Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > Other Desktop Graphics Cards

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-12, 04:02 PM   #1
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Post your ASIC Quality.

Quote:
The next new feature is ASIC quality, designed for NVIDIA Fermi (GF10x and GF11x GPUs) and AMD Southern Islands (HD 7800 series and above), aimed at advanced users, hardware manufacturers, and the likes. We've found the ways in which AMD and NVIDIA segregate their freshly-made GPU ASICs based on the electrical leakages the chips produce (to increase yield by allotting them in different SKUs and performance bins), and we've found ways in which ASIC quality can be quantified and displayed. Find this feature in the context menu of GPU-Z. We're working on implementing this feature on older AMD Radeon GPUs.
Download GPU-Z from here: http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...-Z_v0.5.8.html

Open it up, select your GPU at the bottom, then click the little green GPU icon in the very top left and click on "Read ASIC Quality".

Post results here.

7970 #1: 79.9%
7970 #2: 83.6%
7970 #3: 74.5%
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-12, 04:43 PM   #2
Rummy
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Under your bed
Posts: 1,685
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

GTX 580 65.1
Rummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-12, 05:01 PM   #3
shadow001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,526
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

here's mine...Counting from the CPU downwards(GTX580's):

1: 46%
2: 53.4%
3: 68.9%


Kinda sucks that the first and second ones are so low, but they are using more voltage even at stock speeds too(1.063 and 1.050 volts respectively)....The one on the very bottom at 68.9% one only needs 1.025 volts at stock...Gigabyte sucks.:P
shadow001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-12, 05:46 PM   #4
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

Here is mine




and yes its a good OC'er with low voltage
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]


Last edited by i SPY; 01-22-12 at 08:43 PM.
i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-12, 11:09 AM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

GTX 560 Ti reads 90.6%
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-12, 09:42 PM   #6
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

These are actually backwards, according to an AMD rep, high leakage parts actually clock higher. I'll see if I can dig up the explaination.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-12, 07:51 AM   #7
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Prime View Post
These are actually backwards, according to an AMD rep, high leakage parts actually clock higher. I'll see if I can dig up the explaination.
Maybe they can, but use more voltage too.. Although i didnt see one yet, at least when i checked 570gtx OC results.
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-12, 12:43 PM   #8
EciDemon
Registered User
 
EciDemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,423
Send a message via ICQ to EciDemon
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

Asus gtx 560 ti top cu2. 80.3%
EciDemon is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-25-12, 12:51 PM   #9
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Prime View Post
These are actually backwards, according to an AMD rep, high leakage parts actually clock higher. I'll see if I can dig up the explaination.
Here's the link:

http://www.geeks3d.com/20120122/test...-geforce-gpus/

Quote:
Originally Posted by AMD’s Dave Baumann
Actually, it does the opposite! We scale the voltage based on leakage, so the higher leakage parts use lower voltage and the lower leakage parts use a higher voltage – what this is does narrow the entire TDP range of the product.

Everything is qualified at worst case anyway; all the TDP calcs and the fan settings are completed on the wors case for the product range.
Also, values above 100% are a bug atm, so I wouldn't trust the current GPU-Z results. I'm sure the next release or two will fix it.

Roadhog, what are the voltages for each of the cards you listed?
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-12, 03:05 PM   #10
Roadhog
Resident Alien
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6,776
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Roadhog, what are the voltages for each of the cards you listed?
1.112, 1.05, 1.112
Roadhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-12, 05:17 PM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

Hmm, so the higher leakage parts use higher voltage. That is assuming we are reading the ASIC values correctly, and that a lower number means more leakage...
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-12, 07:56 PM   #12
i SPY
007
 
i SPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: You were sayin'
Posts: 290
Default Re: Post your ASIC Quality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Hmm, so the higher leakage parts use higher voltage. That is assuming we are reading the ASIC values correctly, and that a lower number means more leakage...
Yeah, well at least it looks so by my gpu with 100.3%. Default voltage is 0.962v @ 770mhz and for 900mhz it needs "only" 1.049v..

Now if i compare it to another 570 TFIII with 0.987v @770mhz it needs 1.068v @900mhz; another 1.025v@ 770mhz needs 1.10v @900mhz. For example I can oc to 962mhz @ 1.10v.
__________________
intel Q9450 @ 3.656Ghz [1.3875v, LLC off]| GA-X48-DS5 [Memory Enhance: Turbo]|MSi N570GTX TwinFrozrIII OC/PowerEdition|Kingston HyperX 4x2GB PC 8500 @ 1097Mhz [5-5-5-18, 2.25v]| Creative X-FI Pro [SB046A]| Tagan PipeRock 600w [48A]

i SPY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.