Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-11, 06:21 AM   #1
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Oops!

cant hit 4.0GHZ i was messing with overclocking earlier...and couldn't get stable at 4.0ghz had it at i think 20x multi and like 1.55 something volts(thingy said max cpu voltage 1.55) i could go higher with volts but didn't because of the bios saying that....
makes me mad
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 10:48 AM   #2
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate View Post
cant hit 4.0GHZ i was messing with overclocking earlier...and couldn't get styable at 4.0ghz had iut at i think 20x multi and like 1.55 something volts(thingy said max cpu voltage 1.55) i could go higher with volts but didn't because of the bios saying that....
makes me mad
So? Your cpu runs at the speed you paid for.
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 11:12 AM   #3
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: God Damnit!!

im trying to overclock it...but idk that much about overclocking...
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 11:32 AM   #4
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: God Damnit!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog View Post
So? Your cpu runs at the speed you paid for.
Trivium Nate is a very unique individual. See- where you or I would post a thread describing what we are trying to do, the hardware we are trying to do it on, and what we've already done to attempt to reach said goal in a rational, thought out, and easy to follow manner... Trivium nate nerd rages instead, with fragments of information scattered about his posts.

He does not like to invest the time here to formulate a well laid-out post presenting his issue. Instead he angrilly button-mashes a post together then calls us names for not rushing to his aid in this time of dire need he is going through.

I opt to keep as much distance from him as I can. See- I view him as a ticking time bomb. I fear that if I try and help him to the best of my abilities but fail, in his nerd rage he'll summon his uber-hulk-strength and smash me into a million itsy-bitsy pieces!

Anyhow, be careful- he's a dangerous one.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 11:54 AM   #5
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: God Damnit!!

I said what I am trying to do, I am trying to overclock my cpu to 4.0ghz i have put my multi to 20 and the voltage up to 1.55volts, I then tested the oc with intel burn test and the pc bsod's meaning its not stable, but when i go into the bios to change value's for overclocking their is an area that says, maximum cpu voltage is 1.55 volts...but when i select voltages i can go higher than 1.55 but dont want to because of the thing that says max voltage cpu can handle is 1.55v's...

as for the hardware i am trying to do this please look at my signature that big mess is everything..
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 12:00 PM   #6
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: God Damnit!!

Did you try bench-pressing your computer? I mean... it's worth a shot...

Srsly... it has been a very long time since I have over clocked a CPU. I'm not certain I'll be of much assistance. Over clocking information here is kinda' scarce, but there are a ton of other forums with great information. Have you researched at all over clocking your CPU, over clocking on your motherboard? It might have something to do with the frequency of your RAM maybe? Ton of variables. The best I can suggest is consulting with Dr. Google. However, there are likely some members here far more knowledgeable on this matter than I. Maybe they can give you some better pointers.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 12:11 PM   #7
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: God Damnit!!

okay awesome
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 01:06 PM   #8
Greedo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mos eisley cantina
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: God Damnit!!

find a guide on an amd or oc forum and follow it. there is much more to over clocking than raising cpu voltage.
Greedo is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-29-11, 01:13 PM   #9
Redeemed
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 17,982
Default Re: God Damnit!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greedo View Post
find a guide on an amd or oc forum and follow it. there is much more to over clocking than raising cpu voltage.
This is about all I know. I know that it involves voltages, sometimes the multiplier, the FSB doesn't really exist anymore per se but memory frequencies are involved, and by upping any or all of this you risk other components that may be tied to them being effected which means you'd have to compensate... it's a bit more involved now days than it was 5 years ago. Or at least it seems to be. I'm sure once you read up on it, it will all make sense. But I haven't even attempted to OC my 920. Mostly cause I don't feel I need to be also because it seems way complicated. By the time this stock 920 is holding me back I'll be onto a new CPU and mobo I imagine.

Trivium Nate, I used to be a very avid and frequent member over at AMDZone.com. You might want to head over there. Just understand that forum is much smaller than this one so any responses wont come as quickly as they do here. I've posted a thread and not gotten a response till the next day, sometimes longer. But the people there are very smart and know a whole lot about AMD's CPUs and mobos. It'd be a great place to go for assistance if you can be patient.

The overclocker's.com comes to mind as well as a some of the other "big-name" forums. While you're waiting for people to reply to your thread(s) you could also hit up Google and see what you can find. You're not the only person with that mobo and cpu trying to OC. I'm sure there's a lot of info out there if you'll just take the time to look for it.
Redeemed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 01:27 PM   #10
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: God Damnit!!

ok
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 02:49 PM   #11
Greedo
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: mos eisley cantina
Posts: 1,259
Default Re: God Damnit!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed View Post
I'm sure once you read up on it, it will all make sense. But I haven't even attempted to OC my 920. Mostly cause I don't feel I need to be also because it seems way complicated. By the time this stock 920 is holding me back I'll be onto a new CPU and mobo I imagine.
you know, you can OC the 920 oftentimes with few or minimal voltage increases up to 3.6ghz or so. certainly up to 3.2-3.3 without increases. just use a guide, like this one.

http://www.techreaction.net/2010/09/...-and-gulftown/
Greedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-11, 03:23 PM   #12
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: God Damnit!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by trivium nate View Post
im trying to overclock it...but idk that much about overclocking...
Try offering it your credit card details.... you know
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.