Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-25-03, 01:01 AM   #1
cricket
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 353
Default windowsme shutdown problem

a relative of mine has windowsme OS and when she goes to start/shutdown , the computer never shutdown like it is supppose to, therefor she must hold power button for 8-10 seconds to power off pc.

my question is: isnt there a patch of some kind that corrected this problem people where having? and if there is a patch where can she download it? or is there another way to fix this?
i know windowsme is junk but she dont wanna upgrade because the pc she is on is only a hp 733mhz/192mb ram...not very much running in background but something is causing this program. also double checked start up folder and found nothing there.
any help with be appreciatted to save some headache's..thanks
__________________
MY RIG Built By Self:
P4-3.0GHZ/800FSB (Northwood) + ZALMAN CNP7000(ALL COPPER) HSF
INTEL 865PERLL Board
1GB (2 X 512MB) Kingston HyperX (KHX3200AKB/1GR (2-3-2-6)
XFX NVIDIA 7600GT AGP (256MB) (@ 580Mhz Core-1.5Ghz Memory Speeds)
80 GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 (8Mb Cache)
WINXP HOME ED -w/Vista Transformation Pack 6
ANTEC SLK 3700 BQE CASE
Nec ND-1100A DVD/RW Drive
CD Drive
7 in 1 Multimedia Card reader For My SD Digital Camera Pictures
cricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-03, 03:28 AM   #2
Tesco
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 35
Default

I had the exact same problem with ME years ago..sorry but not sure how I fixed it. If all else fails re-install

This may be of some help to you........

http://www.computing.net/windowsme/w...rum/39642.html
Tesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-03, 09:09 AM   #3
stncttr908
Registered User
 
stncttr908's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 4,496
Send a message via AIM to stncttr908
Default

Help a relative out and give them a good OS.
__________________
PC - | Core i7-2600K @ stock | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 | 4GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3 | Galaxy GTX 460 1GB @ stock | Corsair Force 120GB SSD | Seagate 1TB 7200RPM | 320GB Seagate 7200.10 | 2x Seagate 500GB USB 2.0 | Lite-On 20x SATA DVD+RW | Silverstone TJ-09 | Corsair 620W PSU | Logitech Z-5500s | Sennheiser HD-570 headphones | Samsung 2494LW |

Laptop - | Dell Inspiron 1420 | C2D T7300 (2.0GHz, 4MB cache) | 2GB DDR2-667 | 160GB 7200RPM HDD | DVD +/- RW | 14.1" WXGA+ (1440x900) | Broadcom 802.11g | NVIDIA 8400M GS 128MB |
stncttr908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-03, 11:21 AM   #4
Serath
Dark Mirth
 
Serath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: KY, USA
Posts: 234
Send a message via ICQ to Serath Send a message via AIM to Serath Send a message via Yahoo to Serath
Default

I think it may have been something to do with the drivers installed? Or maybe the mode the hard drive is running under, not sure. I've honestly never been able to get windows ME to shutdown properly on ANY PC but my own :/
Serath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-03, 06:27 AM   #5
Smokey
Team Rainbow
 
Smokey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 2,273
Default

It may be a driver problem, I have had that same problem a couple of times using Win98 also, I think I fixed the problem, like most, was a swift format

I know XP has a slow shut down using some of Logitechs iTouch software, do know if this carries over to the other MS OS?
__________________
HTPC/Gaming
| Hiper Type R 580W PSU
| Intel Q9550 @ 4GHz | Gigabyte EP45 UD3R |4x 1024MB OCZ Reaper PC9200 DDR2 | Seagate 320GB/ Maxtor 320GB/ Maxtor 500GB HDD|Sapphire HD5850 | Creative SB X-Fi Titanium Pro | Harmon Kardon AVR135 reciever | Jamo S718 speakers | 42" Plasma 720p (lounge room)-Samsung P2450H (bedroom)
Smokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 10:17 AM
nv30 problem rumor bob747b Rumor Mill 37 10-10-02 04:14 PM
Geforce 4 Go and X-Server Problem with shutdown rapljenovic NVIDIA Linux 2 08-30-02 11:11 AM
Damn it! can this be fixed? HD problem? Tactics General Hardware 7 08-19-02 09:58 AM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 11:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.