ts and giggles I thought I'd try using this 2nd 60GB Vertex 3 with a complete fresh Win7 x64 professional install and then try installing applications one at a time and see if I could find a compatibility culprit. Turns out that all 3 times that I installed JDK with this driver also installed the OS instantly hard locked.

This driver apparently has a SERIOUS compatibility issue with at the very least some versions of Java. Without the JDK installed the driver appeared to work perfect... that's not to say that I wouldn't end up with serious issues after 2 days again but I'm not willing to wait that long to find out.

Back to 285.62 for me.
__________________

Gaming

MSI MPower Z87 | 4770k | CNPS9900MAX-B | 8GB G.Skill 1866 | EVGA GTX760 |ThermalTake 850w | X-Fi Titanium | HAF | Asus PA248Q | Lycosa | Death Adder | Win8 Pro 64

Dev/Backup

MSI GD65 | 2500k | H50 | 8GB G.skill | GTX570 | Ubuntu 13.10

Laptop

17" Inspiron | i5 | 4GB DDR3 | 500GB HDD | Win7 Pro 64

jcrox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 12:46 AM   #18
jlippo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 532
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

Damn, that sucks.
Apparently the driver doesn't have the FXAA for directX.
No matter though, mostly use it for dosbox which can be forced for opengl as well. (wing commander 3 with fxaa is quite nice. )
jlippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-12, 05:35 AM   #19
Delbert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Station X
Posts: 517
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

had a few 'Display Driver stopped working' with these whilst playing Skyrim.
happens when my DSL line resets.... go figure.
__________________
Q6600@3.6G (1.35v), 480 SoC (870/2000), 4Gig Mem, Abit IP35 Pro, Corsair HX620, 1x250Gig (OS), 2x250Gig (Games), P182. Win7... 290.53... http://www.bletchleypark.org.uk/
Delbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-12, 08:28 AM   #20
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

When are we going to get some new drivers that aren't complete ****?
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-03-12, 02:19 PM   #21
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

For what it's worth, I was just reinstalling Windows 7 x64 from scratch and figured I'd use these. As soon as I rebooted from the (custom driver and Physx only, clean install box checked) install, I had white dotted lines all over the screen and the resolution came up a 640x480 or something. the desktop had those artifacts all over it like a defective video card.

I restored my backup of my Windows partition, and installed 290.36 betas, no more problem. Won't ever touch these again.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-12, 02:46 PM   #22
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

I'm quite amazed at all the problems people are having with this driver. I installed it when it first came up on the site and haven't had a single issue.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-12, 04:00 PM   #23
EricBergan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delbert View Post
had a few 'Display Driver stopped working' with these whilst playing Skyrim.
happens when my DSL line resets.... go figure.
I've had "Display driver stopped" problems with several of the past drivers, but I haven't had it with these. Instead, the screen freezes. System is still running (I can remote login and everything is fine), seems just the display stops working. Actually, I prefer the driver stopped working message, at least I didn't have to reboot to clear those...

eric
EricBergan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-12, 07:15 PM   #24
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Nvidia GeForce 290.53 beta drivers

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcrox View Post
Just tried a fresh install of this driver. The negative effect didn't take 2 days this time, it was immediate.

Uninstalled driver via safe mode, installed 285.62 everything works perfect.

Uninstalled 285.62 and installed this driver instant windows hard lock again. This time uninstall in safe mode didn't work and I had to do a rollback.

Just for sh!ts and giggles I thought I'd try using this 2nd 60GB Vertex 3 with a complete fresh Win7 x64 professional install and then try installing applications one at a time and see if I could find a compatibility culprit. Turns out that all 3 times that I installed JDK with this driver also installed the OS instantly hard locked.

This driver apparently has a SERIOUS compatibility issue with at the very least some versions of Java. Without the JDK installed the driver appeared to work perfect... that's not to say that I wouldn't end up with serious issues after 2 days again but I'm not willing to wait that long to find out.

Back to 285.62 for me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serrasalmus View Post




Ok im sorry i take that back, it looks like this 290.53 driver puts higher pressure on system components, mostly pcix, north bridge and ram.

I don't use Java, so i cant confirm that but i believe you.


I had to raise memory voltage for +0.05v (was 2.15v) and north bridge for +0.025v (was +0.275v), also tRFC from 86 to 90 compared to 290.37 or i would bsod in memory intense games after ~30-40min lol-_- Im already at max 8gb ram capacity so its even more sensitive.

I saw a few users with similar problems, most of them were using intel lga775 and all had some kind of memory issue causing bsod (0x124) or freezing. One had to remove 2 extra sticks (p35 chipset), one raised std latency to 5-6-6-15 (nforce 780i), one raise ram voltage from 1.52 to 1.58v(lga 1366, x58).. All of them said they were fine with older 285.62 or 285.79.

----

Its ok here since i raised those 3 values, but imo kinda risky from nvidia to search for extra perf. in your system hardware instead of optimizing cuda cores more.. Heh or is this that extra optimization? i can't really tell..
Well I tested cpu/ram intense benchmarks like RE5 (fixed scene, no aa), LP2 DX11(fixed scene, no aa) and i didnt see any difference, lowest max and avg fps stayed the same..
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.